jean luc over 500 @am & pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.
Shannan,
It still looks to me like too much insulin, but I know it's hard to "get that" when you are seeing black numbers. When you shoot a dose of 2u, many times even that looks like too much. If he's dropping 300-400 points, it's "too low" for him (even though the numbers are still above normal), and his body seems to be reacting to the drop by bouncing back up to higher and higher numbers.

I'm still thinking that 2.0 or 1.75 would be better. They may not give you yellows and greens, but I do think that you would see fewer reds or blacks at a lower dose.

Carl
 
Well, we did get a drop to the mid 200s and then back up this am. Am I still on the right track? I just cannot figure this guy out. He was sleeping deeply when I woke him for the +8. This am he was definitely hungry before the AMPS. Came into bed to wake me. Mewing...(more like barking) in kitchen while waiting on food.

+3 = 320
+4 = 255
+6 = 262
+8 = 486
 
OOps, sorry, I posted this on an old thread. :oops:


"Yes bounces are frustrating. Especially if you are trying to control them with more insulin, like on a roller coaster, you shoot a dose that is a little to much and their bg drops to blue or green and their liver panicks and dumps glucose to protect themselves and your next PS is red or black so you raise the dose and they drop to blue or green and the roller coaster takes off for another spin around the track. Bounces will clear by themselves but sometimes it takes 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear out of their system.

Personally I would drop the dose to 1.5u and stick with it (as long as the PS's are high enough) and let the bouncing stop. You will probably lose the blue and green nadirs but you should also lose those ugly black PS's. Once the bouncing stops we should be able to see the true patterns and get a better idea of the ideal dose."


The 1.5u probably isn't the ideal dose but will give us a starting point for a truer picture going forward.
 
He was 457 at pmps. Gave him 1.75u. It will be an interesting to see what happens. It seems we may have delayed food today. Something went wonky with my feeder. It was probably my issue. Cat ate around +11 per my DH who happened to be home at that time today. He definitely was not hungry at normal time. Jean Luc is now preening and resting in his bed. Crossing fingers we did not go too low and restart cycle. I guess lower dose is necessary either way. I am just having a hard time with it. The lower "U's' did not seem to drop him low enough for long enough. I am just a bit discouraged and thinking I am making him feel bad. Will keep you posted. Btw, looks like a little poop today.
 
He pooped some more at about +2 last night. He was 481 at AMPS. Gave him 1.75U. He ate 3oz can ff turkey and then heard him playing a couple of minutes with his rattling mouse. He then relaxed and hung about while I got ready for work. Any thoughts on what his PMPS will be?

I noticed yesterday he has developed a small sore on the outside of his mouth. I put neosporin on it several times. Could it be acne from the plastic autofeeder? He eats the AMPS and PMPS meals from a glass plate. The between meals are in the autofeeder. I handwash the autofeeder tray with dish detergent daily. Can the autofeeder be lined with something to avoid contact with the plastic?
 
If he ate at +11, that 457 was partially a boost from food
 
We will see what happens today. The feeder should be set-up correctly. Double checked settings. Last night's food was at +2.5 and +6.5. Had a drop last night to 192 @ +5 with the 1.75U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top