Jasmine

Status
Not open for further replies.
The most important thing at the moment is to make sure Jazz has recovered from DKA and has no ketones in the urine and is getting enough insulin, food and fluids.
She is eating and drinking well, that’s good. We need to get those high BSL down.
Go with the 0.5units tonight but if the BSL is still high in the morning I think you should consider upping the dose to 1 unit ( as long as you can monitor the BSL) and giving her higher carb food to stop her dropping too low....until the syringes arrive and you can give the 0.75 units.
Hopefully Kris will come back with her opinion by then.....it is night time for her now.
 
Last edited:
Bron, thank you so much for all your support!!!

I’m so worried I’ll just screw it’s all up. Ugh.

I’m hoping the syringes arrive tomorrow! I will need to order more strips too as I’m using them up at a fast rate with all this testing. Lol. I should be able to afford a few packs of them this week though so that’ll make it easier. I haven’t even begun to pay the vet bill off yet though! Sigh. I hope she begins to regulate soon, it’s so worrying after the DKA! My vet never even mentioned anything about watching out for it again either. Ugh.

Trying to keep positive and remember it’s a marathon and we will get there.
 
Bron, thank you so much for all your support!!!

I’m so worried I’ll just screw it’s all up. Ugh.

I’m hoping the syringes arrive tomorrow! I will need to order more strips too as I’m using them up at a fast rate with all this testing. Lol. I should be able to afford a few packs of them this week though so that’ll make it easier. I haven’t even begun to pay the vet bill off yet though! Sigh. I hope she begins to regulate soon, it’s so worrying after the DKA! My vet never even mentioned anything about watching out for it again either. Ugh.

Trying to keep positive and remember it’s a marathon and we will get there.
You are not screwing it up. So don't worry about that!
The first few weeks are always hard and stressful with just plain FD.......and when DKA is thrown into the picture......it becomes more important to ensure Jazz is eating well, drinking well and getting enough insulin..... if you had the Ketostix and were testing each day we would know where we were with the ketones......but until they arrive we just don't know.....hopefully when you test there will be none.
But in saying all that, Jazz seems to be doing pretty well with eating and drinking and that is really good. Often when cats have had DKA they find it hard to eat and it can be a struggle to get them to eat much initially.
Hopefully tomorrow you will be able to increase the insulin.
While she is running in the reds, there is no need to test so often and use up all your strips.
Every 4 hours should be fine testing until she starts dropping, then you could test a bit more often..
I'm sorry your vet has not been much help. He doesn't seem to know a lot about FD...
You are doing a really good job nursing her back to health and dealing with the FD and three little kids.....no mean feat!
 
So she has been sitting beside her food bowl for the past half hour begging for her dinner but I’ve made her wait for a good fasting BGL, and it was nearly the same as her lowest earlier in the day?? Still red, but not hugely high.

She she had the DKA she was definitely not eating so the fact she’s eating and asking for more etc is keeping me going for now. Even being a wee bit quieter today, she’s still eating decently. Every day she is eating more; she’s had a can and a half today and it’s just her PM shot dinner now so she will eat more before the evening is over I’m sure. When she first came home a week ago it wasn’t a full can a day.

I did realise earlier when I was priming the pen (ugh, such a waste!) that I have possibly not been holding the needle in her for long enough?? It squirts pretty quick but then seems to drip for a good few seconds after, and often Jazz was flinching and I would shoot and withdraw fairly quickly like the vet showed us. Not sure how much it needs?? But tonight I held it in her for a count to ten after I fired it anyway (she was hungry still, so staying still to eat. Haha) so maybe that’s enough to make a difference??

My vet has definitely been a bit “sub par” really. Although she did reply to my email and was mostly supportive in me home testing and monitoring via the spreadsheet (which she did think was a good idea!) so she’s not entirely useless hopefully. I think just ignorant like many vets are?? But hopefully over time we can work together with her and she will learn more too and become a great vet for FD clients!

Anyway, Jazz has had her dinner and then her shot and she’s gone back to her bed. And now I need to get these hyped up kids to bed!!! Lol. Why do warm summer evenings make them start buzzing before bed?? Sigh.
 
