Jasmine

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yeah she will be fine I know, I’m just so new to it all it feels scary to change things up. But I know she will be fine. It has come down since small jump just now (a bit over +1) and she ate heaps too, for her, and is back for more food now so that makes me feel better her appetite is going strong now. She’s not ravenous, so I’m not worried there. Just eating really well finally.
 
I was able to get home a bit earlier so have got a +3 in. It’s nicely down from the AMPS so let’s see what the rest of the day brings. If she follows the same pattern as she had before, her +4 will be higher and she will have already hit nadir and need her PM shot. But it is what will happen after then, on the reduced shot, that will be telling. Two shots in a row before was then sending her to a consistent low level, so it’ll be really interesting what it does on a slightly lower dose!
 
Lantus and glargine are the same insulin. @PussCatPrince - GA

My bad use of English. @Bron and Sheba I meant I used lanctus not caninsulin so not familiar with caninsulin dosing etc.

It is nerve racking to start with @flyingduster but you're doing just fine.

Kris and the others know this stuff inside out and upside down over years. I just have 10 months but still know reasonably.

Everyone will be here.
 
Yay! It’s still going down. Nicely, not in a big drop like it did at 1.5U. Just reducing down gently still even at +4! It hit nadir at +3 the last couple of times so I’m so happy it’s hitting in slower this time. Yeah it’s still a high reading but I am happy it isn’t a big drop like it was as that surely can’t have been a good thing and probably was causing the bouncing?
 
Yellow! Wow, it’s still going down! Woohoo! A longer slower hit is so much better. It was quite a drop this time but it was also over an hour cos I have been sorting lunch and forgot to get it done right on 12:30! *oops*

She’s eating well, I add water to the food too so I know she’s getting lots of moisture. And she even trotted up to me this afternoon; I realise I haven’t seen her get faster than a walk for a while now so the trotting was lovely to see!
 
Yellow! Wow, it’s still going down! Woohoo! A longer slower hit is so much better. It was quite a drop this time but it was also over an hour cos I have been sorting lunch and forgot to get it done right on 12:30! *oops*

She’s eating well, I add water to the food too so I know she’s getting lots of moisture. And she even trotted up to me this afternoon; I realise I haven’t seen her get faster than a walk for a while now so the trotting was lovely to see!
Now that's a nice slow drop.
 
Check it out now!!! Four yellows in a row as it levels off around the nadir!!! I’m so happy. Yeah yellow is still higher than I want her levelling off at, but level at yellow has GOT to be better than bouncing from green to red!!??

I’m hoping it stays sorta around this state and allows for another dose this evening, and from there it will potentially bring her down to a really nice level overnight without it being a big bounce.
 
Lol, I was just looking at the clock and my chart and trying to figure out why my timing was off, and I realise what I *thought* was +3 was me just putting it in there without actually checking because I’d been out. It was actually done at +4, so all my readings needed to move along one spot in the chart! Duh!

But anyway, now I just did the +10 and it’s still going down!!!!??? Now I am worried about giving her an evening shot. Argh! Hopefully in the next two hours it’ll rise up again, even if just by a little bit, so I know it has stopped going down.....
 
+11 has it even lower. Which is great it has come down. But now it looks VERY unlikely she will be high enough to dose tonight. I will keep tracking and see how it goes I guess. Sigh
 
+11 has it even lower. Which is great it has come down. But now it looks VERY unlikely she will be high enough to dose tonight. I will keep tracking and see how it goes I guess. Sigh

It's looking like you might have to skip, but wait and see what +12 is..
See what @Kris & Teasel says but you might need to drop the dose down to 0.75 unit (3/4 unit) each dose to be able to shoot both AMPS and PMPS..
 
I cannot do 0.75 yet as I don’t have syringes yet. It has to be half measures for now.

I’m pushing her +12 out by a wee bit in the hopes it might possibly be higher again... I don’t mind if her dose time has to move out later, it has come in earlier than I’d like it to be ideally due to all the weird things her BGL are doing!
 
