Janie PMPS 519, 1u, 283 at +2 -- good? bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I posted in your Health Condo too.. the +2 should be similar to the preshot #.. this is good because 293 is a lot lower, but it is a big drop. No worries.. read the information here & others will along with great advice.. a sample curve should look like this:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
that's a pretty sharp drop. 45% in two hours. it may level off (usually higher pre-shots see sharper drops), but after yesterday's experience, let's not push it. have you fed her? if not, i'd give her a little something now. how is her appetite? you'll need to pace the feeding, it's early in cycle.

do you have any high-carb canned food at home?
 
Kris -

You didn't need to open a second condo. We try to keep it to one condo, per cat, per day. I suspect that LL is a lot bigger than when you were first here. You can change the subject line to reflect new test info, ask for help, etc. by going to your first condo of the day. There is an "edit" button above the content box on the right. Click on the button and you can then edit the subject line or text.

That's a big, fast drop. I would want to get a +3 and/or +4 to see where this is going and how fast Janie wants to get there.
 
Hiya, honey! Was just thinking of you yesterday while looking at some gorgeous tulips.

I'm a little nervous now - will check her again in 15 mins at +3. I do have some high-carb FF, karo and other assorted emergency-like things. she's eating well - will give her some after the +3 check.
 
oooh tulips :) i hear you can eat them :razz:

you can feed low-carb for now, save the high-carb for later.

don't be nervous, you have high-carb ff, you're in control. what flavours? we like 18% calories from carbs, like the ff grilled chicken feast and grilled turkey feast.
 
i have the grilled turkey and the ocean whitefish. and CVS is 5 mins away, open 24 hours.

geeze, now there are condos here. i remember when it was open meadows. :D
 
Kris & Jane said:
i have the grilled turkey and the ocean whitefish. and CVS is 5 mins away, open 24 hours.

grilled turkey is good. i only see two ocean whitefish, both low-carb. Flaked Salmon & Ocean Whitefish Feast is 5% calories from carbs, and Ocean Whitefish and Tuna Feast is 3% calories from carbs.

hope you have more than one can of grilled turkey, otherwise you may have to send frank-fred to CVS :razz:

geeze, now there are condos here. i remember when it was open meadows. :D
i do too. i feel ..... old .....
 
50% drop in an hr. the drop's not slowing, kris, it looks like it's actually picking up. i'd feed if i were you.

did her vet say why she thinks janie's back on insulin? (i missed that in all the excitement). if you have even the faintest suspicion her pancreas is working, i'd go to high-carb now (not much, just a tsp), but if you want to try just low-carb to see if you can level her off, you do have a little wiggle room.
 
I have OCean Whitefish & Tuna in Gravy (Grilled) -- and I can't find Janet's food charts on the new site. I'm somuddled -- is that high-carb? Or am I off to CVS?
 
i'm not even seeing straight -- classic turkey & giblets. i'm gonna make a list off the chart (thank you!) and run over to cvs before this gets scarier. thank you, wonderful gal.
 
wondering if you should feed her before you go, even if it's a tsp of low-carb. in case you get delayed at store, is anyone home to keep an eye on her?
 
gave her a little before i left - now armed with 9 Lives tender slices with real chicken in gravy -- and will retest her now, as it's +4.
Go to bed, my friend. We'll be OK.
 
hey there, i'm up and about for a couple hours so will watch your condo tonight.

fwiw, did everyone here see kris' threads the last few days over in health and general health? janie is hyperT and it's a bit out of control right now. stupid ER vet put her on 2.5u vetsulin over the weekend and we had an interesting night on health last night 'cause of it.

i'm betting if the hyperT gets under control janie's visit to LL will be short :)
 
boy, i hope so, but i'm not banking on it, cindy.

will test her again in 20 mins - that will bring us to +5. i figure if she;s rising by +7, we oughta be ok - your thoughts?
 
136 at +5, after high carb wet

she chowed on some 9-lives sliced chicken and she's up a bit. will wake and test her again in an hour. she's getting real mad at me.
 
and 125 at +7.

put out some more food -- can't keep feeding her commercial foods. it's back to pooding. remember that?

deliriously tired - will test her AMPS.

goodnight, if anyone else is still up!
 
here we go again. looks as though she may be a .5 dose kitty do not think I would give more than that for AMPS and depending on number, maybe even .25. think cindy is right, once HT regulated, she may be off insulin. remember I said she could be a little sensitive after the hypo??
you're becoming an old pro at this!!. guess the new meter is working quite well. nothing like a break in period. you go girl
 
you won't believe her AMPS

Guess what we had for breakfast? Not insulin!

I tested her at +12, and that little muffinhead was 65! RIght smack in her normal honeymoon neighborhood!

Maybe that was a $100 injection last night! Lest I jinx it....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top