jean luc seeing low green

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Active Member
Jean luc in green. With relion measured 38 st +6.5. Gave 1 tbs Merrick. @ +7 is now 52. Probably will bounce. He will have normal meal in 30 minutes. He is happy. Purring and wondering why mom is awake at this hour on a school night.
 
I hate the days I have to go to sleep early...
How did the night go?
Carl
 
Wow! I think he wants his dose reduced. I will be around a while this am. Hope you can post your amps.

I know the low numbers are a bit scary Shannan, but you are doing great with them, and he is responding very well to the insulin. Unsettling but wonderful news!
 
He did eat at 1/4 FF at +4.5, but still 38 on Relion at +6.5. He didn't seem overly bothered by the low # even though I woke him up. Purring and preening. Got him up to 52 at +7 after eating 1 tbsp of Merrick 96% Chicken. About 15 minutes later, he was 99 and then his normal food was available at +7.5. Figured he was safe and attempted to go back to sleep. At AMPS he was 342. Gave him 2U. nailbite_smile
 
Certainly less of a bounce, Shannan, for amps. Maybe his body is getting adjusted to those greens? I'd definitely leave out food. (have you invested in an auto feeder. It is nice to be able to time the feedings when he needs them if you are gone - +3 or 4 and +5 or 6)

It is so much harder to racket down the dose than to move it up. You are doing great with it. ( I suggested you and Robbie's mom Ellen exchange phone numbers to keep each other company at night. She is dealing with the same thing)
 
Love the auto feeder. Food is available today at +1.5 (1/4 can FF) ; +4.5 (1/4 FF); and +7.5 (1/4 can FF). Last night, during the bewitching hour I was thinking I need to change the food schedule as well. I will do that tonight. Tomorrow, I will be able to relax some after AM shot (whew...cup of coffee at home) and get some mid-cycle numbers during the day.

I'm using U40 needles, does anyone find a need for anything different at this point?

By the way, the Relion is a lot easier to use then the AlphaTrak. Don't have to worry about 2 blood wells and it draws up a lot faster. It is also more cost effective. My AlphaTrax was kind-of disturbing me. It was giving some wonky readings (i.e 421 and then 7 minutes laster 555, etc.) well over the 20% margin of error. Will call Abbott again.. Last time, the gentleman there walked me through cleaning out the strip chamber. He said hairs and fuzz get in there and cause strange things. I have also noticed black residue on the chamber. It's almost like the electronic strips are rubbing off.

Thank you again for all the support. It is priceless.
 
I wouldn't get the U100s yet. Lots of cats are able to get into lower numbers without the smaller dose - just staying with .5 variations. Both Carl's Bob and my Oliver got OTJ without them (Neither of us knew they existed!)

Yes, it is hard to stick with the AlphaTrak. It takes a bigger sample, is more expensive and more complicated. The human meters give you a range which is what you need.

You are doing great, Shannan!
 
Yikes, good job last night.

This bounce may not be over yet. I went and looked as his past bounces and it looks like he takes his sweet (hehe, pun intended) time going up. So no matter what crazy high number you get tonight at PMPS please stick with the 2 unit dose. The bounce will clear by itself and when it does you don't want to have too much insulin on board.
 
Had a multi color night (blue, green, pink).

PMPS 363 gave 2U
+4 132 (1/4oz FF turkey at 3.5)
+7 76 (1/4oz FF Turkey at +6.5)
AMPS 375, gave a drop over 2U, but less than 2.25, no ketones

Haven't tested again this morning. Will test again in a few hours. Little guy resting comfortably.
Looks like we might be on the right track, but as soon as I say that my little guy starts a new dance move :lol:
 
Better preshots numbers. He seems to be bouncing less. A few cycles ago, a green would have sent him back up in the blacks.

I hope you are feeling more confident with the dosing, Shannan. You are doing great. Well, you're doing great too, Jean Luc. :mrgreen:
 
After several hours in the blue, he is now 479. What do you all think about shooting 2.25 at PM?
 
I would at least stick with the 2 units or maybe 1.75 units.

The 2 units you gave on the 363 dropped him about 80% so you are seeing bounce numbers again now.
 
It is possible he needs less in the night than in the day? Are these numbers bounces from last night's numbers?

Today's numbers were:
AMPS 375 Gave 2U
+3 175
+5 145
+7 193
+9 479

Confused...
 
It is possible he needs less at night, but I think more data would make that clearer. He didn't go into that scary low area around 40 last night so his numbers last night really looked pretty good.

It may be that if he isn't going to bounce after low numbers, he will throw a flatter higher curve. Again, he reminds me alot of Cassie (bookworm) For months it was a big bounce from lows. Now his pattern is a flat high curve the day after a low number. That theory looks pretty good except for the 479. That is a little confounding.

