Java +7 is 148 - no longer freaked

Status
Not open for further replies.

javasfambam

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124092

Hi guys - Java has dropped to 148, his lowest number ever, and I'm a little worried about giving him his morning shot in 4 hours......... He has been on a big slide down over the past 18 hours!

I will obviously test before shot, but how to I make the decision to shoot or not? Tom will be home all day, but sleeping after working late, ready to test at +4

nailbite_smile supposed to be sleeping but freaked out a tad!

Charlene
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

Take a deep breath! First, 148 is a good number and might be his nadir. You have 4 hours for him to climb back up. Max has gone from 85 at +7 to the high 200's in that amount of time and often climbs 100-150 points in the last few hours. We need to see where Java is at +11 and again at pmps so try and get back to sleep and post the numbers for advice, okay?
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

Thank you!!!

Nervous bean syndrome? :oops:

I'll to back to sleep and post at amps -

C
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

This is nothing. Wait until you see a 69 at AMPS and it's 10 minutes to shot time. It will happen!! :smile: Nervous times, yes, but these are all good!!
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

Yeah - the thought of green is dread inducing at the moment!! I predict ill freak out, call in sick And not let him out of my sight!
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

What did you decide to do? You didn't record anything on the ss. Please post when you have a chance or at least update your ss.
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im a little freaked!

Hi Charlene - when a cat gets into normal numbers (50-120) that's the range where their pancreas can heal and begin producing insulin again. Ideally, especially with a newly diagnosed cat, the cat might be able to go off of insulin and become diet-controlled.

Are you hoping to get Java into remission? If so, we can coach you on what he needs. The sooner a cat gets into normal numbers, the better the chances are for that to happen. If people wait too long, thinking about it, the pancreas can be damaged by the high blood sugar and the chances are reduced. I'm not pressuring you, but if you don't know the whole picture, you can't make informed decisions. Some people just want to maintain their cat safely on insulin rather than work towards remission.

I'd encourage you to download and read the pdf about 5 paragraphs down on the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky that is called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins." It's research-based and the basis of the protocol we're using here. Even if it's difficult to read, try to muddle through it and then ask questions.

and welcome to Lantus Land! :-D
 
Re: Java +7 is 148 and im no longer freaked!

Hi Julie and Tiffmax (im sorry, im not sure of your name!)

I had spreadsheet problems this morning then people things at work :)

What I didn't have was Java dramas! Tiff - as you predicted, Java climbed at his +11 to 360 then to 435 at PMPS. Ill create a new condo for today's numbers which are also on his sheet.

Nice to meet you Julie - our goal is absolutely remission for Java, and if he doesn't head in that direction, tight control to giving him the best chance at a healthy senior hood. We are testing and increasing based on the Tight Regulation protocol, struggling with ketone testing. He.will.not.pee anywhere but outside and if we watch he holds on,or gets up and walks away. Its a battle of wills. We will keep going with the suggestions that are on here.

I freaked out last nite as I saw a massive slide from blacks to blues and just really wondered where it would stop!

A question I do have out of the past 3 days, is increase to dose. Im thinking based on the protocol, i should hold for another 6-10 cycles to see how the 2.75 sits after his black patch. Basically work out if its new dose wonkiness or big bounces? What are your thoughts on that.

C
 
The protocol says
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You've got 6 cycles at 2.75 and lots of testing data. I don't think you've missed any hidden lows. Nice to see that 148 in there last night! That tells you the dose is getting closer to a "right" amount. I think i'd hold this dose for 4 more cycles (total of 10) and if Java doesn't get into green numbers by then, increase by 0.25u.

It helps to know that non-diabetic cats run anywhere from about 40 on up. We use the 40's to take action because you want a margin of safety when you're giving insulin. But as long as you're monitoring, he'll be safe. When you've had some experience with bringing up low numbers (under 50) by using carbs, you'll feel more in control and less freaked out. You'll be able to "steer" Java's numbers using carbs. It is daunting when you're starting, but it'll become routine for you before long. :-D
 
Are there ever occasions where you don't shoot - example, if Tom and I are both away for the day, and he has a low AMPS, we wouldn't shoot as we cant monitor?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top