My opinion is you should go to 1 u again and be prepared to monitor. The recent DKA is still a spectre and those high numbers put her at risk.

You'll likely have to rely on your own learning and people here to get Jasmine's BG under control. It doesn't mean you can't use your vet for everything else. if you like here. It's very unlikely she'll ever learn as much about treating FD as you will and vets in general try to keep it simple for their clients. Most don't want to do what we do here and some opt to have a kitty euthanized after an FD diagnosis.

I hope you get those syringes ASAP! :)
 
I’m way more worried about going up a dose than down! Especially in a half unit jump.
She is eating right now and it’s only 1hr 15 mins until her AM shot is due cos my timing was crappy this morning.
 
I did one unit. I hope it was the right thing to do!!! Ugh. Her level was quite high but it had only been 1.25 hours since she ate too so wasn’t the best reading.

I am sure that one unit won’t bring her tooooo low (hypo), but it might drop her down and cause a bounce again, is that right? I’m home all day today anyway so can monitor her. I’ll order some more strips today too as my pay comes in tomorrow and will cover it. I have plenty but they are running out quite fast!

Should I be feeding her a higher carb food today to offset the insulin? Or just her regular pate and monitor and only feed higher carbs if her levels drop too much? How much?

Hoping the syringes arrive today and hoping she doesn’t drop too low today so I can do 0.8 tonight!
 
I did one unit. I hope it was the right thing to do!!! Ugh. Her level was quite high but it had only been 1.25 hours since she ate too so wasn’t the best reading.

I am sure that one unit won’t bring her tooooo low (hypo), but it might drop her down and cause a bounce again, is that right? I’m home all day today anyway so can monitor her. I’ll order some more strips today too as my pay comes in tomorrow and will cover it. I have plenty but they are running out quite fast!

Should I be feeding her a higher carb food today to offset the insulin? Or just her regular pate and monitor and only feed higher carbs if her levels drop too much? How much?

Hoping the syringes arrive today and hoping she doesn’t drop too low today so I can do 0.8 tonight!
Good so far. I suggest you try to get a few tests later in this cycle to compare with what she did on 26 Jan.
 
I’m glad I upped it now. I found a vomit that she must have done overnight, which shows she definitely wasn’t feeling good. I wish I had the ketosticks already! I’m worried for her. But she is MUCH perkier this morning than she was yesterday so hopefully it’ll all be ok. I will test later in the cycle and see how it goes. I’ve ordered a few more boxes of strips too, but now I’m paranoid they might take longer to come because I’m using a different (cheaper) supplier.
 
I always found ordering strips from anyone online, eBay, was very reliable.
I’m glad you think she seems better today. Is she eating well?
With the higher carb food, the idea is to try and keep her high enough so you can shoot tonight. So wait and see how the BSL goes.
When are you next testing?
 
We’ve had family over for lunch today so I tested her at +6 but never came in here to report. But it was rising again so haven’t been following her too closely and will do another test in another hour or so. It doesn’t look as though she’s dropped too far.

She is still eating well. She’s had about 3/4 of a can so far and it’s early afternoon now so will finish this can later this afternoon and will open a new one too I expect.
 
Aaaand even higher still. Sigh. I’m so confused. The syringes haven’t arrived today. Nor has the ketosticks. It’s so hard to know if I’m doing the right thing or not!
 
M! Thank you!!! :kiss:

I forgot to lift her food up two hours ago and I came in to the room and realised she was just getting in to her food, about 30 mins before her PMPS was due.... whoops! Out of interest, I tested her BGL alright then and there; 28.3!! Yikes! Ah well, I figured I’d just leave her to it then and do her PMPS as usual in a half hour.

So her PMPS was a non-fasting one of 25.2 and she got 1U again.
 
I checked the tracking on the syringes (not from M, the others I bought) and they would have arrived yesterday except they got misdirected to many hours away apparently. Ugh! So they’re on their way still.

But anyway, she was high again this morning so shot 1U again. She was in good spirits this morning though! Loudly demanding her breakfast, stalking around as if we all owe her our regards; just like a good cat should. So that’s hopeful. Haha
 
I didn’t do any mid cycle tests yesterday at all. I was feeling just a bit overwhelmed by everything and so I just did the bare minimum of testing before the shot. She sat high both times.

