Jabba the Cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Jabba

Member Since 2021
Oh the train wreck, Jabba the Cat.

Long story short, after years of being on prednisolone, Jabba was diagnosed with diabetes mid-April with initial BG readings in the 600s. He was prescribed 1U of Vetsulin 2x/day. The Dr decreased his pred dosage, and I started him on an all wet food diet (according to the chart it's 11% carb content).

I started home testing slowly (Relion Prime), just 1x/day, alternating between a mid-cycle or a pre-shot. After a PMPS of 97 about a week ago, I increased testing. His gets Pred every other day, which are noted on the spreadsheet. There’s a clear link to increased BG every other morning when he gets his Pred.

I’ve been using a “no shoot number” of 150 and the days he does not receive pred, he stays below that all day. His numbers seem to be pretty consistent and predictable in the 100-150 range except on the pred mornings.

My question is, should I try administering a lower dose when his preshot readings are in that 125-150 range? He’s consistently in the low 100’s, but not getting down to those pretty green numbers at all. And with the clear link between increased BG on the pred days, should I continue with 1U on pred days, and a lower dose (maybe .5U) on non pred days?

Also – I understand that ideally eliminating the steroid and changing to a lower carb food would be best, but that’s not an option right now due to his other issues.

Spreadsheet should be in my signature if I set it up right :cat:
 
Last edited:
Well done!!!

You need to test more :p
It's not unusual for the cats who has steroid induced diabetes to go into remission. So you need to watch him carefully!

I'll tag some people for you, who can advise on the dosing.
@JanetNJ and @Deb & Wink :bighug:
 
Thanks! I don't have time to test more. I work 2 jobs. He gets his steroid and a snack before I go to work #1, I run home during my lunch break to test/shoot. I get a mid-cycle test between work #1 & work #2. PM test/shoot is when I get home from work #2, then it's bedtime. Unless I can bring the cat to work with me, I'm not going to get more tests in.
 
Thanks! I don't have time to test more. I work 2 jobs. He gets his steroid and a snack before I go to work #1, I run home during my lunch break to test/shoot. I get a mid-cycle test between work #1 & work #2. PM test/shoot is when I get home from work #2, then it's bedtime. Unless I can bring the cat to work with me, I'm not going to get more tests in.
How about setting an alarm and do some readings in his PM cycle? You're missing half the picture, and many cats drop lower at night.
 
With my schedule I get about 6 hours of sleep at night.... we all need to find the balance that works for us, and part of my balance is 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep at night. I could get a +7 of the PM cycle when I get up in the morning, but I a +7 on Vetsulin seems pretty useless if the low in the cycle is closer to +4/+5.

That said - if I do make a change to administer a lower dose at a lower pre-shot #, I would make the change on the AM shot. I'm not home afterwards, but I have a roommate who is home all day and can text me if he is behaving funny/looks sick.
 
What other issues are keeping you from switching to a lower carb food? What are you feeding him now? Other members may be able to recommend other foods that will help with his glucose levels and other medical issues.
 
Autoimmune and food allergies - the Natural Balance Duck and Green Pea has been the only food I've found over the years that doesn't cause open lesions on his skin. I've tried adding single ingredients and every time I try something different he flares up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top