Jack 8/11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darlene & Jack

Member Since 2011
Hi All...just checking in for a few sets of eyes on Jack's ss. He's had a few great cycles, but they don't last long. A few really good pre shot numbers here and there.

Last night I know at least some of his shot was a fur shot...fur was wet at the site and I could smell the insulin. Not sure if he got any of it or not. Then this morning he was 184 for AMPS. I don't know if that indicates his dose is too high? Now tonight at PMPS he's 443; i went ahead and gave the 1.5 units. Time for an increase?

Thanks!
 
Hi Darlene,
His nadirs are still at levels which suggest he hasn't reached a breakthrough dose yet, despite getting some lower preshots and a green here and there. I'm not sure about the fur shot - sometime there could be a drop of insulin on the end of the needle and it has a strong smell, even a tiny amount. If his fur was wet maybe so. But remember even less than a full dose is still working in conjunction with the shed and that alone can carry them through to the next preshot without much increase. Your PMPS in the 400s is indicative of an emptied shed at this point, so I think he needs a little more. His nadirs are ensconced in the upper 200s, even 300s still, which according to Tilly, means a .25U increase.

He's already been at 1.5U long enough to see what it can do. If you'll notice, his nadirs are now less on average than they were at 1.2U so an increase is the right direction, not a decrease. You have great data to base the need for an increase on, if you're comfortable with that. Good job!
 
Thanks, Vicky. I forgot about factoring the shed in with the possible fur shot. I am comfortable with an increase now...and between me and the kids we can the tests in. I have noticed that the numbers overall are coming down, both nadirs and the AMPS.

The week of the 22nd I am off again and might do another long day trip. Will see how he does once we are closer to that time.
 
So it looks like we are getting much closer to a good dose here. He did drop to 53 on Wednesday night, and then bounced up to 455 yesterday. 123 AMPS this morning...I went ahead and gave the full shot since he usually rises after these lows.
So I'm not sure where to go from here. Let this dose settle a little longer? He still has mostly blues and yellows. Up until Thursday I thought I might need to go up to 1.85 to try to get more greens, but now I'm not so sure. Any input would be appreciated!
 
He's getting lots of blues! Despite the bounce off the 53, he's doing much better. I wouldn't change anything right now and I certainly wouldn't raise it any. Let him settle on 1.75U so he stops bouncing. More green on 1.75U will happen, just have to give it time. Good job shooting the 123 with 1.75U. Hope you can get some checks in today - would yield a great picture of what 1.75U can do!
 
Thanks Vicky...I was figuring I should just hold the dose for a while since he is still bouncing around a bit. But so much better than he was! Today's numbers looked good, I do get a little nervous shooting those low numbers. But I think I'm getting better at it. :-)

Since he is trending down, what if I get up one morning and he is below 100? Is there a number that I should reduce at, or just wait for his numbers to come up? Usually I shoot an hour before I leave for work, so I have a little room. Just wanted to check in with that question before it comes up and I panic!
 
Rather than worry what you will do if you get a green preshot, why not try a new testing strategy? Test an HOUR before his shot is due. That way you will know which direction his preshot is going. If it's steady or going down, you could reduce a little. But if it's already on the way up, then you should be able to shoot the regular dose.

I think reducing shots just because a number is green is counter-productive in some cases. So testing an hour or so beforehand is a proactive way to make a better determination of how to deal with dose when it comes shot time.
 
Thanks, Marcy. I forgot to check the stickies for advice on this. It didn't seem like I ever would have to worry about shooting low numbers!

Thanks, Vicky. I must have read those stickies in the past because I did remember about the testing one hour preshot. That's why I got the +11 test the other day after his low drop. i wasn't sure how low he would be in the morning and knew I could check if i had a rising number. I will try to get more varied tests when we can, including some +1 and +2, and +10 and +11's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top