This morning, surprise surprise, she’s low. She has bounced. She hardly ate overnight (if at all? There was still a full dish!) but I guess it doesn’t matter much coz I can’t shoot her with a reading that low anyway!!!

But! My syringes arrived this morning as I was testing her BGL! So I can now do a different dose!!!!

So because I am using U40 insulin and the syringes are U100, the easy conversions to make put it at 0.8u or 0.6u (rather than .75 and .5) so I am guessing 0.8 is my best bet right now with her bouncing on 1U?
 
I didn’t do any mid cycle tests yesterday at all. I was feeling just a bit overwhelmed by everything and so I just did the bare minimum of testing before the shot. She sat high both times.

This morning, surprise surprise, she’s low. She has bounced. She hardly ate overnight (if at all? There was still a full dish!) but I guess it doesn’t matter much coz I can’t shoot her with a reading that low anyway!!!

But! My syringes arrived this morning as I was testing her BGL! So I can now do a different dose!!!!

So because I am using U40 insulin and the syringes are U100, the easy conversions to make put it at 0.8u or 0.6u (rather than .75 and .5) so I am guessing 0.8 is my best bet right now with her bouncing on 1U?
Yes, try that 0.8 u dose. Put the U40s far away somewhere. ;)
 
We have a vet appointment this afternoon. I wasn’t sure about making one as I don’t want to be berated over changing her dose around but dammit, I KNOW why I changed her dose and she’s my cat! So I made the appointment anyway.

I will talk to them about lantus too. My vet wanted us to try out caninsulin for a good month first, so we might stick it out, but also it’s evident she is bouncing on it pretty massively so lantus would potentially be a whole lot better for her... I will talk to them anyway.
 
Hopefully your vet will learn from you and looking at the SS that changing the dose was the only way to keep Jazz safe. Yes, she’s your cat!!

If you change to Lantus you will be able to shoot lower numbers than you can now because the onset is later and the drop normally is not so fast. If Jazz was my cat I would not wait a month to swap to Lantus.
While you are at the vet, can you ask them to test the urine for ketones if yours have not arrived yet.? Collect a urine specimen to take with you if you can.

Sorry you were feeling overwhelmed yesterday. Just know you are doing a great job looking after her. It does get easier. :bighug:

Let us know how the vet visit goes.
 
That’s a good idea to try catching urine before we go and getting the vets to test it, except we leave in a half hour and we don’t have a litter tray setup for her still so it’s really unlikely she will pee in the next half hour.... whoops!

I will have a really good chat about lantus to the vet. I am feeling like it would just be better to switch rather than waiting as well but I’m also terrible at confrontation so I am not sure how I will go face to face!! But she shows such big bounces that hopefully I can use that to help my case for the longer action lantus. That’s a good point about being able to shoot at a lower number too! And also her ability to be at a low figure after the caninsulin wears off is a good sign of her pancreas doing something too right? And maybe with the gentler affect of lantus it will help her stabilise even more.

I will let you know how we go anyway. We are just grabbing lunch then will go.
 
That’s a good idea to try catching urine before we go and getting the vets to test it, except we leave in a half hour and we don’t have a litter tray setup for her still so it’s really unlikely she will pee in the next half hour.... whoops!

I will have a really good chat about lantus to the vet. I am feeling like it would just be better to switch rather than waiting as well but I’m also terrible at confrontation so I am not sure how I will go face to face!! But she shows such big bounces that hopefully I can use that to help my case for the longer action lantus. That’s a good point about being able to shoot at a lower number too! And also her ability to be at a low figure after the caninsulin wears off is a good sign of her pancreas doing something too right? And maybe with the gentler affect of lantus it will help her stabilise even more.

I will let you know how we go anyway. We are just grabbing lunch then will go.
Deep breaths and remember Jazz is your cat and you pay the bills!
 
Ugh! Like I am totally confident in what we are doing. I know it’s right. I just HATE having to justify myself.

