I've arrived - Remission is in sight

Darwin H.

Member Since 2018
Down to a bare tiny dose when needed ( not often now) but Simba's numbers are grrrrrreat.... as Tony the Tiger would say from the cereal box days for those of you who might remember.... *Check my numbers! Last 10 days all green and blue !

Not wanting to take him off insulin but his numbers dictate that and they won't allow injection.. Wonder when I can call it "remission" ?
 
For a strong remission you want to see almost all green and nothing above blue. If you get a test above 120 you wants to see if he comes back to normal three hours after eating.
 
Sorry to be a wet blanket but those are not remission numbers without insulin. You're still seeing even nadirs that are too high (e..g, 186). As Elise noted, your spreadsheet should be largely green.

Please get more tests. Shooting 0.2u for your PMPS is not the way Lantus works -- you're dosing based on pre-shot not based on nadir. And lately, you don't have any idea where the nadir numbers are. Further, numbers that are in the 100 - 200 range are completely shootable. You are going to work up the courage to shoot those numbers if you want Darwin to go into remission.

This is more what your spreadsheet should look like for a kitty that's going OTJ: Nemo's SS
 
I think it's time to try it!!

Here are the OTJ trial instructions:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!


* read.... Time to start my OJT with Simba. I ran the SS by my vet and he suggested it too to see how it went.
 
I think it's time to try it!!

Here are the OTJ trial instructions:

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!
* read.... Time to start my OJT with Simba. I ran the SS by my vet and he suggested it too to see how it went.
I've moved your post to the appropriate thread for continuity.

That said, Chris' suggestion to start an OTJ trial in that thread was made to someone else... not for Simba. These are the guidelines we follow in hopes to start a cat with a strong remission:

OTJ TRIALS:

Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.


As you can see, Simba is doing well, but not quite ready to start an OTJ trial yet. We don't usually suggest starting an OTJ trial until a kitty is ready because if insulin is withheld prematurely, progress can be lost easily. We also don't want to see Simba back here any time soon because her remission didn't hold.

However, you hold the syringe. None of us has a crystal ball. There's always the possibility a premature trial will go smoothly. If the trial doesn't work, you can always restart insulin.

Ultimately, all decisions are yours to make.
 

However, you hold the syringe. None of us has a crystal ball. There's always the possibility a premature trial will go smoothly. If the trial doesn't work, you can always restart insulin.

Ultimately, all decisions are yours to make.

All this info has been so insightful and I greatly appreciate it... Simba after feedings and AMPS 108 I took 3.5 hrs later down to 60 > All with no shot. I think he is well on his way. His pancreas is working looking at his SS.
I don;t want to take him off too early yet dont want to over dose him either. I was giving the most tiny shot possible for the last few weeks. I think he is there and only time will tell now. I am making the best decision I can with what I have to work with. Last shot was 5 days ago and only 4 mini 's 14 days. :^)
 
Back
Top