Jan 30th | Moose | +8.5 = 76 (held shot this AM), +10 = 102, PMPS = 122, +2 = 85, +4 = 43, +4.5 = 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moose (GA) & Rae

Member Since 2017
Good morning, kitties & beans! How are you all this morning? It's a bit snowy out here in MD.

Link to yesterday's post.
Moose is doing well this morning, as hungry as ever (but when is he not hungry?! :woot:)

Due to stalling Moose's shot on Sunday, I ran into the issue of having to go to work before shot time came this morning (I have gotten his shot time back to 10am EST as I have been moving it back 30 minutes a day.) But I leave for work at 8am...so I felt it was best to skip the AM shot. Was that the right call?

Also, can I move it back to its regular time this evening (7pm) since he did not get it this AM, or should I keep moving it in 15 minute increments per shot? (30 min a day).

Hope that you all have a great Tuesday, and stay safe if you are dealing with inclement weather in your area! :D Hugs to all kitties & beans! :bighug:
 
Question for anyone who is available to answer...I have been a bit "test happy" the last week and a half since Moose's trip to the ER (and his few drops into lime green)...Anyway, I was planning to spot test him when I get home from work (in an hour or so). But is it necessary? When there is no shot, I assume that they don't need to be tested as often during that cycle (or at all...with maybe the exception of a PS...) Should I just test his PMPS?

Thank you in advance! :bighug:
 
You can do a spot check if you want, it's all more data! Plus, if he's still hanging out in the blue-green zone :), it would be nice to know if he's heading upwards or just holding steady at pre-shot time, it might influence your shoot decision.

But I don't think it's 100% necessary, so if you want to give his ears a break and/or save strips for possible testing tonight ;), that would be fine.
 
You can do a spot check if you want, it's all more data! Plus, if he's still hanging out in the blue-green zone :), it would be nice to know if he's heading upwards or just holding steady at pre-shot time, it might influence your shoot decision.

But I don't think it's 100% necessary, so if you want to give his ears a break and/or save strips for possible testing tonight ;), that would be fine.
Thank you thank you! I admit, I am curious to see if he's still blue/green as well without having a shot today...what's one more strip? ;)

Thanks again, you are awesome!
:bighug:
 
Glad I checked, 102! I'm pretty impressed by the number considering the NS this morning. I considered rechecking just in case, but Moose gets very antsy when I delay his dinner for even a few minutes :rolleyes:
 
As long as you're able to monitor tonight and have plenty of supplies, I think that was a good call. Moose is looking really good!
 
Hey Rae, give an update when you can. I'm just now seeing that he dropped to 43! He really wanted that reduction after a skipped shot in the AM.
 
Sorry all did not mean to keep you in suspense. AMPS is 57...yikes...me thinks no shot this morning.

Feeding more HC...will check again in 30 minutes before I have to leave for work...
 
Well well Moose!

When you aren't shooting insulin , there's no need to give HC food with a 57 since it is not below 50. Just his regular food should bring him up some more. He is on a mission!

ETA: The transition to all wet food on 1. 24 is responsible for this plunge in numbers.
 
Well well Moose!

When you aren't shooting insulin , there's no need to give HC food with a 57 since it is not below 50. Just his regular food should bring him up some more. He is on a mission!

ETA: The transition to all wet food on 1. 24 is responsible for this plunge in numbers.
Ok thank you! Still freaking out when I see those low numbers, especially because I had to leave for work and couldn’t keep testing. I will keep that in mind for next time so that I don’t use up all my HC food when I don’t need to :)
 
HA! I can picture it! Just reading backwards on Moose's adventure. I am new to his case. He could be the poster kitty for feeding all wet LC food! This is so exciting! And HI! Nan! Good to see you. :cat:
It is very exciting! I so wish I would have been strict with the transition to LC food previously, I just couldn't bare to see him vomit after every meal...I'm so glad that his tummy is happy with the LC food now :joyful:

& nice to meet you Bobbie, fellow eastcoaster! Bubba is a real handsome guy.
 
no need to give HC food with a 57 since it is not below 50.
Just want to touch on this again. I think I keep getting confused about when to give LC, MC, HC and tend to "overreact" and just give MC or HC right off the bat if I see a low(ish) number.

If below 50, then yes to giving HC? Or is MC sufficient? If above 50, just give LC?

I thought I had read and reread the rules about this, but I can't seem to find the post.
 
Just want to touch on this again. I think I keep getting confused about when to give LC, MC, HC and tend to "overreact" and just give MC or HC right off the bat if I see a low(ish) number.

If below 50, then yes to giving HC? Or is MC sufficient? If above 50, just give LC?

I thought I had read and reread the rules about this, but I can't seem to find the post.
Also I'm assuming that since he was on hour 12 of the PM shot, he would likely be on his way back up as the PM shot wore off (and an AM shot wasn't given)
 
Just want to touch on this again. I think I keep getting confused about when to give LC, MC, HC and tend to "overreact" and just give MC or HC right off the bat if I see a low(ish) number.

If below 50, then yes to giving HC? Or is MC sufficient? If above 50, just give LC?

I thought I had read and reread the rules about this, but I can't seem to find the post.
It's an ECID kind of thing and when in the cycle the lower number occurs. Each kitty reacts to different levels of carbs differently ; some are very sensitive while others can tolerate more. If the below 50 occurs right out of the gate ( right after shot) I would give HC food as you have a long time with that dose. . If it occurs mid cycle ( and is just under 50) and your kitty nadirs mid-cycle and is going to start going upwards from that point, I might try MC first and retest in 30 minutes and see what the MC did. You can always give more or if it did nothing, try a tsp of the gravy off the HC food. If the MC did the trick and brought him up over 50 by 10 points or more, let your meter be your guide from that point forward. Maybe from that point a little LC to keep him surfing till the end of the cycle.

You will get more confident with your carb choices as each situation presents itself to you. I liked to put the food and carb count in the cell with numbers under 50 so I could look back and see what the carb choice did to the numbers. It will help you the next time.
 
It's an ECID kind of thing and when in the cycle the lower number occurs. Each kitty reacts to different levels of carbs differently ; some are very sensitive while others can tolerate more. If the below 50 occurs right out of the gate ( right after shot) I would give HC food as you have a long time with that dose. . If it occurs mid cycle ( and is just under 50) and your kitty nadirs mid-cycle and is going to start going upwards from that point, I might try MC first and retest in 30 minutes and see what the MC did. You can always give more or if it did nothing, try a tsp of the gravy off the HC food. If the MC did the trick and brought him up over 50 by 10 points or more, let your meter be your guide from that point forward. Maybe from that point a little LC to keep him surfing till the end of the cycle.

You will get more confident with your carb choices as each situation presents itself to you. I liked to put the food and carb count in the cell with numbers under 50 so I could look back and see what the carb choice did to the numbers. It will help you the next time.
Thank you!!! That is a great idea about adding food + carb count in the cell next to the low numbers so that I know what effect it had on his numbers. I will definitely be doing that from now on. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top