The vets were good in the end though. They’re not entirely happy with me changing her dosage around as much as I have, they keep saying how it needs time to steady out and we aren’t trying to get perfect numbers right away (I know! I’m not trying for perfect numbers. She was bouncing hugely on higher dosage and then she was declining outwardly on lower doses) and they did pretty much agree with that but you could just tell they didn’t really like it though. They want me to ring them and chat about changing any dosage and just consulting them too so they are also part of it. Fair enough I suppose, though I’m not sure that I will.

I didn’t go in to lantus. I get a bit of anxiety in this sorta situation and unless a really easy opportunity comes up to discuss it, I struggle to just bring it up. And there was zero easy opportunity that arose. I am good at just smiling and nodding to please people! Ugh.

Anyway! Another vet came in and she is the chronic disease specialist for cats. She was really happy with me doing BGL at home. She was not happy with me changing things up but whatever. She wants a steady level kept for five days and see how she goes before reassessing. She is happy with the plan of 0.8u with syringes for the next wee bit, and IF she shows signs of declining again then they want to know and have her come in and can check her for ketones if I can’t. Not to just change things again. And to go see them again next week and see what things are like.

So for now I am in agreement with that. We will just see how she responds to 0.8u!

Phew! I need to de stress after that. Lol.
 
Glad you made it through the vet visit OK.:)
Didn't they realise that the dose was changed around because of her numbers? And the fact she is just post DKA?
Of course it is better to not chop and change the dose, but you have to respond to the numbers and have the DKA in mind.
With Lantus, it is much better to not swap as much with the numbers because it is a depot insulin and not sticking to the same dose can mess with the depot, but even then you have to respond to the BSLs.
Caninsulin is an 'in out' insulin so I don't think that matters as much swapping the dose.....is that right? @Kris & Teasel

I think the difference is we are more proactive with preventing things such as ketones in the cats and the vets are more reactive. ie they will deal with it when it happens.
At least they are happy you are testing the BSLs.

:banghead::banghead: Ok I'll get off my soap box!:rolleyes:
Have a cup of coffee and a chocolate :D
 
Yeah I am a wee bit frustrated with them but I’m useless in confrontation and will basically just smile and nod and appease them.

They did basically agree with the reasoning why we changed her dosage about, I think they just don’t like not having the control.... that I changed it up without talking to them! I think they’re worried that I am just going to keep chopping and changing all over the place going day by day and just not helping anything settle down.

Thinking about it more since being there, I think that they have different ideas of caninsulin? She talked about keeping it steady doses so that the cats body sorta gets used to that insulin coming in regularly and not being so resistant to it (?) and she talked about the nadir of it being later than I had thought (she did acknowledge that she had a very fast nadir at first but that that should move out) so I do wonder about their knowledge with caninsulin in cats...

I sorta have to keep them on side so feel like I have to go carefully and not rock the boat for them too much!
 
Yes I understand how you feel.
Once Jazz gets settled and you are following a protocol you can show them what you are doing with the dosing and I’m sure they will be satisfied with that.
Up until now you have had to deal with not having the syringes, or the Ketostix and trying to find a dose that you can shoot both times a day... all with keeping DKA in mind.
Hopefully they will work with you as part of team Jazz
 
*boing*
She bouncing.

Hoping its leftover rebound from the 1U.... we will see over the next few days. I hate this.
 
*boing*
She bouncing.

Hoping its leftover rebound from the 1U.... we will see over the next few days. I hate this.
She had a big drop from PMPS last night to + 2 which was certainily big and fast enough to make her bounce. She probably dropped further than the 11.5 as well. That was almost 240 (12) point drop in 2 hours. When you have a drop that fast so early you need to test again until she starts to rise up to make sure she is safe. Don’t just leave it until the next Preshot.
Once she comes off the bounce, if you can test at +1 to see if she’s dropping, you could then give her some higher carb food (if she is dropping) to try and stop the fast drop and get her down more gently.
This is the problem with faster acting insulins... the fast drop, then the bounce especially if you have a bouncy cat. I think she would do much better on Lantus.
Maybe @Kris & Teasel has some other ideas to try and stop this cycle of fast drop and bounce. Dropping that much so quickly is too much.
 
I suggest you keep the 0.8 u dose for another few cycles unless she drops too low or you have a lower PS. That's to see if she'll settle. She's a volatile kitty and consistency is key. Having said that, Caninsulin and a volatile kitty is a less than ideal combination. I agree that Lantus would likely be better.
 
