Jean Luc back in red

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice even PS's are a good thing. Although the numbers are still high they aren't black.

I would stick with this dose until you can get some mid cycle tests in so we can see what he's doing mid cycle and give his body a rest from the big swings.

It could take several days for the rebound hormones to clear out of his system. Then we will be able to see the real picture.
 
Getting some decent mid-cycle day #'s today. It just doesn't seem to last full 12 hours yet. He hasn't been stalking the food bowl today. His urine level is also down a little bit. A lot of relaxing and sleeping for him with exception of poke time and the looks of oh... here we go again.

AMPS 441
+3 440
+5 276
+6 217
+8 199
+10 457 - he ate around +8.5

Last night
PMPS 482
+2 455
+4 212
Exhausted and feel asleep
 
Today's cycle is picture purfect. A 55% drop at nadir. Anywhere from 50% to about 65% is good.

+10 could be food spike, paws crossed his PMPS comes back down.

Yay he's not ravenous and his LB output is going back to normal. All good signs. :thumbup
 
It's almost red. If you had tested 5 minutes sooner it might have been.

BTW they can bounce off of blue numbers too in the beginning, until they get more used to seeing them.

I still like this cycle.
 
It was a pretty good day. 50% spent below 400. 4 hours of that below 300. I am concerned about damage occurring when the #'s are > 350. I know it takes to time to get him regulated and some kitty's don't. I just hope we get a little lower sooner.
 
The most dreaded statement around here is "This is a marathon, not a sprint".

I hated that statement no matter how true it was. I wanted to sprint to regulation but it doesn't work that way.

First stabalize, than fine tune.
 
Pmps back to 481. Evening with pink. No ketones this am. Have poop without miralax.

Can catnip raise BG? He put some on his pillow last night to help him unwind. Can't think of anything that was done different from afternoon. Usually he tends to go lower at night.

Otherwise, kitty is his usual happy self this am.
 
One of the hardest things for me, still, is watching those numbers go high. And at first it seems they are all over the place with numbers. One day one thing works then the next it doesn't. It can be frustrating. Then when you think you've got a good run going....

Grabbing the numbers you can during mid-cycle really does help know what's going on and where to turn from there. Add to that the kitty changing how things work...it's a delicate dance and we are learning them as we go. :-D And kitty will change the steps when we least expect. :lol:
 
The signs generally sound good - poop, eating, no ketones. Catnips should be okay.

Can you get a couple midcycle numbers today to see how the insulin is impacting him?
 
Will do this evening. Family has taken us away from home this afternoon.

He was making me laugh this am. Tried to get a nap after shot and he decided it was play time with his toys. Meow, meow, bang, bang, rattle, rattle, jump, jump. Time for fun in hallway outside mom's door. So glad he was feeling good enough to play!
 
+2 317
+5 193. Gave him small sliver of food. Next meal at +6.5. I guess he was satisified with that. Left kitchen and laid in window.
 
He keeps giving you those higher preshot numbers. It's hard to tell whether the insulin is not lasting the whole cycle or whether he is bouncing.

Last night was a nice cycle without any really low numbers. If his pattern would be a lower pmps and a higher amps, you could alternate and shoot later at night and earlier in the am (like a 13/11 cycle), but I think we need to see if that is a consistent pattern. Try to get those nadir numbers and a +9 or 10 whenever you can.
 
+6 263
+ 9 542. No explanations

Should I shoot more tonight at normal time? Last food at +6.5. He has been resting since then.
 
That is a very unusual jump. Did you check to make sure it was an accurate number? You'd see that kind of jump when they got into some very high carb....
 
Do not know where he would have found food. He was equally high at +10 and PMPS. Gave him 1.75U. He ate 1/2 his food. Tested negative for ketones. Went immediately back to his bed and fel asleep. Maybe he went low early and this could be a bounce. Do not have a clue.
 
Hummm the fact that he came down by PMPS does make it look like contraban or a bounce.

Too bad you didn't get an early number to see if he was low or not.

I guess the next time you will be around to test you could probably fatten up that 1.75u.
 
I'm thinking that perhaps a "line in the sand" might make some sense. Like maybe if he's below 350 at shot time, shoot 1.75, and if he's above 350, shoot 2.0?
Today looks like just not enough insulin to me. Robin is right, the drop at PMPS looks odd, but the numbers from +9 till PMPS are all within 10% of each other, so could be considered "flat" also. He may have dropped 200 points today, but it looks like the insulin just pooped out by +8 or +9.

Carl
 
+5 209
+6 222
+9 453
AMPS = 482
Gave him 2U. Will see what #'s are this afternoon at PMPS. Hoping for some improvement.

Pmps 506. Gave 2u. Will monitor him tonight. He was very excited to see me come in door. He wanted food. Ate majority of 3oz can ff turkey and then strategically placed himself in a large dresser drawer full of t-shirts. Zonked out!!!
 
Shannan,
I know it's hard to stick with a dose when you see red or black numbers, but try to do that for a few cycles. It just seems like higher doses are counterproductive and give you so much of a drop that he keeps bouncing high anyway. What we are hoping to see is that the PS numbers come down because the insulin is just enough to lower his numbers in the middle without lowering them too much.
If that doesn't work, then maybe it is time to think about a different approach like dosing 3 times a day instead of 2, but with lower amounts each time. People have done that with varying degrees of success. Not time for that yet though...

Carl
 
Carl, yes it is frustrating. I feel like we are close yet so far. Wish I had a little globe that can watch his endocrine system.
 
That 108 is encouraging, Shannan. I am sorry that we haven't been able to find the dose that works for Jean Luc. Some of his nadirs look really good and then he jumps up to higher numbers. The only thing I can offer is to stick with the dose a couple days and be sure to continue testing for ketones. I hope he finally settles in.
 
With more than a 300 point drop in 5 hours, there's no way the insulin isn't working, and working well. We just need to figure out how to stop him from climbing all the way back up after seeing a nice blue number like that.

Carl
 
AMPS 430;
He was a little constipated yesterday afternoon. He was crouched in his box trying to make something happen. Small little bit did and then jumped out a tried to get the rest off / out by rubbing rear on the rug. Looked very uncomfortable.
I gave him 1/8 tsp Miralax to his +3.5 and +6.5 for a total of 1/4tsp. He was able to poop this morning after his breakfast. I went ahead and added some more Miralax to today's meals.

Crossing fingers and paws he will feel comfortable today.
 
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=76116

Pumps 448 gave 2u.
I was reading Max's post.. Is it possible I have been feeding to much at am and pm shot time? He usually eats 1 3oz can over a 15 - 30 minute window. He then gets 1/4 at +3.5 and 1/4 + 6.5. It is a total of 3 cans.

He was feeling good a little while ago. Trotting after string down the hall. Makes me smile
 
It's that Every Cat is Different thing, Shannan. I'd try something different if you can - you never know what will impact them. Worth a try. :mrgreen:
 
Shannan,
You can experiment with portion sizes, and keep feeding when you are. It is possible that the meal just after nadir (+6.5) could be making him climb up faster by +8 or +9 though.
You could give him the whole cans at shot time, and maybe give him that other half can at +4 or +5 all at once instead of in two snacks?
It is hard to make the cat adjust feeding times based on what you would prefer doing, so it might take a few days for him to adjust to any changes. But changing the timing, or the size of meals can have an effect on the numbers during the cycle.
You basically have to experiment with it, and find a routine that works for you and for Jean Luc.

Carl
 
He was feeling good a little while ago. Trotting after string down the hall. Makes me smile

Reading that makes me smile. It's the little things you notice that can turn a bad day into a great one.

Carl
 
Attempted to adjust quantity of food tonight. Feed at +4.5 ~3/8 oz. Additional 1/8 can at +7.

+5 = 202
+9 = 432
AMPS = 528 (some could be stress I had to "poke" more than 1x); gave 2U

He did sleep with me in the bed with me last night. Hasn't done that in serveral months. Today, I am going to try feeding 3/8oz at normal +3.5 and 1/8 at +6.5 to see if that makes a difference.
 
I hope the food will even out his cycles. He really crashes early and then jumps up before the cycle is over. If this pattern continues with your food adjustments, as Carl suggested, I think your choices are to divide the whole 24 cycle dose by 3 and dose every 8 hours instead of every 12 or try either Lantus or Levemir, which tend to have longer cycles.
 
Pumps 442 Gave 2u

Doing something different with food tonight. May not work, but we'lll see what happens.
1/2 can ff @ shot time not 1 can
1/2 can @ +4
1/2 can @ +8
 
Good, I think it's worth a try, Shannan.
Hoping is shows us something, whether positive or negative, that makes logical sense. Jean Luc has been a puzzle so far...

Carl
 
Last night's #'s after changing food were a little bit better. Still high this AM though. Continuing same food schedules and amounts today.

PMPS 442
+4 162
+5 125
+9 336
AMPS 502
 
snorton said:
Last night's #'s after changing food were a little bit better. Still high this AM though. Continuing same food schedules and amounts today.

PMPS 442
+4 162
+5 125
+9 336
AMPS 502

The +5 and +9 are an hour after food? Amazing!

Getting great drops then zooms for PSs. Watching for Sue and Carl's input on this one! :cool:
 
I'd give the food one more day. If your preshots don't come down, I think you should look at reducing the dose and shooting three times a day(difficult because of added tests, monitoring and shots) or changing to an insulin that gives him a longer duration.
 
Pmps 474
+3 399

Jean luc has been very active tonight. Played chase for ~20 minutes at +2.25. He acts like he is feeling better, but his BG would not show that. Um.....
 
Wow, nice start to the day! Can you test around +4 to see how much he might drop?
carl
 
Just tested again +4.5 = 86. Got me. I am surprised!

Fyi - just gave him freeze dried chicken. The new petsmart ones. He loves 'em.
 
Wow! Nothing different yesterday and today other than smaller meals and more frequent food? Whatever, I like the numbers. (Maybe he heard me talking about shooting more often or changing insulin and decided he had better get with the program.... :mrgreen: )

Will you be around? I would think he would be okay at nadir, but it would be nice to check. If you get a number around 40 and no one is here, be sure to go over to Health and ask for help. (The first intervention would be a little of the gravy off the higher carb food and retest in 20 minutes.)

I always figure if I give the info on low numbers, you won't need them. And I think you should change your subject line :lol:
 
I will be close by today. Plan to check around 11:30am and 2pm. His next meal at 12:30. Does that sound okay? Thought about 10, bt his ears seem to be thickening. Harder to get samples.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top