Jasper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bsmelly01

Member Since 2014
Hi All, I am completely new to this so bear with me and I apologise if I am doing this wrong. Jasper got diagnosed a year ago He is 11 years old. He got put on caninsulin 1 unit twice a day and it gradually increased to 5 units twice a day but we have managed to get it down to 1 to 2 units depending on his level. I finally accomplished the testing his bloods after a lot of hard work and tears. I did this after he nearly died from a hypo and ended up in the vets over night very very close to dying so had to do it and touch wood he has not had any episode since. I am in Scotland and have managed to get him off the dry food gradually and now he eats Felix fish selection. Have a look at his sheet, any info would be greatly appreciated. I think I attached it right? https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
 
Good job setting up the spreadsheet! I can see it just fine.

One thing to know is that doses are adjusted based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post shot. As Caninsulin is a mixture of 2 different duration insulins, it actually has 2 nadirs which you may or may not see. You'll want to get some tests around +3 to +4 hours post-shot and some around +5 to +6 hours post-shot. Using a human meter, you want that to stay above 50 mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.

See my signature link Glucometer Notes for some info on what the tests may mean.

What are you feeding? We recommend a low carb canned food. Bozita may be available in your are if you look for it.

If you go to your 1st post and edit the subject to add UK on it, you'll get some folks more familiar with what is available locally/regionally.
 
Great job getting Jasper off dry food. I am one of those that believe that dry food is so unhealthy for felines. I removed it from my house cold turkey. My kitties survived.

Kudos also for testing and for setting up a spreadsheet. I don't know anything about Caninsulin but there will be others here who can advise you

Welcome Melany and Jasper
 
It'll help if you add some details to your signature. These help us give you better feedback.

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet.
Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city and state,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter - put it in BOLD if it is an AlphaTrak
any other pertinent issues like food issues, allergies, IBD, etc.
 
Thanks guys, have done my signature so think I did it ok. I will attempt to take more readings as you suggested but it is difficult, I work 2 jobs as does my husband and we have 3 kids (one of them a 2 year old) so life is difficult, I don't get a day off work I work 7 days a week. Will try take a holiday from both jobs to do it. Jasper will only eat Felix fish selection in jelly. He is so fussy with his food but have managed to get him to stay on that and no dry food at all :)
 
Hey Melany! Glad to see you made it over here. How are things going with you and Jasper? For your spreadsheet, you entered the "World" values on the US spreadsheet. If you remove them from the US tab and switch to the World tab and enter them there instead, it should automatically do the math on the US spreadsheet for us backwards 'Mericans. (You can also drag the World tab in front of the US tab so it's the first page that opens for you each time in the future.)
 
hi Mel,

It might be worth asking your vet if you could have a sample of the Purina DM wet to see if Jasper will eat it. Another food worth trying is Smilla from Zooplus, Angel will eat that. It's lower carb and cheaper than the Bozita. If you like I could send you a can of the kitten food to see if he likes it, the adult is more or less the same. Also have a word with your vet and see if he will put Jasper on a better insulin like Lantus.
Anything else, please ask, I've only been here since May but I've learnt a lot. x
 
Hi Mel,

Cassandra (Sweetangel) was kind enough to help me out with a sample can of Smilla kitten food and now it's all I feed Saoirse. Saoirse used to be kibble-fed and it took me a while to find a food that had the right carbs and that she liked. The Smilla Kitten with Chicken recipe is really good quality, reasonably priced, and it's the food that Saoirse has liked best since switching her to wet low carb. Her coat is in beautiful condition on it and her BG numbers are good, too. I recommend it highly.
 
Mel, I forgot to say I can send you some Purina DM too, but if he likes it it's prescription only from your vet.

Aine, so glad about Saoirse. I've noticed that Angel's coat is the best it has ever been since he's been on the Smilla and DM. It was always dryish before.

xx
 
You can get Purina DM without prescription from a variety of online pet stores and pharmacies. Animed Direct do a case of 24 cans for ÂŁ28.54 (free shipping). It works out at c. ÂŁ1.20 per 195g can (ÂŁ6.10/kg). Carbs (DMB) 6.7%.

http://www.animeddirect.co.uk/purina-ve ... g-can.html

DM has all manner of carp ingredients including carrageenan and artificial flavourings. I fed DM when I first switched Saoirse to wet food as a stop-gap till I could find better foods and I found - as is typical of some paté-style foods - it tends to oxidise very quickly as soon as the can is opened and I found it quite wasteful.

For that sort of money, you could get a premium quality, grain-free cat food such as GranataPet or Om Nom Nom from the Happy Kitty Company. The protein quality is excellent - lots of muscle meat and taurine content 1500mg/kg. For example, the GranataPet Duck and Chicken has 10.5% protein (as fed), carbs (DMB) 3.3%. Price for a 200g tin is ÂŁ1.20 (ÂŁ6.00/kg), for a 400g tin is ÂŁ2.00 (ÂŁ5.00/kg). Delivery charges go from ÂŁ3.95 and they do trial packs of their foods. For normal orders you can mix and match any combination of foods/can sizes.

