Jean Luc 8/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Active Member
Jean Luc has been holding his own with some surprises. Continue to hold steady at 1.5U and no food changes.

8/7 PMPS 543
+3 = 483
+6 = 341
+9 = 455

8/8 AMPS 536
PMPS 482
Falling asleep too early; no #'s

8/9 AMPS
209 @ 4:32a
254 @ 4:35a
353 @ 5:00am; gave 1.5U - this was after feeding 1/2 can ff at 4:30a

Hoping he doesn't bounce too much this afternoon. It was good to wake up to lower numbers.
 
Shannan,
You did a good job this morning when you saw that number. Next time though, try to hold off on feeding and see if the number comes up on it's own. Still okay, and you can see the food pushed Jean Luc's number right on up there in 30 minutes.
Can you get a test around nadir today?

Very nice to wake up to yellow numbers, huh? :smile:

Carl
 
Can't get NADIR today. Away at work.

I debated about giving him less insulin, same insulin, or holding off all together. Finally decided after the feeding and the increase between the 1st and 2 shot to keep the dosage the same. I wouldn't be too surprised, exasperated if he bounced today. He was feeling pretty good last night around midnight. Heard him playing in the hallway with his toys.
 
This is just a hunch, but I think he might go low enough today to give you a bouncy number at PMPS, so yeah, I wouldn't be surprised or exasperated either. :smile: Nice that he's up in the middle of the night playing!

Carl
 
Pmps=460
+3=399
Was actually expecting higher with the low this morning and the thunderstorms most of the afternoon. He is definitely peeing less and more active. We've been playing chase the string couple of times per day for about 10 minutes each time.

Crossing paws for calm night, but more thunderstorms on the way.. urg!!!!
 
From last night +5 = 240

AMPS
544 and then 465 8 min later
+4 = 391; he ate ate 3.5
+6 = 370

Should I change anything with the insulin yet?
 
I just don't know, Shannan. You get some decent midcycle numbers and then he shoots back up. It just looks to me like the insulin doesn't last long enough. It would be unusual for him to bounce that high from yellows.
 
Spoke with my vet and she is going to review my spreadsheet this weekend. We are seriously considering Lantas (glargine). I will probably hear back from her on Monday. In the meantime, we are in a holding pattern unless someone as suggestion. I found out his BG on inital diagnosis was 395. Well, we've exceeded that now! Uhm........................
 
Shannan,
I think exploring the switch is a good thing for you to consider doing. Does your vet have experience with Lantus? It is much different than Prozinc in the way it works and the way it is dosed. What is "easier" is that there are published guidelines to follow. One person that could help you to understand the differences is Amy (arozeboom), who switched after Ruby wasn't getting great results on Prozinc. Ruby went OTJ with Lantus a couple of months ago. Amy thought about it for quite some time before finally switching, and I'm sure it wasn't an easy decision for her, but I think her insight would really help you.

Carl
 
Not sure about her lantus experience, but will ask. She is a new graduate.

Wouldn't you know it. Little stinker is at 257 at +3.
 
Of course he is....he heard you talking about switching insulin. ;-)

Carl
 
Saying it wasn't an easy decision is just a teeny bit of an understatement, Carl. :lol: I was so freaked out I couldn't sleep.
Now, I wish we had done it sooner.

Shannon, I sent you a long, rambling PM.
 
What I remember most, Amy, is that each time you decided "yes, I am going to do this", Ruby tried to sabotage your plans by showing you a good cycle on PZI. But you did it right....you posted on Lantus TR and asked for lots of input beforehand, and I think you made a good decision based on lots of people giving you advice.

Carl
 
LOL! That's my Ruby!
She's still just as contrary. (and doing great. When I tested her last week I think it 93, on the Alpha!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top