Jade pmps 100.. stall 25 min/ 148/ .25 unit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Do the lower numbers at pre-shoot time mean that the Pancreas is in healing mode? I shot .25 last night and am so happy to see such a nice number this morning! IF I'm starting to comprehend the invaluable info I've been given, it sounds like she's needing less because she's healing and perhaps beginning to produce her own insulin. Forgive me if I'm way off base on that!! This is the first time I've seen a lower ps # and felt good instead of pure panic. Since I skipped yesterday morning and only gave .25 last night, this # seems encouraging! OR.....now that I think about it.....should I have stalled this morning?? I got so excited that I didn't even think about that.:banghead::banghead::banghead:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...f-pmps-is-also-quite-low.197893/#post-2214548
 
Last edited:
Yes, her pancreas is starting to heal. With TR or even SLGS, that 98 was a shootable number, if you were around today to monitor. It would have been nice to keep the healing green streak continue. Of course it takes data and knowledge about your cat to feel comfortable shooting lower. You've shot 0.5 units on a 124, so try to think about how low you'd be confortable shooting. One option could have been to stall, without feeding, and test again 20-30 minutes later to see if she was coming up to a number you felt better about shooting.
 
Do the lower numbers at pre-shoot time mean that the Pancreas is in healing mode? I shot .25 last night and am so happy to see such a nice number this morning! IF I'm starting to comprehend the invaluable info I've been given, it sounds like she's needing less because she's healing and perhaps beginning to produce her own insulin. Forgive me if I'm way off base on that!! This is the first time I've seen a lower ps # and felt good instead of pure panic. Since I skipped yesterday morning and only gave .25 last night, this # seems encouraging!


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...f-pmps-is-also-quite-low.197893/#post-2214548
Yes, her pancreas is starting to heal. With TR or even SLGS, that 98 was a shootable number, if you were around today to monitor. It would have been nice to keep the healing green streak continue. Of course it takes data and knowledge about your cat to feel comfortable shooting lower. You've shot 0.5 units on a 124, so try to think about how low you'd be confortable shooting. One option could have been to stall, without feeding, and test again 20-30 minutes later to see if she was coming up to a number you felt better about shooting.
Thanks , Wendy. I’m learning as I go. I had a bunch of errands to run before work and couldn’t test like I would want to had I shot. But will next time. And am slowly getting more confidence as I learn. Thank you again for keeping an eye on us. Makes all the difference in the world!
 
Baaaaaa!!! I know! Thanks!! Fingers crossed, don’t wanna get overly excited and then jinx it! I hope the same for your sweet boy!!
I know how scary it is to shoot when you've got a green...but you're doing great!:woot::woot: Hope you can get the opportunity to do that on the days that you're off - every now and again I think Luci is also getting (dare I say it aloud) closer to the road to remission - she does silly stuff like eat chocolate candy overnight!:arghh: And then gets knocked completely off the road...but hopefully by tomorrow we'll be back into some better numbers...I'm so looking forward to the days when I can also shoot her in the high greens...and keep her surfing through those greens all day long! :D We had some of that last week..it was exhausting...but so exciting at the same time! Hang in there mama...you and Jade are doing great!!!:bighug::bighug:
 
I know how scary it is to shoot when you've got a green...but you're doing great!:woot::woot: Hope you can get the opportunity to do that on the days that you're off - every now and again I think Luci is also getting (dare I say it aloud) closer to the road to remission - she does silly stuff like eat chocolate candy overnight!:arghh: And then gets knocked completely off the road...but hopefully by tomorrow we'll be back into some better numbers...I'm so looking forward to the days when I can also shoot her in the high greens...and keep her surfing through those greens all day long! :D We had some of that last week..it was exhausting...but so exciting at the same time! Hang in there mama...you and Jade are doing great!!!:bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Sue!! I’m cautiously optimistic! And long days are becoming common. Anything for my sweet cats tho. To make sure Luci is safe, you should probably eat all the chocolate yourself ( for her benefit, of course) :smuggrin:
 
Thanks, Sue!! I’m cautiously optimistic! And long days are becoming common. Anything for my sweet cats tho. To make sure Luci is safe, you should probably eat all the chocolate yourself ( for her benefit, of course) :smuggrin:
I should have!:woot: Sheesh...all I did was miss out:arghh::arghh:...we didn't have that much...just a few pieces of mini's we'd been saving for a s'more kind of occasion...now we have no kitkats ' hisssss thanks-Luci....:(
 
I should have!:woot: Sheesh...all I did was miss out:arghh::arghh:...we didn't have that much...just a few pieces of mini's we'd been saving for a s'more kind of occasion...now we have no kitkats ' hisssss thanks-Luci....:(
Minis don’t even count! Lol! For humans, anyway.
 
Yes, her pancreas is starting to heal. With TR or even SLGS, that 98 was a shootable number, if you were around today to monitor. It would have been nice to keep the healing green streak continue. Of course it takes data and knowledge about your cat to feel comfortable shooting lower. You've shot 0.5 units on a 124, so try to think about how low you'd be confortable shooting. One option could have been to stall, without feeding, and test again 20-30 minutes later to see if she was coming up to a number you felt better about shooting.
If her amps is in the green again, is 4 hours enough time to watch, monitor and intervene with higher carb foods if necessary before leaving for work knowing she is safe? And what’s the cutoff green number for a newbie like myself?
 
Last edited:
If her amps is in the green again, is 4 hours enough time to watch, monitor and intervene with higher carb foods if necessary before leaving for work knowing she is safe? And what’s the cutoff green number for a newbie like myself?
You should look and see when she tends to hit nadir. If it's by +4, then 4 hours should be enough. It's always good to get data for situations such as this so you know how much time you need to monitor before heading out.

I think you have not chosen TR or SLGS so we cannot help. Different numbers are recommended for each for the cut off. TR is 68 and SLGS is 90.
 
You should look and see when she tends to hit nadir. If it's by +4, then 4 hours should be enough. It's always good to get data for situations such as this so you know how much time you need to monitor before heading out.

I think you have not chosen TR or SLGS so we cannot help. Different numbers are recommended for each for the cut off. TR is 68 and SLGS is 90.
Yes, I think SLGS is the way for us. I will study and study all that info when I get home. I apologize for being such a procrastinator on that. It’s very overwhelming to me. But I know it’s a must.
 
You should look and see when she tends to hit nadir. If it's by +4, then 4 hours should be enough. It's always good to get data for situations such as this so you know how much time you need to monitor before heading out.

I think you have not chosen TR or SLGS so we cannot help. Different numbers are recommended for each for the cut off. TR is 68 and SLGS is 90.
Just took a quick glance to see what it was that threw me off... are these #’s AlphaTrek or human monitor #’s? I just want to be sure as I know there’s a pretty big difference.
 
I'm wondering if it's ok to skip again? That # seems so low to shoot. I know I have to start the SLGS, but would like to do so on a day off so I can monitor her properly. Gonna test again in 20 minutes to see which way she's headed....hmmm. 10:50 was 100 and 11:20 was 148. Shot .25 and will check at +2.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top