Smilla does a range of really good quality grain-free, low carb foods too but looking at the kitten formula I think it has less muscle meat and more meat by-products (a perfectly OK ingredient) than the likes of GranataPet. The Smilla Kitten Chicken recipe has 11.5% protein (as fed), taurine 1500mg/kg and has <1% carbs (DMB). Sold in packs of 6 for ÂŁ3.49 (ÂŁ2.91/kg) at zooplus.co.uk. Smilla adult cat recipes are very low carb as well (c. 1-2% DMB), although they have lower protein and taurine content. The poultry pots are also sold in six-packs: 6x 200g for ÂŁ3.79 (ÂŁ3.16/kg) or 6x400g for ÂŁ4.99 (ÂŁ2.08/kg).

Hope the above is of some help to you. :smile:
 
Tip: when switching food, do so gradually - maybe 20-25% per day - to reduce the chances of GI upset.

Note: Cat Infovet Dr Lisa Pierson indicates on her web site that it is OK to add 20-25% plain meat or poultry to the food to increase the protein and reduce the fat and carb levels further.
 
Hi everyone, jasper is doing good. Will try going on and switching to the world spreadsheet, took me all my time to work out that one lol when I have a bit of time tonight or tomorrow night I will have a look. Also regarding his food, I have noticed when he is on the felix fish selection in jelly pouches his levels are better! I will look into all the suggestions for food and see how we get on, he really isn't keen on any other food but felix but am willing to give it a go. I also need to write his numbers on the sheet and update it so will do that aswell. Life is really busy at the moment so trying to fit it all in is a nightmare but I will get there. Thank you all for your feedback xxx
 
Glad he's doing well. The Felix fish in Jelly I believe is 9.7 carb so still reasonably low. But if you'd like me to send you some Smila and/or DM just pm me with your address.
I feed Angel the DM as I get it free with the insulin trial he's on. Otherwise I'd probably feed him Smila and Bozita. Unfortunately the trial only for newly diagnosed (up to 5 months) cats.
 
I don't get how to do the spreadsheet properly, I thought I put it on the world spreadsheet but apparently I haven't? can anyone help?
 
If you were entering in the US section, rather than thye world section, you'll need to take the numbers on the US sheet and divide by 18, then enter them in the world sheet.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.

After you've set that up, you can put it in your signature, along with other details that may help us give you feedback.
 
oh I had a nightmare with the spreadsheets at first!!
If you enter the uk values on the world spreadsheet, they should automatically convert for anyone looking on the usa spreadsheets. Sometimes it plays up a bit though. x
 
My phone doesn't see your spreadsheet and I thought you had entered mg/dL and needed to go back to mmol/L. If you put in mmol on the US page, the numbers won't color code the way they should.

If your meter read mmol/L and you want to get mg/dL, multiply by 18.
The US page of the spreadsheet does the math if you enter mmol/L on the World sheet.
 
The mg/dL sheet (US numbers) has a different range of numbers than the mmol/L sheet (world numbers).

For example, you have 15.1 entered as the first AMPS. In US numbers, this is considered an extremely low number and the cat would be hypo. In World numbers, this is considered a higher number over renal threshold (272). So, because you have the number entered on the US sheet, it appears green, meaning it's "below 100," which all of the mmol/L numbers would be. In reality, it should be color-coded as yellow for the BG range 11.2-16.6.

I could redo the spreadsheet for you but you have to grant me permission to edit it. If you click on "Share" in the top right corner and enter my email address (I'll PM it to you) with "Can edit" permission, I should be able to get in there and switch it around for you.
 
In order to keep all dosing information public, I hope you don't mind if I repost your question from your PM here. ;-)

Bsmelly01 said:
My vet told me if jasper tests under 11 not to shoot him. I am not sure if this is right. He tested at 10 tonight and im not sure if I should be giving him half a unit? If your not sure I will put a post up asking but u seem to know quite a lot. (I haven't given him any insulin just to be safe). Thanks Mel xxx

On the Main Health Board, our general recommendation is to not give a shot if they're under 11.1 (200). Instead, you will want to stall without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is "rising." If it is then you can either give the regular dose (if it's around 11), give a reduced dose, or skip the shot if you don't feel comfortable. Since you're using Caninsulin, I'd be hesitant to suggest giving the full dose, especially if you might not be able to monitor him later.
 
I've finished updating your spreadsheet. It seems some of the formulas got out of range on the US page so that might have been part of the problem you were having. I've updated the formula for the rest of the US sheet so you should (hopefully) not run into that problem again. Now, all you have to do is enter the numbers onto the World sheet (the first sheet that opens) and it will automatically update the US sheet (now the second sheet) and the color ranges should match up.
 
you really are a gem, thank you so so much! And thank you for the advice on his levels. I would rather not give him the shot if it is under 11, we have nearly lost him a couple of times due to hypo's so would rather not risk it. Thank you for taking the time to do this for me I really do appreciate it. Hopefully as time goes on I will get mu head around all of this and not be so confused <3
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top