Jackson on 3.25 now

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Last Thread
I waited through the snow storm and to get my car cleared of snow before increasing his dose to 3.0 units, yesterday.
He was at 359 at PMPS last night (6:00pm) and 295 at +2 (8:00pm), and then I slept 8.5 hours solidly until +10.5 (4:30am) and woke up to my iphone with an alarm set for +5 (11:00pm) and the picture of the little alarm clock shaking, but no sound. I have pretty much, been sleeping on the couch in the living room with my iphone and alarm on the coffee table for days, and today (I wake up so tired, because I am not in my bed, but hope the alarm will wake me up, as in bed I will sleepily turn it off).
I don't know if he went lower last night..
 
Drink a large glass of water before bed time.
I will try that.
My usual habit is to get up at about 3:00am (+9 for him) to use the bathroom and drink some water, and then I have a hard time going back to sleep, and get up for work tired.

Today, I woke up on the couch at 12:30am (+6.5 for him), tested and fed a snack to the kitties, and then treated myself to the rest of the night sleeping in my wonderful bed (where I don't think I would hear any alarms). I felt like I woke up well rested this morning.
Last night, I did set my cell phone for an 11:00pm (+4) alarm on the coffee table, and also a digital plugged in alarm clock about 5 feet away for 11:00pm. When I woke up at 12:30am (+6.5) I was so happy to be able to get a mid-cycle test. The digital clock was silent and so was my cell phone. The cell phone showed a little clock bouncing around and an orange snooze bar glowing and a black bar that says to slide to turn off, but no noise.
The cell phone just rang fine for my 5:30am wake up. I'm guessing it gives up and quits trying to wake you up after so many tries...

Wishing for more nights like last night where I can get a mid-cycle test.
Will try the water trick.
 
You can also use that before bed test, and how much it is down from PMPS to figure out if you need to set a mid cycle test. Sleep while you can! Soon enough you'll get to that dose that'll need more mid cycle testing.
 
Soon enough you'll get to that dose that'll need more mid cycle testing.
Thanks. I really wanted to get a mid-cycle test last night, but alas.
I have a jury duty letter in my mail box. This is the response I will give:

I can not see to drive in the dark or in rain and am afraid to drive and it is extremely stressful for me to drive in ice or snow. There are very few Ubers where I live, and I have no friends or relatives with cars, so it is all on me.

Just to let you know, I care for my beloved diabetic cat, and I will need to leave court at lunch time to drive home to test his blood sugars. Depending if they are low, I may not be able to return to the court that day as I do not have anyone to take care of him while I'm away. I absolutely and definately will not let my cat die because of jury duty. My options are only to stay home, or bring him to court with me, or drop him off at my vet's office in Stockton NJ before returning to the court. My drive time from home to Stockton is 25 minutes. I don't know how long the drive from Stockton to the court would be.

I don't know how that will go over, but in past jury duties I always fall deeply asleep as they are so boring.......... and they dismiss me while I am asleep.
 
He needs more insulin than J.D. did, but at least he's seeing some yellow nadirs now. And no longer showing ketones, which is huge.

I did the teary "I have a diabetic cat with kidney, heart and GI disease and no one that can look after her routine" to get out of a jury duty. That and the fact I was around the same age as the mother the suspect was accused of killing got me out of it.
 
You can also use that before bed test, and how much it is down from PMPS to figure out if you need to set a mid cycle test.
I wish I had gotten up for another test on the night of 01/27.

I raised his dose this morning to what I think is 3.25. I had to practice first as it is very close to 3.5.
Hoping for no snow storms this weekend as I hate not being able to drive if there was an emergency.
Come on Jackson. Work the dose.
 
I found the turn on button for the plugged in digital clock, and it make a horrific noise like a blade being driven into ice (or a frozen head, parden my graphics), and it wakes me up enough to hear my cell phone alarm, the past two nights.

So, I've had this worry, in the back of my head.

What if this insulin that was over nighted to me at the end of December was bad or got frozen in transit (my friend was given 6 boxes of Lantus, and kept the one with the longest expiration date, and mailed it to me).

I have to drive a long way to my vet to pick up a written prescription, and then try to find a pharmacy that will honor the Lantus discount, or whatever.

Do I just give the 4 units or 5 units, or whatever he's on by then, or do I start over or less?

He had much better numbers before he started the insulin...

Advice needed, if this ever happens, and it will someday..
 
I feel like testing the insulin on myself. I feel like getting some R. Or N. (I won't, yet)
He dosen't seem to respond at all to the insulin being given.
I need patience pants, which I've never owned before.
 
Can you find a Lantus pharmacy that will honour the discount, and get the vet to "fax" or email it to them. Meaning you don't need to get out in the car and move around a piece of paper.

A cat needs however much insulin they need. ECID. Patience pants are a good idea.
 
Back
Top