Jeddie's frustrating numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
He has been at .6u for six days and seems to have alternating good/bad PSs - other than the first cycle after raising him, which was pretty good. This return to mid-range flat numbers after a very brief good cycle looks like rebound, but he didn't do any better at a lower dose.

So, again, reduce to somewhere between .15u and .5u or raise to .75u?
 
Sheila, just looked at Jeddie's numbers, just don't understand what is going on there.
Just when we think everything will settle, our kitties have other ideas.
I just posted to Marci that Alley was also 39 at +4 today, what is up with that? Again, no rhyme or reason. Every other day I get a green. Only gave him regular food though, but he is up in the 200's before food at +11. Somedays I just say "whatever"! As long as he feels good and is out of the reds and pinks for now. Tomorrow it is 1 month since we started Lev.
I am confident you will get Jeddie straightened out, I wish I could help, but I am by far the student and you are the professor.
I am sending you positive thoughts,
All the best,
Pam & Alley
 
He's fairly steady, something which is easy to forget when you see alternating blue and yellow numbers.
But he's still too high.
Where are your nadirs??? There are some black holes on some days that I would like to know exactly how low he went. If he's not getting below 150 on nadirs, he should be increased.
I think .75U is worth a try, even without that info though.
 
The problem is that when he is in the mid 200s at PS he stays flat in the 200s, until after several days there is a PS in the low 100s and then he also doesn't drop much, but he stays flat in the 100s. Then next cycle he is back at a 200+ PS. He climbs through about +3, if he "nadirs" its anywhere from +4 to +8, so, if I get one spot check and he hasn't dropped I know he won't drop and the whole cycle stayed flat.

But, OK, I'll try to curve him tomorrow for all the good it will do.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
The problem is that when he is in the mid 200s at PS he stays flat in the 200s, until after several days there is a PS in the low 100s and then he also doesn't drop much, but he stays flat in the 100s. Then next cycle he is back at a 200+ PS. He climbs through about +3, if he "nadirs" its anywhere from +4 to +8, so, if I get one spot check and he hasn't dropped I know he won't drop and the whole cycle stayed flat.

But, OK, I'll try to curve him tomorrow for all the good it will do.

I guess the question is, are you happy with those numbers? If not, raise the dose a small amount, no more than .15U which is 25% increase from .6U to .75U. If you're OK with him riding in the 200s, then stay with the .6U. Just be aware the chances of him going OTJ again are lessened if he remains flat at higher numbers.
 
No, obviously I am not happy with him being in the 200s.

Came back to add that he IS getting nadirs below 150 on every cycle that his PS's are below 150....

My frustration is that I don't know what is causing some cycles to be "good" cycles in the low/mid 100s with nadirs about 100 (+/- 10), but most cycles seem to be low/mid 200s with no numbers below 200. My aim is not remission, although that would be great for both of us, it is decent regulation (most, or all, of 24 hrs below renal threshold).
 
...and he had a 109 at +10 overnight....did not want me testing him, so he hid behind the sofa.

Every time he tries to avoid testing he is low-ish, so I am assuming he doesn't want any more insulin at that point (he associates testing with shot with feeling bad) and was much lower beforehand. Sigh (but smart cat!).

ETA: doing a curve today:

109 +10
134 amPS .6u
157 +2
188 +4
117 +7
98 +9
125 pmPS .6u
 
Sheila, looks like Jeddie knows you've been talking about him and is now starting to behave-nice numbers today-what a relief,huh?
Paws crossed for more good days .
 
Yeah, he just wants me to look like an idiot.

I do think I will have to get up to test during the night. He really struggled at PS time tonight. I had to hold him down forcefully - something that hasn't happened since the first month of testing.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Yeah, he just wants me to look like an idiot.

I do think I will have to get up to test during the night. He really struggled at PS time tonight. I had to hold him down forcefully - something that hasn't happened since the first month of testing.

Do you think he's going low and relates that to the testing/shot?

It could also be that he's feeling better and just wants to be a snot about it. Gandalf is more animated at testing time when he's doing good, meaning he moves around more. He never tries to get away though. I know I'm lucky in that regard, but I also think my method has something to do with it because if he really doesn't want to do something, he will let me know.

And if you are testing more, maybe he's just perturbed. I highly recommend doing testing in a confined space, such as bathroom. If you have a short board you could lay across your sink, you can use that as a work table. Out in the dining area maybe there's just too much space and he simply doesn't want to be confined.
 
He may have "had enough" by that test last night. It was the 7th test in one day....

Well, today (Thurs) it looks like we are back to a cycle in the 200s. I got a +8 test from last night and he was 180 and PS was 210.

When I got up to do the +8 (on less than 6 hrs sleep) I noticed "skid marks" on my carpet and assumed it was my oldest. I started spraying them with carpet cleaner and I found Jeddie in the dinning room sitting at the end of a long arc of a smear. He had poo all squished on his butt and seemed out of it. I thought maybe he had gone really low and lost bowel control so I tested him right away before cleaning him up, but he was 180. He let me carry him to the bathroom, hold him upside down cradled in one arm while I wiped his butt and pulled poo out of his fur. Can I just say YUCK!? I got 95% of it before he decided he had enough of that, but he was really good about it. I could never have held one of the other cats like that to clean off their butt.

Looks like his nadir is in the +8 to +10 range, at least on the lower number cycle, so I will try for some spot checks today, but not a curve. He needs a break from all that testing. Where I test him on the table, he is blocked by my body to his right, my sewing machine behind him and the box with testing supplies to his left, so he is sort of boxed in. And he never really minds it for regular amounts of testing.
 
Gandalf gets "klingons" once in a while because of his hair. He's never wiped his butt on the floor, but Leahpold does that, so I know all too well the telltale butt smear. Ugh, my sympathies.

Change in diet or anything to make his poo sticky? When it happens to Gandalf it's like the poo is sticky.

Good Jeddie for letting you help him. I'll trade you Jeddie's butt cleaning for Gandalf's paw cleaning when he gets it in the wet litter. Deal?
 
I don't think they normally "butt wipe" for those poops that get stuck in their "pantaloons", just when they has stuff that doesn't come out all the way. Ariel gets poops stuck in her pantaloons once in a while, she has much more fur back there than Jeddie does. This hardly ever happens with him. He got a lot of treats yesterday from all the testing, including a few pieces of bacon and a pea-sized piece of meatloaf. Maybe it was all just too much for him.

As much as I did NOT enjoy this morning's butt cleaning, it was the first (and hopefully last) time I have had to do it. It sounds like Gandalf's "cement loafers" are a common occurrence, so no, no trading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top