Jax 9/11-9/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Evening all!

We are still having a great run of numbers and I am hoping that one day we will only see double digits! (anti-Jinx)

Here's where we are:
9/11 AMPS 132 .40 given
PMPS 93 Fed at this time
+2 106
+7 66 surprised to see this drop as we skipped the evening shot.

9/12 AMPS 120 .20 given
PMPS 118 .20 given

I decided to shoot on the 118 because my scale starts at 120 and that # is virtually the same. Also, he was fed at the same time. Very pleased with his progress so far. I am contemplating raising my scale to .40 up from .20 on 120-130 BG. I just want to make sure Mr. P isn't under a strain. .20 seems like such a tiny amount to give! i can't even feel it being administered. If I do decide to raise it will occur on the weekend when I can observe. Still deciding...
 
What lovely numbers, Lisa! I think the change in the scale is your choice, as long as you will be around to guide it with food if he goes too low. The dosing is very tricky when Mr. P is visiting as predictions about numbers aren't really possible.
 
Hi Carl,

Yes, he ate twice.
Jax eats 4 cans of FF a day. Once at PMPS and usually once again between +3 and +4.

In the AM I usually just give him 2 cans at AMPS and let him have at it at leisure since I am usually not home to wait the +3 to feed him again. Why do you ask?

9/13 AMPS 172 .40 I considered giving .60 but thought I would play it on the safe side since I would not be home.
PMPS 120 .20 given
+4 81

9/14 AMPS 120 .20 given
PMPS 75 Fed at this time and waiting for a rise to 120-ish to give shot. Jax is taking his sweet time it seems. While I can't be anything but pleased with the overall decrease in #'s I do wonder if he will hang on like this for months...
 
PMPS 93 Fed at this time
+2 106
+7 66 surprised to see this drop as we skipped the evening shot.
Lisa,
Did he eat between pmps and +6?
Carl
In the AM I usually just give him 2 cans at AMPS and let him have at it at leisure since I am usually not home to wait the +3 to feed him again. Why do you ask?

Because if you skipped the shot, and his BG dropped after two meals and gave you that perfectly normal 66 at +7, there's only one thing that could have caused that? Like his pancreas doing the job that nature intended? Like he's getting better? :mrgreen:

Carl
 
I noticed the same thing with Scout when she went OTJ - higher numbers first thing in the morning than after a meal. It seems like the pancreas is responding to meals well, but isn't yet producing enough basal insulin to keep the numbers low when the cat is fasting. This is a very very good sign for Jax. :)

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top