Jack 7/11 dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darlene & Jack

Member Since 2011
Jack has had a few high days now after some really good days. Not sure if it is still effects of time changes when we were gone for the day. It was suggested to stay with the .85 dose for a little bit since he was having a little bouncing on the 1 and 1.2. But with 400's the past 2 days and a lot of 300's maybe it's time for a little increase?

This is the part that confuses me...determining the bounce from a high dose rather than high numbers from a low dose. @-) We haven't had lows...so I'm guessing I need to go with an increase. Maybe back to 1 unit?
 
Now down to 122 @ +5 pm.

Not eating too much during the day, eating more at night.

So now I'm thinking either hold this dose or maybe decrease a bit?
 
Seems to me like the .85U is working, but maybe he needs to stay there for a bit longer to keep from reacting to the lows he's getting. He's not rebounding as hard as he did when he had double digits, so I think it's a matter of time before his system figures out how to use this amount of insulin.

Maybe you could reduce the food he has available during the day?
 
Thanks, ladies. I did hold with the .85 this morning.

I set my alarm last night to get up to check a +7 since he was dropping...he was 77. AMPS 312 this morning.

Not sure about decreasing food during the day..he isn't eating as much then, but eating more at night. I think he is probably eating enough compared to what I see as feeding amounts that some people post here...it is just a decreased amount from what he had been eating. And I think he is going a longer period during the day without eating than he had been. Maybe that explains the difference between his AM and PM numbers.
 
If he is getting into "normal" BG ranges, he may actually be less hungry as he is utilizing the food 100%. Both my guys ate like pigs in the beginning - just like they were starving, because they were, but eventually they both dropped back to normal eating and eat about 2/3 of what they used to.
 
Today is an opposite day of what we have been having lately....lower numbers during the day, and higher evening numbers. I can't figure him out!!!
 
I see you decided to increase to 1u. Just watch the numbers for set in highs (high and flat). He did get to decent nadirs two of the past 4 cycles on .85u, so I am not sure an increase was needed.
 
Hi Marcy, thanks! I haven't been on here in a while. Just kind of laying low, trying not to be too crazy about all of this. Because if I let it, it will drive me crazy!!

I was going to increase last night but he had good numbers so I will hold a little longer at this dose. I figured this AM would be higher because of the lower numbers last night. Still not seeing any greens though, but I guess there is an overall lowering of numbers for the most part. I still am never sure what constitutes high, flat numbers meaning a dose too high, or if the dose is too low. Maybe a few others can take a peek and let me know what they think.

One great thing is that I got my daughter trained in how to give his insulin!! I was able to go away overnight and she gave his Saturday PM and Sunday AM doses and did an awesome job! I will keep a few prefilled syringes in the fridge now so that she can have them available. I know I have some things coming up and won't be home in time for PM shots, so it is a relief.

Hope everyone has been doing well!
 
You've done very well on getting periodic spot checks that I think you would catch a true low if he were to have one. You could probably go up to 1.4U now since he's been at this dose for a while. He's having a lot of 300s in midcycle even with the blues yesterday.

it is difficult to tell the high flats due to rebound off too much insulin from highs due to not enough insulin. Again, testing is the key and you have some great data which shows a few dips in to 100s, not many and his last green was off .85U and that could merely been because maybe he didn't eat as much that day.

He may simply not be getting enough duration from the dose, meaning it's not enough yet. YET.
 
Thanks, Vicky. I did increase to 1.4 this morning. I was away over the weekend and most of yesterday so I held off increasing...but back to work today and the kids are home to check him. Nice AMPS of 202 this morning, though. :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top