Jasmine's Spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi!

I’m no expert, but I noticed a few things. After that 56 and no shot am on 7/12, Jasmine earned a .25 reduction if you’re following the SLGS dosing protocol, which looks to me you are...? I have a feeling she’s going lower at night and bouncing the next day because of the lower numbers at +2 after the pmps. That usually indicates she may be going even lower later that night and members here will advise you to set an alarm to test again at maybe +3 or +4 to see where she’s headed. Can you do a few more pm tests when that happens? So, she should be getting 1.25 since 7/12 and I’d adjust the dose now if I were you. Do you have 1/2 units marked syringes? It’s helpful when eye balling those 1/4 reductions or increases.

if you don’t know the difference in SLGS and TR, check out Approaches to Regulation in this link:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

TR is a bit more aggressive and it requires more testing. It also has a lower threshold for reductions, only if kitty goes under 50

hang on for more replies! :cat:
 
Hi!

I’m no expert, but I noticed a few things. After that 56 and no shot am on 7/12, Jasmine earned a .25 reduction if you’re following the SLGS dosing protocol, which looks to me you are...? I have a feeling she’s going lower at night and bouncing the next day because of the lower numbers at +2 after the pmps. That usually indicates she may be going even lower later that night and members here will advise you to set an alarm to test again at maybe +3 or +4 to see where she’s headed. Can you do a few more pm tests when that happens? So, she should be getting 1.25 since 7/12 and I’d adjust the dose now if I were you. Do you have 1/2 units marked syringes? It’s helpful when eye balling those 1/4 reductions or increases.

if you don’t know the difference in SLGS and TR, check out Approaches to Regulation in this link:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

TR is a bit more aggressive and it requires more testing. It also has a lower threshold for reductions, only if kitty goes under 50

hang on for more replies! :cat:
Thanks! I also posted in Lantus and someone there told me to increase ‍♀️. I always do a +3 before heading to bed but I should probably set an alarm for +6
 
That BG of 56 that is mentioned was 1 week ago.
So yes, a dose increase to 1.75U, based on the curve done today, is the right move to do with lantus for kitty Jasmine.

In fact, the 1.5U dose has been held a really long time, and there may be a bit of insulin resistance to break through.
In other words, Jasmine may have gotten used to those high numbers, and a dose increase can help to bring those BG levels down to a more reasonable number. Jasmine needs to see some greens at mid-cycle.

Lantus is gentler than most insulins. Might not always have a nadir at +6 either, so testing either side of that time is helpful. A +5 one cycle, a +7 another cycle. Wink's nadir was very early, around +3 to +4. ECID Every Cat is Different, so you need to test to see the response of the insulin for YOUR cat.

We don't recommend that the insulin dose be held for longer than 1 week, unless the BG levels, the nadirs, tell us the dose needs to be held for a bit longer.
Dosing protocols for Lantus are in one of the sticky threads at the top of the lantus forum. There are guidelines there, for both SLGS and TR dosing methods.

All those sticky threads in the Lantus forum are good reading for a caregiver using lantus (or levemir) for their cat.
 
That BG of 56 that is mentioned was 1 week ago.
So yes, a dose increase to 1.75U, based on the curve done today, is the right move to do with lantus for kitty Jasmine.

In fact, the 1.5U dose has been held a really long time, and there may be a bit of insulin resistance to break through.
In other words, Jasmine may have gotten used to those high numbers, and a dose increase can help to bring those BG levels down to a more reasonable number. Jasmine needs to see some greens at mid-cycle.

Lantus is gentler than most insulins. Might not always have a nadir at +6 either, so testing either side of that time is helpful. A +5 one cycle, a +7 another cycle. Wink's nadir was very early, around +3 to +4. ECID Every Cat is Different, so you need to test to see the response of the insulin for YOUR cat.

We don't recommend that the insulin dose be held for longer than 1 week, unless the BG levels, the nadirs, tell us the dose needs to be held for a bit longer.
Dosing protocols for Lantus are in one of the sticky threads at the top of the lantus forum. There are guidelines there, for both SLGS and TR dosing methods.

All those sticky threads in the Lantus forum are good reading for a caregiver using lantus (or levemir) for their cat.
Ok thank you so much for clarifying. I will increase in the morning. I feel her nadir is off. I will begin testing at different times. I feel bad poking her so much though. How often do you recommend testing?
 
That BG of 56 that is mentioned was 1 week ago.
So yes, a dose increase to 1.75U, based on the curve done today, is the right move to do with lantus for kitty Jasmine.

In fact, the 1.5U dose has been held a really long time, and there may be a bit of insulin resistance to break through.
In other words, Jasmine may have gotten used to those high numbers, and a dose increase can help to bring those BG levels down to a more reasonable number. Jasmine needs to see some greens at mid-cycle.

Lantus is gentler than most insulins. Might not always have a nadir at +6 either, so testing either side of that time is helpful. A +5 one cycle, a +7 another cycle. Wink's nadir was very early, around +3 to +4. ECID Every Cat is Different, so you need to test to see the response of the insulin for YOUR cat.

We don't recommend that the insulin dose be held for longer than 1 week, unless the BG levels, the nadirs, tell us the dose needs to be held for a bit longer.
Dosing protocols for Lantus are in one of the sticky threads at the top of the lantus forum. There are guidelines there, for both SLGS and TR dosing methods.

All those sticky threads in the Lantus forum are good reading for a caregiver using lantus (or levemir) for their cat.
Thank you for clarifying!
 
How often do you recommend testing?
Always the pre-shot tests. Always, so you know that Jasmine's BG levels are high enough to give the insulin, without needing to stall. (Stalling is waiting to feed after the pre-shot test, no food, and retesting in about 20 minutes.)

Then you test in and around the nadir time, to find that nadir.
Some early in the cycle tests (to find the onset for YOUR cat), some late in the cycle tests (to find the duration for YOUR cat). Mix it up a bit.

Not the same time every single cycle. But you are trying to fill in the "Books" on the bookshelf (tests at different times during the cycle) between the "Bookends" (the pre-shot tests). So choose a few different times when you are able to get a test and try for those times. A regular "before bed time" test is always a good one to get.

I will begin testing at different times. I feel bad poking her so much though.
Bribes, are you using bribes at testing time? Many people give some kind of food treat, like freeze dried chicken, but any pure protein treat is good. Something your cat likes. Treats can be food, or brushing, or play time after. Doesn't have to be food.

Are you using triple (or double ) antibiotic ointment with pain relief after the pokes? To help sooth the ears, and rememberIng to hold the poke spot for 30 seconds or so, to stop the blood from pooling and causing a bruise?

Sing. Singing can calm you and that makes your cat calmer. Doesn't matter if you can carry a tune, I sure can't!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top