I would stay with the 2 units and see what happens. I know this is frustrating - just when you learn the steps to a tango, he switches the music to cha cha cha. If you think of this whole process as data collection, sometimes it is easier........
 
Thank you. Still learning his dance moves as he declares and laughs at "So you think you can dance" he, he, he :cool:
 
Hershey always had a couple of higher flatter cycles after a great day. He's still doing it on the Lev so there may be something to that Sue.

Maybe the higher flatter cycles are part of the rebound hormones trying to clear. It can take anywhere from a few cycles to a few days for the hormones to clear their system.

Not sure about that 479, could it have been a bad strip? I guess his PMPS might tell us something.

Sue is right that in the beginning it is all about data gathering, once you get the data the patterns will start to emerge and you get a better idea of what dance steps to take.
 
The reading on the Relion at PMPS was "HI" so that was consistent with the 479 a few hours earlier. Gave him 2U.

He is constipated today (noticed its been a couple of days). Gave a him 1/8 tsp of Miralax at +3 this am and he did go a tiny bit. I put another 1/8 tsp in his +3 feeding for tonight. I also added more water to the wells and mixed up the food. Hopefully, that will get him moving. dancing_cat
 
We had a great blue day. AM's # at PS was high 484. Gave 2.25U. Stayed in 100s majority of day. PMPS was 375 gave 2U. Hoping for good night back in blue.
 
So far tonight holding in 300. +4.5 is 359. Not sure why? He about 30 minutes ago and ee could've had some thunderstorms. We had to run errands for family for several hours.
 
He has pooped a small amount and does not feel as full. He probably needs to go more. Has not pooped today. How much Miralax is too much? Have not been giving every day. Gave 1/8 tsp 2x last week. Have been adding more water to his canned food. Are diabetic cats more prone to constipation? He was constipated before his dx. Vet prescribed the hills high fiber canned and dry food. Shortly thereafter the sugar cat come to be.
 
He has pooped a small amount and does not feel as full. He probably needs to go more. Has not pooped today. How much Miralax is too much? Have not been giving every day. Gave 1/8 tsp 2x last week. Have been adding more water to his canned food. Are diabetic cats more prone to constipation? He was constipated before his dx. Vet prescribed the hills high fiber canned and dry food. Shortly thereafter the sugar cat come to be.
 
You might go back and look at Robbie's Mom's posts. (click on her name and it will go to her profile. Pick her posts and you can scan through them to find her constipation threads). Or send her a pm. I know she has tried a lot of different things and has a good idea about what might work.
 
Will do. Just tested again and he is 245. Maybe a later onset tonight. Either way not too low to worry. Good sleep tonight...
 
Hi Shannan,
Yes, it looks like a later than normal onset, which could mean you'll see a lower number in the morning. It looks to me like the lower doses are doing what we hoped they would do. I don't know if you can do this, but if you can, reduce the zoom on his spreadsheet view and just look at the colors instead of the numbers. What I see is a lot fewer black boxes, and a lot more blue ones. Right now, don't think "greens". When you get pink preshots, you can hope for high green nadirs, but if you are red or black at shot time, yellow or blue is low enough in the middle. You want some drop, yes, but not so much that he bounces back up to ugly colors. If you can get at least a 50% drop from PS to nadir, you're doing fine. When you start seeing 75%, it's a little too much at this point. Does that make sense, and does it make you feel better about what you are seeing?

Every day when you post, include something "beyond the numbers" about what you are seeing and how he's acting. In your PM to me, you mentioned that he's been playing "chase the string" lately. Something he hasn't done for a while. That is BIG news, Shannan. It means he's feeling better. It's really easy to get caught up in the numbers, and not mention stuff like that. But the outward signs, what we call the "whole cat report" are important observations. If he's drinking less, peeing less, grooming himself more, jumping up on the counter....all of that shows improvement even when the numbers are frustrating to you.

About food - they do seem like they are starving when the numbers are high. Sometimes they'll act like that when the numbers go too low. That's because they know they are low, and they know food will boost them up. When they are high, they might also act that way, because when the numbers are high, they aren't getting the "bang" out of a normal amount of food, and they need more to make up the difference in how their body processes the food less efficiently. How much is he eating every day? Maybe you'll need to add one snack to his schedule. You can get a rough idea of his weight on the bathroom scale if you have one. Weigh yourself, and then pick him up and weigh both of you together. That'll give you a rough idea what he weighs, and you can tell if he's gaining any weight, or still losing weight. Not as exact as the vet's scale, but good enough
And do PM Ellen about the constipation issue. I'm not sure how much Miralax is "the right amount", I've never used it. But she's had to use all sorts of things for Robbie, so I'm sure she can help.

All in all, it looks like you and Jean Luc are doing much better!

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top