I cannot do 0.75 yet as I don’t have syringes yet. It has to be half measures for now.

I’m pushing her +12 out by a wee bit in the hopes it might possibly be higher again... I don’t mind if her dose time has to move out later, it has come in earlier than I’d like it to be ideally due to all the weird things her BGL are doing!
What time were you thinking of testing for the PMPS?
 
I just did it now (12.5 hours since her AM shot) and it’s lower still. Down to 8.7 now.

Like, it has done a lovely sloooooow drop this time so we are on to something, but for being a supposedly fast acting insulin it seems to keep bringing her down for a long time! Lol.

I will keep monitoring her through the evening, it’s only 7pm so can do another couple of tests before I go to bed, and I can get up and do another before I go to sleep too.

I’m curious as to when it will stop going down and head back up again!!
 
So for AMPS tomorrow morning I think you will need to drop the dose again to be able to shoot each 12 hours. It is a shame you don't have any syringes yet to be able to do 0.75 units.
How is Jazz eating now?
Did your Ketostix arrive yet?
If you changed over to glargine (Lantus) you would be able to shoot a lower number sooner as the onset is not as quick as the fast acting insulins.
 
The ketostix haven’t arrived but Jazz is eating at least one can of friskies a day it seems (the 156g/5.5oz ones).

Just did another test and it’s almost the same as an hour ago so it might be steadying now?

With any luck because it’s been such a slow drop it might be a slow rise too and she won’t be too high by morning and dropping to a half unit will just top it off nicely.... I know it would be better to refine by quarter units though, and that lantus would probably be better too, but I’m working with what I have for now.
 
The ketostix haven’t arrived but Jazz is eating at least one can of friskies a day it seems (the 156g/5.5oz ones).

Just did another test and it’s almost the same as an hour ago so it might be steadying now?

With any luck because it’s been such a slow drop it might be a slow rise too and she won’t be too high by morning and dropping to a half unit will just top it off nicely.... I know it would be better to refine by quarter units though, and that lantus would probably be better too, but I’m working with what I have for now.
Yes you are doing a great job with what you have.. I just hesitate to suggest dropping the dose only because of the DKA but it is really important to be giving the insulin twice a day not once, so I think as long as she is eating well and seems ok it should be ok to drop backto 0.5 units.
 
Yeah it’s a bit of a rock and a hard place right! Drop by a whole half a unit and risk it just not being enough or keep it up at this level and only be able to do once a day! Ugh. It’s a tricky balance. I would be happier to do 0.75 too. I’ll be seeking syringes next week!!! And also talking to my vet about lantus.
 
Another test and it’s similar but slightly lower still. I’m just going to go to bed. It’s not dropping lots, she still has a decent buffer and she hasn’t had any insulin for over 15 hours now so I’m not worried about a hypo. She has food out. I’ll try test in the night too if I get the chance otherwise we will see what the morning brings!

Thank you all!!! I appreciate all of this support so much!!!

Amy & Jazz
 
Another test and it’s similar but slightly lower still. I’m just going to go to bed. It’s not dropping lots, she still has a decent buffer and she hasn’t had any insulin for over 15 hours now so I’m not worried about a hypo. She has food out. I’ll try test in the night too if I get the chance otherwise we will see what the morning brings!

Thank you all!!! I appreciate all of this support so much!!!

Amy & Jazz
Ok. See you tomorrow.
 
That was an interesting run of blue! I'd try 0.5 u today because some insulin AM and PM is better than missing a shot. :)
That WAS an interesting run wasn’t it! Nice line of yellow and then blue. But now it’s 3am she’s bounced back up to red of course. Poor kitty. She’s having a feed now so I’m waiting until she’s finished then will put the lid back on it to get a fasting number for the AMPS. I realised I never did withhold food for her PMPS yesterday but I guess with the trend she was having it didn’t matter anyway! Let’s see what another few hours does and then what 0.5u does.
 
So here we go! AMPS was high, she was quite hungry and demanding food as it had been more like 3 hours since she’d eaten. She has eaten a heap.