Yeah, it is looking like caninsulin is just a terrible choice for her. I knew that was gonna bounce when I got that reading last night. I feel bad I didn’t monitor her more now as I realise I shouldn’t assume that was close to nadir and it wasn’t going to drop much more!!
I will trial it for a few more days over the weekend and see how we go, but I think I will just have to put my big girl pants on and push for a change to lantus next week. The vets really want to keep going on it for a month to build a proper picture or something, but I really am not sure why right now when it’s so fast acting.

I need to read up more on how the different insulin work. Why is caninsulin so fast and hard vs lantus long and slow? I want to figure it out more so that I can say the right things to my vets and bring them onside with me. I cannot just buy insulin over the counter here, it HAS to be through the vets, so I can’t do it without them!

On the bright side, this morning the lovely Ms syringes with half units have arrived, AND my ketosticks finally!!!
Still haven’t figured out my best method for urine collection, but will sort that.
96BC6C10-AADF-4D7C-AB3B-CAA6EB22AF46.jpeg
 
That’s great the syringes and the Ketostix have arrived. Let us know when you have managed to test for ketones.

That's a good idea to read up on caninsulin and Lantus insulin so you can argue your case for changing.
There is lots of information here on the forum.
Some cats can do ok on caninsulin. It is a shorter and faster acting insulin than Lantus so the drop is earlier in the cycle and often harsher and the cat is back up in higher numbers by the end of the cycle. In Jazz's case she is dropping very fast and hard and then she bounces up very high. The continual bouncing must be making her feel lousy I would think.
Lantus is a slower acting depot insulin.....it's onset is around +2....that is when you normally see the BSL start to drop, and it will continue to drop for several hours (every cat is different, so the nadir is at different times for different cats) but often around +6 or +7 and then it slowly climbs and by the next shot it hopefully will still be in better numbers because the insulin lasts for around 12 hours. And you will be able to shoot lower numbers eventually with the Lantus which is a real advantage and lead to being able to stay in lower numbers.
I would write what you want to say to the vet in point form so you don't forget anything.
You can say you have tried the caninsulin but are not happy with Jazz's volatile response to it and you would like to swap over to Lantus today..
The worst thing they can do is say no....... then you ask them why....are they happy to leave Jazz bouncing from high to low numbers
And while you are there at the vets, think of us standing behind you supporting you in your case.:)
 
Last edited:
Bouncing bouncing.
Right now I know I need to drop her dose. Actually I know she needs a change of insulin. But also right now Jazz is acting pretty decent so I am toeing the line with the vets and seeing where it leads. Tomorrow is Monday, I am working all day but I will put a message through to my vets about at least doing a dosage change anyway. I’m thinking 0.6? Wednesday they want to see us again and I am psyching myself up to really push for an insulin change then.

Of interest, she dropped nearly 6 whole points this evening, two hours after eating and almost definitely when she had no more caninsulin in her system. Her pancreas is still trying isn’t it? I know she’s still very much diabetic and definitely needs insulin support, but dropping after food without insulin is a good sign isn’t it?
 
Why do you think you need to reduce the dose?
Did you do any tests between AMPS and +10 today or after + 3 last night when she has quite a drop from PMPS ?
Without the in between tests we don’t really know if she is bouncing or just staying high these last couple of days.
Have you managed to get a ketone urine test yet?
It is not good she is staying so high after DKA. Please try and get some in between tests especially after she drops after the insulin. :)
 
Well that’s true I don’t know that she’s bouncing, I was only assuming by the low within a few hours and then the highs again by morning. But I shouldn’t assume without more info.

I cannot test more during the day tomorrow as I’m at work all day. I can test during the day on Tuesday though. I can’t really test much more at night either.

And no I haven’t done ketones yet as it turns out the litter tray we had tucked away is so old it’s cracked and broken so I need to buy a new one. It’s always something!! Ugh.
 
