Jack amps 233 +2 292(4r) +4 310 +6 251(3R) +9 268

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
Last Condo

Jack is on a tear to break his own insulin records. Up to 30u Lev and 11.5R yesterday and he couldn't get out of high yellows. He is just a tiny bit "off" so hoping that is part of the icky numbers.

The new feeder is in and in the garage getting a cat proofing. Hoping to get it in service soon and see how Jack vs the autofeeder round 2 goes. It got put on hold due to the back.

I learned the meaning of torture Friday when one of my big clients had a huge network issue and I had to drive 2 hours to go onsite and fix it. Not fun with an irritated back. First thing the boss said when I got there "you look like S***"... Thanks! Hoping for a quiet week to actually try to get some Christmas spirit going, just haven't been able to really get in the mood yet.

Got some pee-pads as well for the litter box entrance and it stayed dry for about 12 hours:facepalm:. At least easier to clean up then the newspaper it replaced. I need to find a box where the cat has to walk in and u-turn to use, found one so far, but not sure big boy would fit in it, need to research it a bit more. He doesn't shoot out, but his half-squat is causing some leakage outside the box. Always something with the big panther.

4R at +2 this morning and he had the gall to go up not down. I was hoping to keep it to 1 syringe till the trial, but with these numbers, I'm leaning towards a 4u lev increase and starting to use 2 syringes for the lev, plus any needed R...

Hope all the kitties and beans are having a good sunday.
 
I'm last person on planet to suggest anything insulin'ish but I sure do share and empathize with you on insulin travails and with everything else!!!

Lousy back and when it screams...always makes things...harder...that's pretty much my life!

Have you looked at heppercat flip litter box? It's...well, what isn't these days...expensive. But has some features that are friendly for Beans with bad backs and amenable to cats (meaning...scratch all you like, litter is staying in this LB!) even big ones, who also like to scratch litter all over the darned place!

Sending hugs, prayers, boatloads of healing vines your way and speedy-like, too!
 
What goes up must come down...it's time to work on the down part Jack. I'm interested to see if you start using 2 syringes if it helps. In my own mind it does seem to make sense about possibly getting better absorption. Hope autofeeder 2 wins the Capt. Jack battle and he starts keep his business inside the LB!
 
You can also get 50 unit (1/2 ml) U-100 syringes if you want to reduce the number of pokes. But they only come in whole units.

Love the new avatar! :cool:

I'm rooting for the autofeeder. :p
 
You can also get 50 unit (1/2 ml) U-100 syringes
I'm not worried about the pokes or syringe cost as much as his BG #'s lately. Strongly considering upping his lev dose. The current dose just isn't cutting it, I was hoping to see some more improvement. At this point it is up the R or up the L to get him into some better numbers and to quote Bobbi, get him to stop peeing bricks.

Any thoughts on which route might be better for the increase? I'm leaning towards 34u of lev with maybe a little R if needed.

His attempt at helping to decorate the tree... I'll just sit down here and supervise!

Pics of autofeeder coming tomorrow, if he breaks into this one I'll be impressed. Took a few hours in the garage today designing a container for it that should at the least make him work his little noggin a little on what I might have missed.
 
Out of curiosity, what is the reason for the morning R at +2 instead of AMPS?

I like the idea of upping the Lev dose, but with one caveat. When you start the trial next month, it would be nice to be on a dose where you are still consistently giving a good sized dose of R. That way if his dose needs drop quickly, you don't have as big a worry about the larger Lev depot. However, you have some time yet.

Which brand autofeeder did you go for this time?
 
Out of curiosity, what is the reason for the morning R at +2 instead of AMPS?

I'm more of a night owl and luckily can hand off TFS in the am. I try to keep it simple, over 100 give normal dose, under 100 wake me up and I'll decide on a dose. I want to handle the R so I test and give R after the morning paper and cup of coffee.

I stuck with the 30u and R this evening, he is still not feeling quite right. Not bad, but leaving some food in the bowl and just a little off/mopey. Hopefully I can just back off the R once he starts feeling better assuming his numbers come down a little.

That way if his dose needs drop quickly, you don't have as big a worry about the larger Lev depot.
I was thinking the same thing. I need to get with Chris to see what they recommend insulin wise when starting the trial, but I have a feeling if he responds well the insulin needs will drop quickly. I might just stick with the current dosing until the trial assuming I can see a little improvement in the numbers leading up to the trial.

I got a wopet single feeder, similar to the last one and built a container for it. There is not a lot of room where his bowl is. The 5 day feeders would have been hard to fit in the space, and all of them seem to allow a determined cat to either pop the lid or rotate the tray... and Jack can be a very determined cat.
 
I ended up making Vyktor's lb myself when we started running into trouble with him not making it all the way in, wish I had thought of it earlier as they kept the litter contained so much better.

Get a very large plastic storage tub and cut out a door - I do it by heating a knife over the gas stove and slicing through the plastic (you have to reheat the knife multiple times so have a rag handy to wipe the melted plastic off the knife between cuts) very stinky so do it near an open window, but it stops the plastic cracking. You can cut the door much lower than lb trays are to get over the side and you make it very narrow, only just as wide as the kitty needs to get in - extremely narrow at the bottom for a bit and then, past leg height, angle it out a bit for shoulder and whisker room. Use some packing tape or such like to cover any rough edges.

The high sides keep the litter contained (and in Vyktor's case he could lean on them for some extra support), the low entry makes it easy to get in and out you get one large enough so they can turn around inside.

Set up with a pee pad for a front door mat :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top