I gave her a half unit of insulin.

I have a few hours where I can track her but then I’m going to be out until about her +7 or +8 sorta time. So it will be hard to track if she hits a nadir in that time and is coming back up, but we will see anyway.

I sorta feel hopeful though, that despite the bouncing, her pancreas might be trying real hard too? Cos if caninsulin is known to only last up to 12 hours and yet her levels still dropped beyond 15 hours then just maaaaybe her pancreas is working in there too. And if we can get her on a more stable level then her pancreas can help keep it there too. I dunno, we will see.
 
I was able to stop at home and her levels are sitting high but not as high as AMPS, so I’m ok with it. I won’t be home again until closer to her PM shot so it will be interesting to see how it is then.
 
Yay, a high enough level to shoot tonight! Lol. I’m not sure if that should be celebrated to have a high level, but hey, I’m going to celebrate whatever I can!

So it was 22.7, which is a red number but a low red. It’s lower than her AMPS too so hopefully it might just level out more with this lower dose. Let’s see what the evening and morning brings for her and with any luck her AMPS tomorrow will be even lower, but still at a “shootable” level. I’m working tomorrow so won’t be home at all to test during the day.
 
Yep, loud and purring and eating ok still; a whole can a day mostly.
It is still sitting high in the pinks and dropped a little then came up a little so who knows what it’s doing!?? I will go to bed soon but will get up to do another test and see which way it’s going.

I have been exploring the likes of the dosage rulers for use with syringes that I can get much easier here rather than trying to source the half measure syringes from halfway around the world. So might get a case of syringes ordered next week to be able to do finer adjustments and 1/4 unit increments.
 
I think those pinks and reds are inflated numbers fro rebound after the blues. I'd give 0.5 u again AM and PM.

Re dosage rulers for syringes: they can vary from brand to brand. If you can only find syringes with whole unit marks you can make a set of reference syringes using coloured water. Make up one with your best estimate of what 0.25 of a unit looks like. Make a second syringe for the 0.5 u fraction and a third for 0.75 u. Keep these coloured water reference syringes as your guide when you're eyeballing these fractions for insulin.
 
Yeah I was looking at dosage rulers for the brand of syringe I can get, but the idea of reference syringes is good too!

She got 0.5 again this morning. I am happier giving her a low dose consistently and able to give it twice a day, for a while than having those big bounces and being so unknown. She’s in the red again this morning and I didn’t test her at all overnight. I also can’t be sure when she last ate, however her bowl was clean and she was demanding food as if it had been a while too! Lol.

I’m working today so can get a couple of follow ups but then will be away all day. My hubby will be home so he could potentially try testing her but I’m not too worried about it today. I’ll be home tonight and all day tomorrow.
 
That a big drop from AMPS to +2. I’d try and get another test in before you go. If it’s still dropping see if your hubby can get a couple of tests in.
He can give food to help slow the drop if needed
 
I have been exploring the likes of the dosage rulers for use with syringes that I can get much easier here rather than trying to source the half measure syringes from halfway around the world. So might get a case of syringes ordered next week to be able to do finer adjustments and 1/4 unit increments.

I did say I would send you some to tide you over. However I need a mailing address for that.
Yup. Unfortunately the demi's have to come from overseas which is a pain in the bum but not more or less hard than buying stuff online within NZ to be honest. They arrive quickly once ordered and paid for.
 
That a big drop from AMPS to +2. I’d try and get another test in before you go. If it’s still dropping see if your hubby can get a couple of tests in.
He can give food to help slow the drop if needed
That +2 was right as I was about to leave and the latest I could leave it! She had food in her bowl still and hubby has been told to feed her whenever she’s hungry too.
 
I did say I would send you some to tide you over. However I need a mailing address for that.
Yup. Unfortunately the demi's have to come from overseas which is a pain in the bum but not more or less hard than buying stuff online within NZ to be honest. They arrive quickly once ordered and paid for.
I’ve sent you a message with my address! Thank you so much.
 
