Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457 pmps 330 +3 427

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Jean Luc 8/28 Condo

Not sure if this is another bouncy day. He is was at 190 at +7 last night. I cannot figure out why he doesn't want to stay below 200 for long periods of time. Does anyone have any thoughts on the matter?
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

He's been on Lantus almost 2 weeks now, correct? I think its probably still a bit early in the game to get discouraged (even though I totally was).
How's he seem overall?

If you look at Ru's spreadsheet, we did a lot of up and down with her dose for the first month.
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

Hi Shannan

I took a look over your SS. I believe what you're seeing is what's common in newbie kitties - JL's liver gets a little panicked when his BG gets into healthy ranges (though remember, he DOES get into those ranges, consistently, ever couple of days or so - that's a great sign), so he bounces. This is a normal reaction. It's also a sign that his liver is in good working order - another plus! Most cats, as frustrating as that is (have a look at Alexa/Reuben, or Jill/Charlie), will just bounce until they don't. At some point, ideally, they just stop - when the liver has completed liver boot camp :mrgreen: I don't see cause for concern on JL's SS (is it ok to abbreviate his name? Otherwise I'll say the whole, beautiful name of course!), since it's quite common to see cats bounce off blues, even yellows sometimes, when they're just starting out.

Try to take heart in the fact that you *have* seen blues and greens often enough to know he's capable of getting there. Give him a bit more time. You've had 4 cycle of consisten 1.5u dosing now. Re-assess tomorrow or the day after. If he's reluctant to come out of those high BGs, you *may* be looking at going back to 1.75u. But, hopefully, he'll settle into the dose when his shed is refilled properly - that can take a few days, so again, keep breathing, ok?

Keep voicing your concerns, and we'll be here to help you and talk you through things.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

Sometimes you have to wait it out.

Meanwhile, we can pull out the old Sears catalog and find a surfboard. :lol:
Maybe we take that trampoline and hide it in the closet.
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

Hi guys .. awww, don't be discouraged .. jean luc is giving you nice numbers .. he just needs to get it going for longer periods of time .. you've been at this just a short time, we danced this dance with mocha for almost two years .. hang in there!
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

Hello All -

Yes, abbreviating JL is fine..

He is urinating less. Litter box not completely full every afternoon (yeah). He doesn't hooooooooover his evening meal quite as fast. Usually gone in 20 minutes versus 5 minutes. His fur is softer. He seems to be purring more often. Overall, small improvements every day. I'm just concerned due to possible neuropathy and kidney damage with the higher numbers. Don't want him to get insulin resistance by going to slow!

Thanks for the pep talk! Need it. I am just a little confused as to what his ECID Brain is thinking.
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

hmmmm.
I am a little suspicious.
I am going to go ask Sienne to look at your chart ( she works so it may be a while)

since you aren't able to test during the day, I believe you may have (imho) a nice green low during the day time and you
are getting bounces, maybe even a too low green?
And you are only catching the bounce numbers which makes your chart look so dismal with reds.


Sienne can tell you better than I can but there was a reason for lowering your dose the other day especially when you have to
work and can't be there.
 
Re: Jean Luc 8/29 AMPS 457

I think Jane's right -- this looks like a bounce from the blue numbers last night. In addition, you've changed the dose a couple of times in quick succession and this often results in wonky numbers. It's possible that JL's number may have dropped, but I don't think so. As long as you have food accessible to him during the day -- and he'll stroll over to the bowl if he's hungry -- I think you're fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top