Can you get a few more tests in tonight mostly in the first half of the cycle unless she is dropping low in the second half. Try and get tests early on and if she is dropping fast give her some higher carb food to slow the drop. Many of us set the alarm and get up during the night. I know it sounds daunting but it isn’t really and it gives us vital info of her cycles.
Try and get the ketone test done as soon as You can as we don’t really know if she has ketones or not.
I was surprised really that the vet didn’t test for them when you were there.
I know you are really busy with a young family and it must be hard at times getting everything done but you are really doing a good job looking after her. We just need to get Jazz sorted into better numbers.:bighug:
 
Yeah, alarms to get up at night sounds like my sort of hell with already waking to kids all night! I only work one and a half days a week though, so I can do daytime readings tomorrow after I’ve worked today. I will get a litter tray tomorrow too. Right now I’m also going by her demeanour and she is pretty good. I know her numbers need in better control too of course.

I’m away for the weekend this coming weekend too (leave Friday, home Sunday) so hubby will be doing her checks and shots then and I’m slightly worried about that. He will be fine, but he doesn’t have great patience so I hope it goes ok.
 
I am very concerned with Jazz’s high BSLs over the last few days. Also that she is weeing a lot more. Please try and get a urine sample ASAP so we can see if the ketones have gone. Also a lot more BSLs in between the shots. We really need to see if she needs more insulin and the only way is to see those in between BSLs.
Is she eating ok and how does she seem in herself?
When you get up during the night to the kids can you test then?
 
I don’t get up to my kids at night; if I got up then I would test. Like when I had the head cold and was getting up at night I tested overnight then. I am woken at night by then, but I don’t get up.

She drank a lot all at once last night at one point, but then I haven’t seen her at the water bowl since so I am not sure what that was about. She is eating regularly. Not heaps, but quite frequently (hourly?). She is meowing lots and stalking about like usual, not at all lethargic and quiet like she gets when she’s feeling worse. I have no idea if she’s peeing more??? We don’t have a litter tray yet, I thought we did but it was old and broken. Today I am getting her a new one. I will also be getting regular tests through the day today too. She’s due for her AMPS and shot soon. I forgot to lift her food though so she not long ate!

I don’t like how high her levels are sitting at either. But I’m also watching Jazz act pretty good so I am somewhat following the vets instructions and seeing how it goes. I sorta want to toe the line with them and see where it gets us (as long as Jazz is seeming to be doing ok!)

AMPS in about a half hour.
 
Yeah, I think it’s surely a safe assumption now that she’s bouncing and not just sitting high... although the nadir is dragging out later than it used to. But if she goes all the way back up to what she has been then that’s some biiiiig bounces she’s doing every day. Poor kitty.

So the 0.8u dose is better than the 1U dose in that she comes back up again in time for the next dose. But it’s still causing bouncing. 0.6u is the next easiest dose to try if going lower (that’s drawing 1.5 on the U100 syringes).

She is currently locked in the spare room with a new litter tray, so here’s hoping she doesn’t hold out for too long before peeing! But being used to going outside, I’m not sure if she will go happily in a litter tray in a hurry or try to hold on for ages. We will see anyway. She has food and water and a comfy bed and her litter tray. I’ll be checking on her regularly too, but I have to try keep the kids out of there as well so can’t really hang out with her at all.
 
Yeah, I think it’s surely a safe assumption now that she’s bouncing and not just sitting high... although the nadir is dragging out later than it used to. But if she goes all the way back up to what she has been then that’s some biiiiig bounces she’s doing every day. Poor kitty.

So the 0.8u dose is better than the 1U dose in that she comes back up again in time for the next dose. But it’s still causing bouncing. 0.6u is the next easiest dose to try if going lower (that’s drawing 1.5 on the U100 syringes).

She is currently locked in the spare room with a new litter tray, so here’s hoping she doesn’t hold out for too long before peeing! But being used to going outside, I’m not sure if she will go happily in a litter tray in a hurry or try to hold on for ages. We will see anyway. She has food and water and a comfy bed and her litter tray. I’ll be checking on her regularly too, but I have to try keep the kids out of there as well so can’t really hang out with her at all.
That’s great testing today and shows us she is bouncing not staying high. She is dropping fast and big drops, so what you need to do is try and slow her down by giving her some higher carb food at say +1and +3 to try and slow down the numbers.
On Lantus the fast drop is not as likely as it is a slower, longer lasting insulin. There is your main strong point to present to the vets. Going up and down in those numbers is no good at all for her.
Unless she drops much lower I don’t think you should drop the dose. That will just keep her in higher numbers. You need to control the drop so she doesn’t drop as fast, until you can swap to Lantus. But let’s see what @Kris & Teasel thinks.
Well done today!
 
