AngelaMiao
Member Since 2019
Hi guys!
Jack is back on the juice after 5 years of remission. It's likely my fault because I thought I could get away with keeping him on dry food - we switched back to dry food about 3 years ago and I had convinced myself that he became diabetic due to obesity and would be okay as long as he wasn't overweight and the food was medium carb (haha, not
). I checked him every month to make sure he was still in remission but got distracted with a new baby and hadn't checked since January. Woke up one morning to an overly full litter box and noticed him rushing to get in and immediately recognized what was going on. Lo and behold, his BG was 25! 
So now here I am hoping I can get him into remission again. First time around we did the TR method for a few months, but couldn't get him to stop bouncing and switched to my own method and got him into remission within a few weeks (please don't copy my dosing - it's heavily personalized and risky) - hoping to have similar luck this time around. We did 10 days of wet food to prepare but it didn't change his numbers much (same as last time) and started the insulin on Sunday. Definitely not touching dry food ever again.
Is it usually harder to get a cat into remission the second time around? I'm assuming it would depend on whether the dry food really was the cause of him falling out of remission or something underlying.
Cheers!
Jack is back on the juice after 5 years of remission. It's likely my fault because I thought I could get away with keeping him on dry food - we switched back to dry food about 3 years ago and I had convinced myself that he became diabetic due to obesity and would be okay as long as he wasn't overweight and the food was medium carb (haha, not
). I checked him every month to make sure he was still in remission but got distracted with a new baby and hadn't checked since January. Woke up one morning to an overly full litter box and noticed him rushing to get in and immediately recognized what was going on. Lo and behold, his BG was 25! 
So now here I am hoping I can get him into remission again. First time around we did the TR method for a few months, but couldn't get him to stop bouncing and switched to my own method and got him into remission within a few weeks (please don't copy my dosing - it's heavily personalized and risky) - hoping to have similar luck this time around. We did 10 days of wet food to prepare but it didn't change his numbers much (same as last time) and started the insulin on Sunday. Definitely not touching dry food ever again.
Is it usually harder to get a cat into remission the second time around? I'm assuming it would depend on whether the dry food really was the cause of him falling out of remission or something underlying.
Cheers!