Jeddie's curve (Aug 12th)

Status
Not open for further replies.
amPS - 82 (I chickened out and shot .4u instead of .55u)
+4.5 - 64
+6 - 54
+7 - 67
pmPS - 238 shot .5u

I was very surprised by that amPS - and the nadir of 54. Now if I can only hold him here. He tends to be inconsistent and I haven't found a dose that seems to work. I was going to raise him, in fact to .75 because his PSs were in the mid 200s and spot checks were not out of the 100s - like high 100s.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
amPS - 82 (I chickened out and shot .4u instead of .55u)
+4.5 - 64
+6 - 54
+7 - 67
pmPS - 238 shot .5u

I was very surprised by that amPS - and the nadir of 54. Now if I can only hold him here. He tends to be inconsistent and I haven't found a dose that seems to work. I was going to raise him, in fact to .75 because his PSs were in the mid 200s and spot checks were not out of the 100s - like high 100s.

Sounds like Tigger - except for our mishap last night we are finding the same kind of inconsistency for some reason with different doses not making much difference. I can't find one that works well either these days.

Those numbers are nice though for Jeddie except for the PM. I am sure you groaned when you saw that. Hope he came down after that.
 
No. He's sitting in the mid 200s today. I wonder if this is a reaction to the lower dose 30 hrs ago? Or is it reboudn because he isn't used to the 50s? I don't know. I shot .5u this am.
 
Even though the curve numbers are good, I would suggest the .4U simply wasn't enough to carry the trend to +12.

Shoot low to stay low. An 82 is safe to shoot full dose from my experience, but then ECID. The .55U may have taken him to 40s for nadir, but I see nothing wrong with 40s. 30s is low on Lev.

But an experience such as this is what has convinced me that 80s are safe to shoot regular dose.
 
Vicky, I am sure you are mostly right - I say mostly because I am still not fully comfortable shooting a full dose on something like an 82. And I think that the .5u may be a good dose instead of .55u. I know - I'm spitting hairs....

We keep having this pattern where he sits in the 200s for a while, then a sudden drop to a low PS and a decent nadir, and back up again.

ETA: Oi! I just tested him and he was 49 at +7. So, he was probably lower before this. That was from a 198 PS and .5u
 
see, for me that 198 or whatever to the 49 means the dose is too high BUT I have different goals than most of you, I think.

PK does better, acts better, eats better and is more active if he stays between 150 and 350 at any given part of the cycle. When he gets dips/nadirs of under 100, he gets oogy feeling ( 3rd eyelids up, hungover look, laying around)- mostly attributed to the fact that he spikes over 300 for EVERY SINGLE meal, regardless of dose or starting BG or the alignment of the moon and stars.

Also, the 198 to under 50 in that time is like a short duration insulin curve- what's up with that?

Last thing- Tilly says a few high numbers and a low dip is indicative of too much insulin...a smidge of a lower dose might be in order and hold for a few weeks....do another curve and see what's what...

But, that is based on the fact that my PK does better on higher/predicatable numbers without huge dips and peaks- our goals may not be the same and the suggestions here may not be helpful to you.

That's what I would do- see what others say.
 
I was not aware that Tilly said a few high numbers and then a dip to low numbers = too much insulin (can't these people say "rebound"?). It IS in the petdiabeteswiki info on Somogyi Rebound. And I do keep looking at that pattern and seeing rebound - but I did a rebound check a few weeks before I went to MI and his numbers got worse over 3 days.....

I have dropped him to .5u from .55u - I know that isn't much, but I will see where he goes with it. I am mindful of Vicky's comment about the .4u being too little to carry him to +12 and, in the past, when he has had similar low PS and I have reduced the dose he then hangs in higher numbers for a while. HOWEVER....

Not this time! I decided I would test him at +7 and he was 49. At +9 he was 64 and at +12 he was 109 - this was on .5u., but starting at 198 this am. So, yes, I did reduce tonight's dose back to .4u again. He may have been lower before +7 like he was yesterday. Seems like somewhere around +5 to +6 is his nadir. I'm not really wanting him to go lower that 50-ish, especially overnight. And I don't like seeing the high to low to high either.

I do think that when he is low he gets "googly-eyed" and restless. He comes to me and purrs and nests and/or stands on the bed or table and meows. He has done the purring, nesting thing several times at night and I have not gotten myself awake enough to test him. Part of that has been getting up and walking into the living room for the meter because it hurts my feet something awful - or used to. Being home is really helping my feet heal!

So, maybe I should put the meter and testing stuff on my nightstand, huh?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top