Oh man, I totally missed an hour somehow and didn’t get the PMPS and her PM shot in until 13 hours after the AM one. Oops!!! Ugh. Thankfully the new time IS actually the time I had wanted to move it to, I was just going to do it far more gradually!!! This is why I wanted to move it, because around 6-7 is just a busy time of the evening with three young kids!!! So now it’s 7:30, and I can do 7:30am easily too so it’ll be fine.

On the plus side, her levels only row by 0.3 in three hours (not two, as the chart shows...) so that’s not a big swing anywhere really.

I’m home tomorrow so will do more tests through the day and get a better picture of what the reduced dose is doing for her.
 
Interesting find this morning. Due to accidentally moving her shot time to a later time, when I got up this morning I was able to give her some breakfast and test her nearly two hours before her AM shot was due. It was a high 29! I gave her breakfast, then covered it up once she was done.

Now, it was then about 1 hour and 45-50 mins later that I tested her for her AMPS, so not *quite* two hours fasting, but that was just the timing we had. Her levels have dropped to 26.8.... that’s a good sign right? That less than two hours after food her levels have dropped? Especially with the shorter acting caninsulin?

Anyway, have done her AM shot of a half unit again and I am home today so will track her more.
 
Time to eyeball a dose of 0.75 u for tomorrow AM. Try to get a test in the +4 to +6 range if you can.
Can’t do a quarter unit difference yet! Might be another week before I can get syringes sent here.

I will get tests today and see how she is going, she’s nearly ready for the +2 now.
 
Oh! And you know what I just remembered. The syringes (that I don’t have yet) are of course going to be for U100, and caninsulin of course is U40, which actually makes small doses in the U100syringes quite easy as I only have to eyeball to a half unit rather than a quarter. It will mean my dosages will be 0.6 and 0.8 rather than 0.5 or 0.75 but if I’m very consistent then that will be fine, right?

I will just get some local syringes that don’t have half measures because then they should be here sooner. And because I cannot afford a lot at once right now so cannot bulk buy to save shipping costs!
 
Syringes (without half measures) have been ordered and paid for. They should arrive this week.
Ketostix will hopefully be here this week too.
Later in the week when my pay comes through I will order more testing strips too as I only ordered the one box last week and I can see I’ll need plenty more. Haha.

Slightly worried about Jazz today. Her levels are still high. She’s a bit quieter than usual again too. But I’m not too worried yet because she is still eating well; almost finished a whole can already today and it’s not even midday. I’m also adding plenty of water to it, especially as it’s very hot here today. I’m not sure if she’s just feeling hot and that’s affecting the levels and her mood? Or if the levels being high are the culprit. I will keep close tabs on her regardless.
 
When will the Ketostix arrive.?
We really need to see if she has any ketones in her urine as soon as we can.
I don’t know. I hoped they’d be here yesterday. Maybe today? I am still not sure how well I’ll be able to collect her urine yet either as she can really only be locked in overnight. I hope she will pee in the litter tray and not just hold on...
 
She does need an increase in insulin looking at the SS.
With the urine collection can you shut her in the bathroom with the LB during the day? Maybe put some plastic over the litter to collect some urine.
 
Ugh. Today’s numbers are just not good. All red and rising now. So frustrating and worrying!! She did perk up more outwardly about a half hour ago; ate and talked to me, had a wash and a roll around in the dirt. She’s gone back off to her bed now where I did her +8.

The syringes are on the courier now so with any luck they’ll arrive tomorrow, but it might be the day after. I’m worried about keeping her on a low dose for more days if she keeps up this high but what else can I do?
 
@Kris & Teasel what do you think about the dose?
If Amy had some higher carb food to feed Jazz throughout the cycle and could test frequently, what do you think about raising the dose to 1 unit bd until the syringes arrive?.
I am concerned about ketones developing again
 
Last edited:
My vet said they didn’t have any syringes on hand and would have to order some in too.

I am worried about upping it again and all this flip flopping causing issues too. Ugh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top