Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154. PMPS=174. +3=188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Jake

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone.

This is my 3rd day giving Jake his insulin. I've found that he seems to be pretty sensitive to his food intake, meaning his BG numbers seem to go down significantly after he eats.
I don't think he eats much during the night...he's usually wrapped around my head...so his PM +10's are usually his highest numbers. I get his +10 between 6:15 and 6:30 am and then I
make sure he eats. By the time I do his AMPS at 8:15 am his BG number is usually down. I don't have the opportunity to do any AM testing
so I have no idea how his numbers fluctuate during the day. He seems to be holding steady at .25 u so I will most likely continue that dosage for the next few days.

He seems to be happy and feeling good. He purrs and pees A LOT, don't think his poop has changed but hard to tell with 4 cats, he is the king of preeners and he's never been very
playful but he is much less than even the little bit he used to be. He's a bit cranky about having his ears poked but I usually try to do it when he's sitting on his perch in front of an open
window. Treats follow immediately afterward.

Happy Tuesday to one and all cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154

You probably don't want to feed at +10. Some vets treat Lantus like other types of insulin and tell you that food needs to be on board before you shoot. The reason is that with other insulin, onset is much earlier than with Lantus. Lantus onset is about 2 hours after you give a shot. Since onset is later, most of us test, feed and shoot all within about 5 min.

FWIW, the drop from 186 to 154 is within meter variance. There's about a +/- 20% range with any test that is due to the meter. So, Jake was surfing very nicely from your +10 to AMPS. If you can get a curve when you have a day off, I think it will give us a better idea of what Jake's numbers look like during the day.

Also, are you leaving food out for him during the day?
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154

Sienne,

I leave food out 24/7 but I don't think jake eats during the night. He's usually pretty hungry in the mornings and will begin eating when I get up. Same when I come home at night even though I leave food out during the day.

I wasn't aware of the meter variance. How do I factor that in when looking at his numbers?

I'm very anxious to get a curve this weekend. How often should I test for a curve...every 2 or 3 hours?
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154

Hello.
A curve is every 2 hours.... a mini curve is every 3.
It's a great idea to get more data as you can.

I always prepped the syringe and got her food ready, tested her bg and put the food in front of her as I shot with her nom nom nomming her food.
So all done together.
If you feed other times but not between +10 and shot time, the number won't have the influence of food.


Hopefully Jake will figure out he's got food at night and start nibbling on it some. I had to get up and remind mine of where her food was for a while but
she's finally learned to come look for it.
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154. PMPS=174

Thanks, Rhiannon.

I plant to do a curve on Sunday.

I guess I'm going to have to set my alarm to wake Jake and point him at his food.
He's even crankier than I am when the alarm goes off but hopefully he'll forgive me
after he's enjoyed a midnight snack. :smile:
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154. PMPS=174

Welcome to Lantus Land! Jakes SS is looking pretty good.

The curve will be really helpful so we can see if Jake is getting to any green numbers. If he's not, we will want to discuss adding a bit more insulin.

Just wondering if it is possible to shoot at 6:30/6:30. That way, you could get a +2 test before you leave every day. The +2 is a great test to get, if possible. If it is much higher than the preshot,nits likely to be a quiet cycle. If its similar to the PS, it's likely to be a typical, active lantus cycle. If its much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle.

If you aren't able to change your shot time, any time at all that you can get a +10 or +11 test...in the morning, when you get home, etc, its helpful. I'd also recommend you try to get a before bed test each night.

Just a free spot checks when you are home during the week will help...then curves on the weekends.

Good job!
 
Re: Jake - 3/4 +3=105. 3/5 +10=186. AMPS=154. PMPS=174. +3=1

Thanks, Marje.

Due to my work schedule I can only do a PM +3 and +10. Unfortunately I can't get any numbers after his
AMPS. I have to shoot 8:30/8:30 so I don't run late on his PM shot. I'm hoping to get more numbers
this weekend. By then he will have been on insulin for 7 days.

I appreciate the welcome and the encouragement :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top