Jack and Scooter Vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Thank you all for your support. I to thought it was a common thing or food source for them both but it wasn't.

Turns out Scooter is sick with a large infection on or in his head and his eye is slightly swollen. So we are hoping it is just that an infection. We are going to try antibiotics to see if it helps and revisit in one week. It may be cancer on his brain but we are not there yet. Black cats make it so much harder to see. He is still cuddly and cute. I will keep his SS going and test him to.

Jacks creatin level and BUN are both high. Once I get a spreadsheet going I will post numbers but both are slightly over the top level. So we know he needs insulin and are hoping his kidneys hold out through this. So Jack is starting on Lev in a few minutes at .25 unless you folks think it should be different. Until I hear from you I will follow the Vet advice of .25. Also his bg was 498 but he was very stressed during the car ride. He is not talking to me tonight and giving e the cold shoulder for taking him in the car.

So this is where we are at tonight. Marje if by chance you could once again help me with the spreadsheet I will be eternally grateful. I tried but can't get it posted. Ugh.

Linda
 
Last edited:
my fingers, toes, arms and ankles are crossed hoping that it's an infection for Scooter an dhe responds quickly to ABs. What antibiotic did the vet suggest?

for Jack, are you going to follow the Tight Reg protocol? If so, you can use the weight based formula for a starting dose. It's on the sticky for the protocol, down a ways from the top. 0.25u is pretty low - what would be suggested for a pretty tiny cat. You can always increase, but as you know, the premise of tight reg is that the sooner the cat gets into normal numbers the greater the chance the pancreas can heal and the cat can become diet-controlled. Of course, the choice is up to you.
 
I see the spreadsheet in your signature.
If you log into Google Drive, you should be able to edit that one.
Then you File, Publish to the web, and identify who can see it.
 
Julie thank you for the reminder as it is time for his first shot. I will do the weight based as he has lost some weight but still pretty hefty ans Scooter is tiny. Thanks for the reminder!
BJM I thought I did that a few times but I will try again. I also sent Marje a request for help with the spread sheet. Jacks numbers have been in the 400's for 30 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top