Last edited:
Ok that sounds like an idea then. I’ll get her more higher carb foods too, to switch about.

I tested her again just now and it’s on the rise again finally; much better nadir point than earlier on. It’ll be interesting to see how fast it goes up.

Still waiting for her to pee. Haha.
 
The idea of ‘feeding the curve’ is to try and control the drop so hopefully she won’t drop as fast and won’t bounce as high. She may not drop as low as today when doing this but over a period of days the idea is to gradually get her numbers overall down to better numbers. Does that make sense?
 
Yeah that totally makes sense. I don’t have much higher carb food on hand so not sure if I can feed the curve tonight unless I give her the dry food we have sitting there and I’m not sure she would even want it! We’ve found she definitely prefers soupy food and gets yeowly if her food has dried up from soupy. Haha!

Also, she was getting pretty upset at being locked inside so I risked it and let her out, following along behind her with a large lid I grabbed.... within 30 seconds she jumped under the trees and peed right beside me and I easily just caught it. Haha! Absolutely totally negative, not even slightly towards trace.
 
Great news on the negative ketones.
No, I wouldn’t give the dry food. It takes longer than wet food to be absorbed anyway.
Can hubby pick some up on the way home from work?

You should always have some higher carb food on hand in case she drops low.
 
No, hubby is home. I might pop out and get some once I get the baby to sleep... it just needs to be a gravy type food right?

I’ve found another brand of food here that seems halfway decent going by the ingredients list. I can’t get the carb details when I emailed them, but I’m sure it must be low in the pates at least.
 
No, hubby is home. I might pop out and get some once I get the baby to sleep... it just needs to be a gravy type food right?

I’ve found another brand of food here that seems halfway decent going by the ingredients list. I can’t get the carb details when I emailed them, but I’m sure it must be low in the pates at least.
Look for rice or potato starch, gravy or similar, in the ingredients for higher carb
 
I just grabbed a gravy friskies. She thinks it’s AMAZING. Lol!! She was sleeping and wasn’t overly inclined to get out of bed, but I cracked open the gravy friskies tin and wafted it at her, and she was scrambling up yeowling at me that she needed that food right NOW thankyouverymuch. And promptly licked all gravy up before devouring the meat lumps too. Haha!

I realise I maybe should have kept it for the +1 stage rather than when she got her shot? But that’s what I did so we will roll with it anyway. She can have that gravy food this evening until bed time (about +3) and then I’ll leave her soupy pate out for the rest of the night, does that sound ok? And tomorrow she can have it at around +1 and +3 then back to pate again??
 
So when I went to the vet last Friday, I saw a different vet to the one I had seen, and then after chatting for a bit she went away and ANOTHER vet came in. This last vet said she was the chronic disease specialist here and that she would be on my case now (just that she had been away and wasn’t technically back yet but I caught her there apparently!) I didn’t chat to her for long but she seemed to have some more knowledge than the others anyway. Wasn’t just making general statements!

Fast forward to tonight; the newest vet rings me and has a wee chat.ast week she had wanted to see Jazz again tomorrow, except she’s realised it’s a public holiday here tomorrow so that won’t happen and actually she probably doesn’t need to see her anyway if she can keep in touch with me and I’m doing her numbers. YAY! She wants to compare my monitor to theirs so she can feel confident going forwards using my numbers, but that’s fine by me. She gave me her email address and I sent her Jasmines link (I had sent it to the first vet before) and also ended up blabbing on about our current plan of higher carb food soon after the shot, and why. And that the human meters read approx 30% lower on average but that the curve they produce is still accurate against their own base level but that I’m actually also really interested to see what the difference is in person anyway etc etc. I also broached changing to lantus.

Anyway! Pending how she replies, I am feeling hopeful that she will work WITH me and this night all go forwards positively.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top