I've calmed down..Beth Anne and Sonny

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pretty blue surf today Beth Anne, but remember, you hold the same dose unless they drop below 50 during the cycle. Lantus needs consistent dosing, so the same dose every 12 hours unless they "earn" a reduction.

This morning, if you were unsure whether to shoot 2 units or not, you should have stalled, not fed Sonny, and posted for help so someone could advise you as well as stay with you during the cycle as long as necessary to make sure things are going well.

The "no shot" number is 200 here but that means "no shot without someone to advise"...as you get more data, that "no shot" number comes down. (For example, I have a lot of data on China, so was comfortable shooting this morning when her AMPS was only 70) You learn how Sonny responds to both insulin and food, and you learn when it's safe to go ahead and shoot, or at least what to expect.

Did you get a PMPS last night or just forget to add it to your spreadsheet? Although it looks like it was totally safe to shoot, you always want to get those pre-shot tests in.

We know there's a lot to remember, as well as the learning curve here is steep and fast, but we'll be here to help you!

I'd like to officially invite you to come over to the Lantus Tight Regulation Board. Pretty much everyone there uses Lantus, so you'll get a lot of experienced eyes to help you out.

Each day (or as often as you can) you start a new post (we call them "condo's") with the Subject Line saying the date, cats name, and AMPS number....so for today, yours would be 12/7 Sonny AMPS 187,+3 165,+4 185,+192,+8 163 (as you get tests in during the cycle, you go back to that first post and "edit" to add them)

In the body of the post, you'd give the WCR (Whole Cat Report)...how Sonny is feeling, eating well? any problems? How are the 5 "P's"? (Preening, Playing, Purring, Peeing & Pooping), as well as any questions you might have.

Also, in that first post, put the link to the post from the day before into the body so people can quickly look back at how things were the day before. Just click on the URL at the top, and copy/paste the link to your post from the day before.

Sure look forward to seeing you over in Lantus Land!!

And WOO HOO!! on the testing today!! Great job!!!
 
The shoot/no shoot threshold over in Lantus TR is also 150 before you ask for help. Here in the Feline Health forum, we like to keep that shoot/no shoot threshold a bit higher, at 200, as new caregivers are learning the steps of this sugardance. By the time you are ready to go over to posting in one of the Insulin Support Groups, you will have learned a lot about the basics of day to day management of diabetes here in the Health forum.

You've got the testing down, and that's a great step. I think you're ready for an ISG.

Glad to hear the civies are doing better and the diarrhea has cleared up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top