Jeddie Fri 1-21 - 90, 48, 56, 70.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
I chickened out on shooting the full .7u on a 90. Even though I am going to be here. It just didn't *feel* right. So he will be getting some spot checks today.

The interesting thing is that he ate over 90 mins before that test. So he either was really low, or he dropped after eating (because he ate).

He has been struggling with something in his right ear for a couple of days now. Weds am he was walking around with his head down and his right ear down and shaking his head if I even lightly touched it. But he wasn't scratching it or trying to wash it. I used a flashlight and looked in his ears and didn't see anything. Yesterday, he started really "working" it trying to clean it so I checked again and saw clumps of dark stuff. I got a couple of pieces out using a q-tip in the outer part of the ear that looked like hardened wax. One was about 1/4" x 1/8". This morning I got two smaller pieces out. He is better. Walking with his head up and ears up, but if I touch it he still shakes his head and puts that ear down. I think there is still some in there, but he needs a break for a few hours.
 
Re: Jeddie Fri 1-21 - amPS 90 (!) shot .5u

Well, he dropped to 48 at +5, so I am feeding and will retest shortly.

56 at +6 - crisis averted. So glad I only shot .5u. But now what to do?
 
Here I am, talking to myself again...I don't even have a cat nearby I can pretend to be talking to - they are all out in the LR in the sun (South facing windows).

He was 278 this am (22md), which I expected. I started a new cart though so I reduced the dose a bit and will hold that for a few cycles. I wish I could figure out why he has a low cycle like yesterday every 7-8 days and then is back in the high 200s.

His ear seems "all better" today. I was able to test using it without too much resistance by him - not that I am forcing him to tolerate anything. I touched and moved his ear around beforehand and he didn't cringe or hold it funny like he did the past few days.
 
Hi Sheila,
Thanks again for your help yesterday. I'm glad Jeddie's ear is better today. Look at those awesome numbers! I can't even imagine...
Have a great day!
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Here I am, talking to myself again...I don't even have a cat nearby I can pretend to be talking to - they are all out in the LR in the sun (South facing windows).

LOL

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
He was 278 this am (22md), which I expected. I started a new cart though so I reduced the dose a bit and will hold that for a few cycles. I wish I could figure out why he has a low cycle like yesterday every 7-8 days and then is back in the high 200s.

Funny, it seems when we start a new cart it is seemingly less potent, but when we get to the bottom of a cart it is more potent. I think I am alone in this thinking though. ;)

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
His ear seems "all better" today. I was able to test using it without too much resistance by him - not that I am forcing him to tolerate anything. I touched and moved his ear around beforehand and he didn't cringe or hold it funny like he did the past few days.

Good, glad it is better and he didn't need a vet visit. :-D
 
The last two green PS's have been Saturday mornings, so my question is what are you and/or Jeddie doing or not doing on the Friday morning or evening that is out of the ordinary? ( the one before that, the lower blue, was a Wednesday, I think?)

Also, for the ear- I have had good experience using M/Pharmaseb Spray solution 118ml- A topical antimicrobial and antifungal formula for dogs and cats, forumalted with Ketoconazole and Chloroxylenol, Manufactured by Animal Pharmaceuticals. I purchased at Vets's office...not sure of online availability.

Since the bottle did not say anything about use in ear, I called manufacturer (800-558-9934) and they assured me the formula was exact for their ear solution and this bottle was just a larger size than one labled for ear solution. They assured success and they were correct.

I have used it on both dogs- one had ear infection DX by vet and she said we could use this to clear it up and the other dog has long flap ears that seem to harbor pahscutzfah, so I use it periodically for a cleaner.

Same with cats, Abigail had ear infection (smelly ear and acting like you describe Jed)- vet said to use this and it cleared in 3 days time...other kitty had gooky ear no smell and I used it once to clean and it worked fine.

I do NOT use spray, though- I use a dropper. Both dogs and cats would freak at spray noise that close!

Also, as per vet, I massage base of ear until I can hear squishy liquidy noise, then scoop inside ear with tissue to remove any surface debris.
 
i think you know i have the same issue with Buddy-greens one day or 2, then 300's....
Latley I 'm thinking it's just the nature of the diabetic beast-the organs (liver, pancreas?) can't be counted on to function in any predictable or consistant way...guess i've concluded the obvious. Frustrating and agonizing, isnt it?
 
Every day is pretty much like the last. I can't think of anything different that I do. Although the past two nights my neighbor downstairs sounds like he has been having a dinner party...

Thanks, Melissa. His ear is bothering him again today. It looks a little grimy. Actually, Charlotte was licking his head and stuck her whole snout in that ear for a good long smell - like 2-3 seconds. He isn't holding it down anymore, but he still shakes his head sometimes. If it isn't clearing up, I'll have to call the vet tomorrow. She will probably want to see him, but I will ask about that cleaner stuff.

His BG was 309 last night / 259 this am. So, yeah, frustrating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top