Jeddie update 3-18-12 & Pet Expo

Status
Not open for further replies.
After a month on .75u he finally got some good numbers for several days and then started to swing. Maybe I induced the swing by reducing the dose on the suddenly very low PS (80-90s). I'm trying to even things out now by reducing his dose overall to .65u.

Otherwise, he is feeling good and being his talkative, affectionate self. How could anyone not love this cat? How could anyone even consider PTS because he had FD? After 10 years? I just don't get it. I will never get it.

Went to a "pet expo" today. I have been going about every other year with friends for about 20 years and it is dwindling in size. This year it was so overwhelmingly dog-centered. Even the cat show part of it was greatly reduced. But I saw a Jeddie twin and an almost Beau twin. The almost Beau twin won best in show. He was a four year old flame point Siamese - except he had the "old" Siamese body type with the compact body and rounder head - looked more Tonkanease to me. The poor guy was totally blind though. They said is was a genetic issue with the oriental breads. I have never heard that before.

I came across a food manufacture (organic, small batch) that had vegetarian food for cats! Can you believe it? They actually make the food as a "side dish" for animals that need reduce ingredients diets. They also make single, novel protein foods like duck, buffalo, pheasant and you are supposed to mix these vegetarian foods in, except they call them complete, balanced meals. I just worry about misguided people that think they can put their cat on the same vegetarian diet they are on and have them be ok on it.
 
Hey Sheila, I too get discouraged about the "dog focus" I see all the time. Last time I heard the stat, there were more cats in households in the US than dogs, but maybe that's because people with cats usually have more than 1.

I've heard about vegan food for cats too. Shameful.

As for Jeddie-man I know you don't want him running really low, but what if you could keep him below 100 all day long? I don't know if the example would help, but in '09 I shot quite a few below 100 preshots. Take a look at page 3 of his spreadsheet. 8.28.09 is interesting because I delayed the dose 2 hours and he ended up in the 300s at PMPS.
 
I know I need to buck up and shoot those lows - full dose, but each time he has them it is either night time and I can't bring myself to wake up in the middle of the night to test or it is morning and I am about to walk out the door for most of the day.

He was 141 this am, so that might be a happy medium between 81 and 244 :roll:

There were a lot of cute dogs there, a lot more puppies than I remember in the past, as well as adult rescues. One litter of puppies for adoption were born to a 9 month old Golden Retriever that had been tied to a stake in someone's yard without water or shelter (in the winter). She was confiscated and fostered to be brought back to health and spayed. They had a family that wanted her, but discovered she was pregnant so they kept her in foster until she could ween the puppies. The family waited 3 months for her and would drive 45 mins to visit her and take her for walks.

I like dogs, but they take more "work" than cats, I think. Some day I want to get a dog, but not while I am in a condo. There were some beautiful Aussies there at a rescue group. That is the kind of dog I want. Or a Border Collie.

There seems to be a public perception of dogs as being "all American" while cats are for "crazy cat ladies". And dogs are "man's best friend". We still have a culture that promotes maleness over femaleness. Someone needs to create better PR for cats!
 
Thanks, Marcy.

He was 99 this am and, Vicky, I shot the full dose (the 'new' one: .65u) I have to go out for a couple of hours later, but I can get at least a +4 before I go.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I know I need to buck up and shoot those lows - full dose, but each time he has them it is either night time and I can't bring myself to wake up in the middle of the night to test or it is morning and I am about to walk out the door for most of the day.

I can understand that. ;) Sometimes I just skip and he brings himself down.

Nice to hear an update on our sweet Jeddie boy. :)
 
He must have surfed all day in the green - well, maybe he hit blue for a while.

amPS - 99
+4 - 98
pmPS - 81

Sorry, Vicky, I had to shave a little off the dose tonight and shoot .6u instead of .65u. I also think I have to get up and test him overnight. I usually won't shoot an 81, so I am not sure what he will do.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
He must have surfed all day in the green - well, maybe he hit blue for a while.

amPS - 99
+4 - 98
pmPS - 81

Sorry, Vicky, I had to shave a little off the dose tonight and shoot .6u instead of .65u. I also think I have to get up and test him overnight. I usually won't shoot an 81, so I am not sure what he will do.

Just make sure he has some food out. The only thing I will be upset about is if he rebounds on you. But that sure would have been a pretty curve today :-D
 
Well, I forgot to set my alarm. But he also had food down and there was still some left this morning and he didn't come to pester me awake, so I don't think he dropped too much. He was 141 this am, which could be the beginning of rebound though. I plan on getting a +6 today.
 
Well, that all fell apart. He steadily climbed yesterday and was 279 this morning. So - back to .75u to at least knock down that 279.

Yesterday's numbers:
amPS ~ 146 .65u
+3 ~ 172
+5 ~ 96
pmPS ~ 185 .65u

Today:
amPS ~ 279 .75u
+7 ~ 172
pmPS ~ 226 .75u

I'm not really thinking he dropped too low after the +5 yesterday. Today I can get a +4 and then have t leave for about 3 hrs, so maybe a +7 or +8.
 
Oh sure. I need a micrometer - and then 1 or 2 additional hands to hold it and the magnifying glass while I use my original two hands to hold the syringe and the pen :lol:

My little confession is that I have not used my own drop method thus far, only using my reference to the printed line widths and the width of the stopper top (both are .17u so I just call them .2u.

He was 226 tonight. This is so much his pattern ever since he went back on insulin. And it has happened on every dose I have tried. I wait, and wait, and wait, and eventually his numbers get better on the dose, then he has a day or two of beautiful numbers and it all falls apart again. Part of that might be my backing off the dose when he gives me a PS of 81. Maybe he is one of those cats that truly needs to have a full dose on an 80. I just never could do that with Beau so it is totally against my instinct.

Sort of like learning to recover a stalled airplane - totally against what you instinctively want to do. The wings stall (means they stop producing lift), the nose of the plane suddenly drops so you are facing about 45 degrees downward (toward the ground) and your instinct is to yank the yoke backwards to pull the nose up. Wrong move. That would actually cause a spin to start and they are hard to recover from (what happened to Kennedy). You have to push the yoke forward and give the engine full throttle until you regain lift. So as a student you practice this maneuver over and over to replace your instinct with a learned response.

Guess I have to practice shooting a full dose on an 81 - and be there to test him. I'd rather go practice stall recovery.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top