Jan 14 Spice +10.5 417 shoud i give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tajana340

Active Member
Hello everyone spiceys stats

1-12-10
Pmps 521 - 1 unit pzi vet 9pm
+ 4 - 317

1-13-10
Amps 298- 1 unit pzi vet 8 am
+10 - 198
Pmps 229 - .5 unit pzi vet 8:30 pm
+2 - 399
+4 342

1-14-10
Amps 486 - 1 unit pzi vet 8:30 am
+10.5 - 417

Her Pmps test will be in an hour but i am wandering should i give her insulin now and how much or wait until the pmps #
 
David,


I agree with the 1u dose seeing as how the .5u dose did not keep the numbers down where they should be.

Which syringes are you using? Are they u40, or U100? It will say on the package.

~M
 
tajana340 said:
I am using the u40 syringes and yes i saw that the .5 u did not keep her #s down.

You might consider getting some u100 syringes with half-unit markings on them. They are very useful for "tweaking" doses. u40 doses can easily be converted to u100 syringes. Here is a link to the conversion chart: http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
(1 unit of u40 in a u100 syringe = draw to the 2.5u mark)

If Spice gets to where she needs less than a full unit if insulin bid, (and I am betting that she will), you can see how much easier it is to decrease the dose in the u100 syringe. It also makes it much easier to draw less than a full unit if the kitty needs a smaller dose because they are running a slightly lower number on a particular bgl check - like when she was 197, or if, maybe, she pulls something like a 220 on you.
You could then accurately give her .6, or .8 units using the correct u100 syringes. Does that make sense?

Anyway, Walmart sells Relion 3/10cc syringes with 1/2 unit marks - but you have to make certain they (the store) give you the right ones. BD also makes some, but they cost a little more than Relion syringes. Make them let you look at a package before you buy some so that you know for certain that they are 1/2 unit marked. It can't hurt to have a couple of packages of them on hand.

Here is a picture of a u100 syringe with 1/2 unit markings for comparison:
http://www.bddiabetes.com/resource.aspx?IDX=2210


~M
 
Good to know on the syringes.
Can you buy them without a prescription though or will i neeed to get one from the vet and how much approximately are the syringes if you know?
 
tajana340 said:
Good to know on the syringes.
Can you buy them without a prescription though or will i neeed to get one from the vet and how much approximately are the syringes if you know?


I honestly do not know about the AZ laws regarding syringes. Here in TX, all I do is walk in and ask for them and have no problems getting them, though when I needed to get them - I always carried Stormy's insulin with me just in case...

Prices for one package of 10 syringes was something like $2. A box of 100 syringes was about $20.
If/When you decide to order an entire box of them, and if you choose BD Ultrafine 3/10cc with 1/2 unit markings, please consider clicking the HOCKS link above, on the page, because then FDMB will get an 8% commission and that $ goes toward the running of this board :-)

~M
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top