I am wondering if Gandalf's profile when he was first on Lev would help. He also came from PZI, but had been on it for over 2 years.
Yes, I increased fairly quickly and should not have. I also suffered horribly from "PZI thinking," note the late shots and skipped shots.
Day 1-9.26.07
7:30 AM +12.5 375 1U
+2 352
+4 292
+5 310
+6 265 Ate regular meal
+7 209
+8 234
+9 220
+11 259
+12 263 1U
Day 2 9.27.07
+6 280 (night of full moon)
8 AM +12.5 385 went up to 1.5U
+3 387
+6 234 Ate regular meal
+7 249
+8 203
+11.5 193 no shot ate half can FF
+14 234 1.5U
Day 3 9.28.07
+10.5 170 no shot
+12 172 skinny 1.5U ate
+2 172!!
+7 214
+11 281 1.5U ate (earlier had ate a few pieces of dry kibble & cooked chicken)
Day 4 9.29.07
9:30AM +12 only 141, fed, no shot
+13 173 skinny 1.5U
+12 10:30 pm 269 1.5U ate
Day 5 9.30.07
8:30 AM +10 257 1.5U ate 1/2 can FF
7 pm +10.5 56 fed as normal, no shot
Stormed about 9 pm, hiding. No further BG checks. Previously acted normal, ate good.
Day 6 10.1.07
3:30 AM +19 337 fat 1U
7AM lethargic. No test. Would not come for food.
6:16 PM 432 fur shot, gave fat 1U
+2 397
Day 7 10.2.07
7 am +12.75 398 Let him off food schedule last night. Gave 1.5U
6:45 pm +11.75 220 1.5U Acting much better, also not as hungry. Still at 0 and +6 for feedings, considering changing either back to 0, +2, +6 or 0, +3, +7.
Day 8 (yea! It's been 1 week)
7 AM +12 193 1.5U
6:30 PM +11.5 345 1.5U (I think he ate Tigget's extra food at least a half 5.5 oz can more than normal.) Acting very good though, wanted outside, very alert and vocal. Except at nap time ;-)
Day 9 10.4.07 (
Puked brown bile at 6 am, sign of hairballs
+13 8 am 141, only licked at food. Gave 1/4 tsp. Laxatone and only 1U
He went outside (ate grass I bet), then came in and ate off & on till gone, like normal, little dickens.
+4.5 241 must be the laxatone. Gave .5U booster. No more food yet.
+6 213 Ate 1/2 can FF
+8 237 ATe 1/2 can FF
+10.5 285 Gave 1.5U fed 9Lives 1/3rd can
Day 10 10.5.07
Woke me up at 4:30 am, had only licked at +6 food. Gave him 3/4can of FF and he ate some and came back to bed.
8:30 AM +14 173! Gave 1.5U
Ate some, went outside.
+2 261, still has food left.
+14 142 1.5U
Day 11 10.6.07
7 AM ate some sardine (in water type)
8 AM +10 242 gave 1.5U left side, nibbled more sardine.
Wanted outside finally, had been lying around.
10 PM +14 222 right side.
Day 12 10.7.07 (weird day)
Outside between 7:30-8:30am
8:30 AM + 10.5 279 1.5U left side
Probably had some of Tigget's dry Wellness Core overnight. Ate maybe third of food. Wondering if less appetite is from lower #'s.
+6 292 (unable to get earlier BG, don't know if we had any drop)
+7 346
+8 415 WTF?
5 PM +8.5 shot 1.5U, ate plain sardines
+ 2 467
+3.5 266, fed 1/3 can 9 Lives
+4.5 158, gave about 1 tablespoon of Wellness Core dry
+5 131
+5.5 110, put out rest of 9 Lives can as per feeding schedule.
+6 119
Day 13 10.8.07
Puked up hairball in AM
6 AM +13 377 left side 1.5U
6 PM +12 209 right side 1.5U
Caught a mouse and ate it all!
Day 14 10.9.07
6:30 AM +12.5 227 right side 1.5U
6:20 PM +12 152 don't remember which side 1.5U
Day 15 10.10.07
6 AM +11.5 195 right side 1.5U
Had to be gone all day
9:45 +15.75 387 left side 1.5U
Day 16 10.11.07
8 AM +10 159 left side 1.5U
+2 146 ate more
+4.75 97
Went outside, ate food
+6 121
+7.5 103
+9.5 98
Went outside
+12.5 123 1.5U
10.12.07
9 AM +12.5 100 1.25U
+2 150
+13 270 1.5U left side
10.13.07
+12 171 1.5U right side
+12.25 303 1.5U left side
10.14.07
+11 9 AM 187 1.5U left side
+11 8 pm 105 right side
Drinking more & peed a lot about 10 Pm
10.15.07
+12 8 AM 137 1.5U right side
+11 Got very mad about going in bathroom
instead of outside like he wanted.
BG 519, where was it a half hour before?
1.5U, ate good, acting good. Noted some drinking.
That was a sure sign of rebound because 1.5U was too much.
What I wanted you to notice is that it took over 2 weeks to finally get a true rebound number. They do a lot of bouncing before that, which is when you'll get 100s and then it zooms back up to 300s. I consider those soft rebounds and the 500+ is hard rebound result. He even told me because he got mad before his shot! He knew something was not right.
On day 16 I was fooled in to thinking 1.5U was a good dose because he had such good numbers because he was coming off an almost +16 from the previous night's shot, so the shed was emptied.
Knowing what I know now, it is clear to me by day 6 even that 1.5U was too much. Jack has not had greens until now and perhaps because he was lacking on calories for the day.
For now, the .8U looks good, especially from today's numbers, when I assume he ate better. I don't agree that he has settled nor that his dose should be increased. What would have happened last night had he been given more insulin?? Also, please note that although he had greens for an extended period last night, he did not bounce hard today, he lowered eventually at a good even pace.
Hope that helps ease your mind on .8U dose.