Andrea&Jabba
Member Since 2021
Oh the train wreck, Jabba the Cat.
Long story short, after years of being on prednisolone, Jabba was diagnosed with diabetes mid-April with initial BG readings in the 600s. He was prescribed 1U of Vetsulin 2x/day. The Dr decreased his pred dosage, and I started him on an all wet food diet (according to the chart it's 11% carb content).
I started home testing slowly (Relion Prime), just 1x/day, alternating between a mid-cycle or a pre-shot. After a PMPS of 97 about a week ago, I increased testing. His gets Pred every other day, which are noted on the spreadsheet. There’s a clear link to increased BG every other morning when he gets his Pred.
I’ve been using a “no shoot number” of 150 and the days he does not receive pred, he stays below that all day. His numbers seem to be pretty consistent and predictable in the 100-150 range except on the pred mornings.
My question is, should I try administering a lower dose when his preshot readings are in that 125-150 range? He’s consistently in the low 100’s, but not getting down to those pretty green numbers at all. And with the clear link between increased BG on the pred days, should I continue with 1U on pred days, and a lower dose (maybe .5U) on non pred days?
Also – I understand that ideally eliminating the steroid and changing to a lower carb food would be best, but that’s not an option right now due to his other issues.
Spreadsheet should be in my signature if I set it up right
Long story short, after years of being on prednisolone, Jabba was diagnosed with diabetes mid-April with initial BG readings in the 600s. He was prescribed 1U of Vetsulin 2x/day. The Dr decreased his pred dosage, and I started him on an all wet food diet (according to the chart it's 11% carb content).
I started home testing slowly (Relion Prime), just 1x/day, alternating between a mid-cycle or a pre-shot. After a PMPS of 97 about a week ago, I increased testing. His gets Pred every other day, which are noted on the spreadsheet. There’s a clear link to increased BG every other morning when he gets his Pred.
I’ve been using a “no shoot number” of 150 and the days he does not receive pred, he stays below that all day. His numbers seem to be pretty consistent and predictable in the 100-150 range except on the pred mornings.
My question is, should I try administering a lower dose when his preshot readings are in that 125-150 range? He’s consistently in the low 100’s, but not getting down to those pretty green numbers at all. And with the clear link between increased BG on the pred days, should I continue with 1U on pred days, and a lower dose (maybe .5U) on non pred days?
Also – I understand that ideally eliminating the steroid and changing to a lower carb food would be best, but that’s not an option right now due to his other issues.
Spreadsheet should be in my signature if I set it up right

Last edited:
