LunaArt
Member Since 2017
Hi!
In the first few weeks after Jasper was diagnosed in early November, I worked closely with my vet to try to determine the best dose for him. She has been great. She asked me to text her day and night with the results of Jasper’s glucose readings during those first few weeks and we would decide what to dose him at each cycle. She takes the low and slow approach, although we jumped from 1 unit to 2 units pretty quickly.
After getting some data and also based on the fact that Jasper has not been eating very well at times, my vet came up with the following protocol a couple of weeks or so ago: =>250=2u; 170-249=1u; 100-169=.5u; <100=n/s. That has worked pretty well but now I have questions about it.
At the same time, I started to transition Jasper over to Young Again dry food supplementing with as much wet food as he would eat. I had been feeding Jasper mostly wet in the early days because I had no dry that wouldn’t send his sugars sky high. As expected, he started refusing to eat his wet food and I had to watch him like a hawk to keep him from eating my other cat’s kibble (sometimes unsuccessfully).
But the Young Again food seems to have him inching closer to remission (knock on wood). I am now trying to transition him from Natural Balance premium wet foods (5-10% carbs per the Food Chart) to Tiki Cat (0% carbs) in hopes that it will help send him in to remission. He’s been eating Natural Balance wet food in addition to dry food for years so I don’t know if I will be successful, but I am trying it out.
Anyway, my main question I have today is could you look at Jasper’s spreadsheet and let me know if you think I am dosing him correctly? Two nights ago, his PMPS was 137 so I dosed him with a skinny .5 unit. He dropped low very quickly and I brought him back up slowly by giving him a higher carb (17%) wet food. Since then, he had a PMPS of 112 last night and I did not dose him at all. I fed him a Tiki Cat Velvet Mousse for the first time last night therefore I tested him often. He reached a high of 143. Do you think I should have given him a very small dose of like .25 unit last night after the PMPS of 112? Or, do you think I have been doing the right thing?
Sorry for the long post!
In the first few weeks after Jasper was diagnosed in early November, I worked closely with my vet to try to determine the best dose for him. She has been great. She asked me to text her day and night with the results of Jasper’s glucose readings during those first few weeks and we would decide what to dose him at each cycle. She takes the low and slow approach, although we jumped from 1 unit to 2 units pretty quickly.
After getting some data and also based on the fact that Jasper has not been eating very well at times, my vet came up with the following protocol a couple of weeks or so ago: =>250=2u; 170-249=1u; 100-169=.5u; <100=n/s. That has worked pretty well but now I have questions about it.
At the same time, I started to transition Jasper over to Young Again dry food supplementing with as much wet food as he would eat. I had been feeding Jasper mostly wet in the early days because I had no dry that wouldn’t send his sugars sky high. As expected, he started refusing to eat his wet food and I had to watch him like a hawk to keep him from eating my other cat’s kibble (sometimes unsuccessfully).
But the Young Again food seems to have him inching closer to remission (knock on wood). I am now trying to transition him from Natural Balance premium wet foods (5-10% carbs per the Food Chart) to Tiki Cat (0% carbs) in hopes that it will help send him in to remission. He’s been eating Natural Balance wet food in addition to dry food for years so I don’t know if I will be successful, but I am trying it out.
Anyway, my main question I have today is could you look at Jasper’s spreadsheet and let me know if you think I am dosing him correctly? Two nights ago, his PMPS was 137 so I dosed him with a skinny .5 unit. He dropped low very quickly and I brought him back up slowly by giving him a higher carb (17%) wet food. Since then, he had a PMPS of 112 last night and I did not dose him at all. I fed him a Tiki Cat Velvet Mousse for the first time last night therefore I tested him often. He reached a high of 143. Do you think I should have given him a very small dose of like .25 unit last night after the PMPS of 112? Or, do you think I have been doing the right thing?
Sorry for the long post!
Last edited:


