Jade amps 146...no shot. Long night.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I will test her at +2 and again at +3.5 I plan on feeding her a bit and will leave some mid range carb food out for her if she's still low.
no need for medium carbs foods if the BG at +2 is higher than the pre-shot of 146. Just feed the reg LC foods.
If the +2 is even or lower than the pre-shot then (depending on the #) some MC food, very little just as an addition to the reg LC would be good.

The thing is not to overdo on foods and not to send her sky high with it. Esp with no shot. Using LC instead of MC/ HC will help her stay in nice range.

I have a thought...I was looking at Jade's SS and I think you may want to try to change her feeding routine a bit.
On 6/23 and 6/24 both AM cycles and 6/27 PM cycle her nadir was at +4.
6/23 Am also scored very steep drop (yellow AM preshot to Green 4 hours later). In many cats such drops trigger bouncing.
What if you try splitting Jade's brekki into two portions and feed at pre-shot and then at +2 or +3?
This way Jade will have fresh carbs on board before her possible nadir at +4 and it may help preventing large drops.
(I feed my cat little LC at preshot, then regular LC (5%) + high-ish LC (8-9% carbs) mix at +2 and mostly able to avoid Ducia's drops at +2. )
@Jill Hollister
 
no need for medium carbs foods if the BG at +2 is higher than the pre-shot of 146. Just feed the reg LC foods.
If the +2 is even or lower than the pre-shot then (depending on the #) some MC food, very little just as an addition to the reg LC would be good.

The thing is not to overdo on foods and not to send her sky high with it. Esp with no shot. Using LC instead of MC/ HC will help her stay in nice range.

I have a thought...I was looking at Jade's SS and I think you may want to try to change her feeding routine a bit.
On 6/23 and 6/24 both AM cycles and 6/27 PM cycle her nadir was at +4.
6/23 Am also scored very steep drop (yellow AM preshot to Green 4 hours later). In many cats such drops trigger bouncing.
What if you try splitting Jade's brekki into two portions and feed at pre-shot and then at +2 or +3?
This way Jade will have fresh carbs on board before her possible nadir at +4 and it may help preventing large drops.
(I feed my cat little LC at preshot, then regular LC (5%) + high-ish LC (8-9% carbs) mix at +2 and mostly able to avoid Ducia's drops at +2. )
@Jill Hollister
I've kind of been free feeding a bit as well (LC only)
 
no need for medium carbs foods if the BG at +2 is higher than the pre-shot of 146. Just feed the reg LC foods.
If the +2 is even or lower than the pre-shot then (depending on the #) some MC food, very little just as an addition to the reg LC would be good.

The thing is not to overdo on foods and not to send her sky high with it. Esp with no shot. Using LC instead of MC/ HC will help her stay in nice range.

I have a thought...I was looking at Jade's SS and I think you may want to try to change her feeding routine a bit.
On 6/23 and 6/24 both AM cycles and 6/27 PM cycle her nadir was at +4.
6/23 Am also scored very steep drop (yellow AM preshot to Green 4 hours later). In many cats such drops trigger bouncing.
What if you try splitting Jade's brekki into two portions and feed at pre-shot and then at +2 or +3?
This way Jade will have fresh carbs on board before her possible nadir at +4 and it may help preventing large drops.
(I feed my cat little LC at preshot, then regular LC (5%) + high-ish LC (8-9% carbs) mix at +2 and mostly able to avoid Ducia's drops at +2. )
@Jill Hollister
I will try that!
 
+2 is 219 ....:D I now know that this relief could very well be temporary as her pm could be very different, but I'll take t! I'll give her a bit of FF Pate before work and leave a bit out ( I have a civvy cat as well) and hope for a good pmps to start the .75 units this evening. Tomorrow if all numbers are on point, I'll go ahead and start breaking her brekkie up as recommended @Tanya and Ducia .I've said it to the point of being repetitive, but THANK YOU!!
 
And hey! I bought the Relion syringes for the .5 unit markings. Today, I asked my pharmacist about .25 unit syringes and although he said they don’t have any, he gave me these ( for free) they seem more stable then the Relion. Those seem a bit “shotty “ pun intended! Like flimsy, I guess. Perhaps if anyone else has found this to be true, ask your pharmacist about these?
 

Attachments

  • C77A87E3-0EA9-46A5-B74A-8D7256AC1782.jpeg
    C77A87E3-0EA9-46A5-B74A-8D7256AC1782.jpeg
    75 KB · Views: 78
There are lots of options for U100 syringes....finding ones you like and you can be consistent with is what matters

All these syringes have half unit markings (very important when you're doing microdosing) and are the correct syringes for U100 insulin and are available from ADW online:
UtiCare
Monoject
CarepointSure Comfort
B/D

There is no such thing as syringes with .25 unit lines.....although there are a lot of us that would LOVE it if there were!!
 
There are lots of options for U100 syringes....finding ones you like and you can be consistent with is what matters

All these syringes have half unit markings (very important when you're doing microdosing) and are the correct syringes for U100 insulin and are available from ADW online:
UtiCare
Monoject
CarepointSure Comfort
B/D

There is no such thing as syringes with .25 unit lines.....although there are a lot of us that would LOVE it if there were!!
Sadly, they won’t ship to Illinois without an Rx
 
It'll also help if you'll start doing your subject lines like most of us do. It just makes it easier to quickly scan all the posts to see how everyone is doing if you keep the subject line updated.

Like most of us use this format:

Date, Cat's name, AMPS ###, +whatever ###, +whatever ###, PMPS ###, +whatever ###

Like for China's yesterday....this was her subject line that I updated as I got new tests in:

6/27 China AMPS 92,+3 63,+6 61,+9.5 83, PMPS 76,+3 64,+5.5 62

By doing it like this, if someone is scanning the board, they can see if someone might be having a problem (especially good for new people who aren't sure what they're looking at yet....so if the experienced people happen to see something like PMPS 249, +2 108, they know just by looking at the subject line that someone is going to need some advice if they don't know what they're doing)
 
Gotcha! Well while I have you here....I'm going to test again in about 30 minutes. I'm taking your advice and I gave her .75 and will continue to do so unless I hear different. Her + 1.15 is higher than pmps. If that's still the case,I'm going to get some much needed sleep without worrying tonight, is that a safe plan? And China is so cute and teeny!!
 
And China is so cute and teeny!!

Teeny??? She's so fat it's crazy....but it's hard to tell in her current profile picture. She REALLY needs to lose some weight!!

Her + 1.15 is higher than pmps

That's the "food bump" that we usually expect in the first hour or so....her onset tends to be earlier than most (like +2 instead of +3/+4) so the next test will be more telling
 
It'll also help if you'll start doing your subject lines like most of us do. It just makes it easier to quickly scan all the posts to see how everyone is doing if you keep the subject line updated.

Like most of us use this format:

Date, Cat's name, AMPS ###, +whatever ###, +whatever ###, PMPS ###, +whatever ###

Like for China's yesterday....this was her subject line that I updated as I got new tests in:

6/27 China AMPS 92,+3 63,+6 61,+9.5 83, PMPS 76,+3 64,+5.5 62

By doing it like this, if someone is scanning the board, they can see if someone might be having a problem (especially good for new people who aren't sure what they're looking at yet....so if the experienced people happen to see something like PMPS 249, +2 108, they know just by looking at the subject line that someone is going to need some advice if they don't know what they're doing)
Well not knowing what I'm doing certainly applies to me, but I'm sure trying. You have been so wonderful.
 
Teeny??? She's so fat it's crazy....but it's hard to tell in her current profile picture. She REALLY needs to lose some weight!!



That's the "food bump" that we usually expect in the first hour or so....her onset tends to be earlier than most (like +2 instead of +3/+4) so the next test will be more telling
My girl weighs 14.2 pds! She looks like a TICK.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6797.JPG
    IMG_6797.JPG
    59.7 KB · Views: 94
I had a lot of good teachers when I was new

One of the strengths of this message board is people being willing to continue to help teach the newbies like they were helped when they were new.

Not everyone is comfortable giving dose advice and that's fine too....sometimes the best thing someone can tell a newbie is "I understand.....I was there and we did it....You can too"
 
And how do you feel about Fructosomine tests? the vet wants me to bring her in Monday for one. Already uptight about the Vet visit. Jade HATES it and I have to give her a bit of a sedative. I'm tempted to split one with her!
 
And how do you feel about Fructosomine tests?

They're useless at this point....since you're home testing, you have all the data you need

The fructosamine test is good for only one thing....at the time the cat is originally believed to be diabetic, it can tell you the average blood glucose for the past about 3 weeks BUT

An average doesn't really help much....If she "averages" 250, you have no way of knowing if she's staying in that 250 "area" all the time, or is she starting at 400, dropping to 100 and then bouncing back up to 400.

My brain is fried tonight and I have to be out with DM in 4 hours so I'll try to explain better tomorrow (unless someone else hops on to help explain the difference)

Goodnight.....Now I'm not making any sense!
 
I'm happy to hear everything is going better. Baby steps, one thing at a time. It will get easier.:)
Ravan hates going in the car & to the vet also. I really try not to take him unless it's absolutely necessary.Did you know that stress can make their Bg go way up also?

Once his Glucose was over 500 from the stress in the vets office.

(I saw your profile & wanted to tell you I'm in the Chicago area also!)
 
I'm happy to hear everything is going better. Baby steps, one thing at a time. It will get easier.:)
Ravan hates going in the car & to the vet also. I really try not to take him unless it's absolutely necessary.Did you know that stress can make their Bg go way up also?

Once his Glucose was over 500 from the stress in the vets office.

(I saw your profile & wanted to tell you I'm in the Chicago area also!)
I looked at yours last night and saw that too!!:) Hi neighbor!! You'll have to let me know if you ever come into the city....I'd love to buy you a Sangria at my restaurant! And my Vet did tell me that (raising bg from stress):rolleyes: I think I may cancel our appt for the Fructosomine test on Monday!
 
I rarely ever drive to the city but your offer is tempting. I'll let you know.

Save some money & cancel the test. Like Chris said, it's useless! As long as you're home testing you have the info you need on the SS (spreadsheet.)

Have a Great 4th of July weekend. Stay out of the heat!!:eek:
 
I rarely ever drive to the city but your offer is tempting. I'll let you know.

Save some money & cancel the test. Like Chris said, it's useless! As long as you're home testing you have the info you need on the SS (spreadsheet.)

Have a Great 4th of July weekend. Stay out of the heat!!:eek:
My Vet also has a copy of the SS....I did cancel. Happy 4th to you as well!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top