Jax threw me for a loop last night

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Just when I thought I knew everything about how Jax would react to a dose he shows me that I really don't know anything.

Last night I got home and his PMPS was 215 which was unsuually high for him these days. I thought maybe the streak of good numbers were coming to an end and his Bg was now starting to creep back up. Normally before he started trending low he would have gotten 1.6 on a 215 but I thought I was erring on the side of caution so I gave him 1.4. BIG...MISTAKE...

I woke up at +4 with a nagging feeling to test him so I crawled out of bed and took his bg. To my utter surprise he was at 44. So, we had a looooong night in front of us. At 5 in the morning he finally rose to 60 and by the time I left the house he hit 100. Needless to say, I skipped the AM shot. I think going forward, even if he goes higher than normal, I won't go over .8.

Diabetes is maddening.
 
Yeah for insticnts, and how yours are right on the money!

Jax, bud, don go scarin' yer ma lik that, bud. Thas get grumpy and whatnot witouts thems sleeps. Poop
 
Blech Teresa. I don't know about instincts or I wouldn't have given him 1.2 to begin with. I feel pretty horrible today. I can't help but think it could have been a very bad turn of events if I didn't wake up then I blame myself for thinking to give him such a large dose when he's been getting .6 on avg. What was I thinking...??? I just want to pound my head against the wall. I hate this disease.

*sigh* ok, pity party over...
 
Hi Lisa,
Don't beat yourself up. Just a couple weeks ago he got 1.0 on a 229, right? Bottom line, although it might have gone wrong, it didn't. Put it in the rearview!

Love your instincts last night! What did it take to bring him back up in terms of time and food? Besides lost sleep, I mean ;-)

Totally agree on setting the .8 limit. And only if he's yellow probably. Unless or until his numbers prove that doesn't work, it should keep him from surprising you with a 40-ish number. The .6 looks like it does the trick on mid-high blues (psssst.....update your SS before Sue sees it! :lol: )

I hate this disease.
I'd say that is pretty much universal sentiment around here.
Hugs,

Carl
 
I made a mistake in my original post. He got 1.2 on the 215.

Carl & Bob said:
What did it take to bring him back up in terms of time and food? Besides lost sleep, I mean ;-)

I first gave him 1 can of FF. He ate about 3/4 of the can. I waited for about 20 mins and retested.
After that I broke out the gravy. He ate about 2 teaspoons of the gravy then he was no longer interested. I keep forgetting I no longer have my little Hoover cat. So we had a long night. Thankfully, I didn't have to use honey because he remained very low but constant until the morning. During the night he only ate another teaspoon of the higher carbed stuff.

I have updated the SS.

This is certainly getting very tricky. Tonight he was 122 at PMPS and DH gave him .20. I was thinking to maybe go back to .40 but I wanted to sleep tonight and not get any surprises :lol: Well, here I am, up and testing anyway and at +9 he is 71. I am now wondering if I should reduce the dose to .20 when he is in the 120's for now...I need a new scale.

I am thinking...
120-130 .2
130-160 .4
160-200 .6
over 200 .8
over 300 1.0

I want to keep the insulin support for his pancreas so I don't want to under dose and put a strain on it where it burns out again...but I want to be able to sleep at night too! decisions, decisions...
 
Well, helloooo Jax! What an interesting surprise. I like the new scale; it's gutsy.

The alternative (maybe possible only on the weekend) is to chase the number. Wait till he gets to your target (150?) and then dose. You'd still be giving tiny doses, but it might mean he won't go down as low at nadir? Or maybe not. It would probably throw your schedule completely off.

It always amazes me when some cats start finally reacting to PZI. It's like it takes them months to start really using the insulin. We have had people come on a year after they first posted. They just kept giving the insulin and then, bang, they get good numbers. Wish we knew why......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top