jasper amps 239 +2 235 +4 171 +13.5(pmps) 90 +0.5 144 +2 127 +3 95 +4 61

Aaron and Jasper

Member Since 2018
Missed scheduled pmps and shoot. The 90 is having me a little apprehensive to shoot. Should I go ahead with it? (He's eating half a can of wellness right now)
 
With the DKA so recent, you can't skip a shot with him. Shooting late or shooting a reduced dose can act as a dose reduction but you won't see it until late in the cycle, possibly. You might not see any difference at all between shooting 2u or 1.5u.

Can you stay up and test him or no?

He could be on the way up or downif you have no tests since the 171.

I'm not a fan of reduced doses because it makes some think the numbers won't go as low but the cycle is likely to look the same whether you shoot 2u or 1.5u. Still, if you are willing to chance that the numbers might come up later in the cycle and tomorrow, you could shoot 1.5u, and test him in 30 mins to see if he's headed up or down.

Keep in mind that if his BG is up, it could be a food spike from the Wellness you gave him so don’t get too comfortable with the number unless it is much higher as it could still drop. If it’s lower when you test, you could decide what to feed to get him up before he onsets.

It’s your decision but I can't stay up to help you tonight. I have an early appt tomorrow.
 
I guess I know what I'm in for tonight, and I'll update this as I go. Will this off put his morning testing time in turn?
 
For you, and others reading, I want to explain a few things.

Normally if you get an unexpected low at shot time, we ask you to not feed, post, and we will walk you through it. Sometimes we suggest you stall without feeding or skip.

In this case, the 90 was already after a 1.5 hour stall and we usually don’t stall more than 2 hours or it makes it really hard to catch up. You can’t skip because of the DKA.

Stalling another 20-30 mins to see if he’s coming up not only puts you further behind but he could drop lower. If that happened with a different cat, we might suggest skipping at that point. Not Jasper at this point.

Since you’ve already fed him after the 90, then by just waiting 30 mins after you shoot and test him again, then you know what more to feed even though you could have a bit of a food spike. Obviously, if he’s down, you’ll need to get creative to get his BG up.

Make sense?

I guess I know what I'm in for tonight, and I'll update this as I go. Will this off put his morning testing time in turn?
You can test him at +10 and if he’s up close to 300, you could shoot early but only if you will be there to test. If you have to be at work tomorrow, it’s not a good idea to shoot two hours early no matter how high he is. If you have to work tomorrow, I wouldn’t shoot any earlier than 30 minutes.
 
Last edited:
I have to get to bed but I’m glad to see that 144 at +0.5. That could be a food spike so don’t let him fool you :)

It’s ok to take the 911 off for now but if he drops back down and you need help, just pop it back up until someone responds.

I hope you both have a safe night.
 
Can you get him to eat 1 tsp of his regular low carb food?

61 is a fine number. What you want to do by feeding 1 tsp of LC is see if it will help him stay above 50.

eta- if 30 mins have passed since the honey re test to see where he is at.
 
I didn't get to your comment until now, sorry. I appreciate you stopping in though Sandy. I like the 74, hopefully 61 was the nadir. Could those 13 points be ONLY the honey(after an hour?) Or should it be safe to assume he's on the way back up?
 
Will he eat s teaspoon of LC food? Honey will wear off quickly so you must continue to monitor. BG could go back down.

Here you will find Information on handling low numbers. Its a good idea to print a copy for quick reference in case the board is ever down.
 
Back
Top