Hi everyone, Punkin and I are new members and both want to thank everyone for all their help so far. The diagnosis overwhelmed use like it does everyone. We're not the real talkative sorts but I felt after a week it was time to introduce ourselves. Punkin is an 11 year old Calico from the Wal Mart angel tree. I adopted her when she was less than a year. Being a long hair, on her tag her Christmas present request was for a tube of hair ball grease. I bought her the grease then some toys then some treats and then decided we needed each other and that's about the end of that story. She's always been a healthy cat kept indoors and pampered. Wellness checks at the vets routine. She has however always had an allergy problem every spring. Constant dusting, food changes, litter brand and box changes, a whole house air purification system, nothing worked. So every spring she would get her depo medrol shot. (Oh the hindsite) A week ago she started drinking way too much. She always liked water, but this just wasn't right. That morning I bought some of the test pieces for the litter box and by that afternoon she was at the vets. An overnight stay concluded the diabetes with a bg of 300. So we started on our road with the Lantus at 1 unit twice a day. She weighs 13.8 This morning was our 11th dose and her vet appointment is in the morning. I realize that everyone here is numbers driven but I just got my test kit yesterday afternoon so I'll start the testing now. I would like to add that she was a wet and dry food cat, she is now a low carb wet food cat with feedings through out the day. She does still have her dry out as to not extract too many carbs from her diet too fast, but she will be weaned off that soon. She still eats great but not like she was starving. She still drinks good but nothing like before. Both her eating and drinking appeared to normalize within just a few days. I watch her after her shots, who I'm I kidding, I watch her constantly. She takes her shots well and hasn't seemed to have had any problems so far. I've read a lot and I understand the Lantus protocol. The timing is exact at 12 hour intervals.
I understand the affects and signs of hypo and have my emergency kit ready. I also keep a close nose on her breath for a acetone smell and all seems good there too. She really is amused by that. She's seldom left alone.
So, yeppers it was overwhelming, but we're doing better. I'll try to post her pic and get some numbers going and posted. Again thanks so very, very much to all of you. Getting a little teary so I'd better stop
Jerry and Punkin
I understand the affects and signs of hypo and have my emergency kit ready. I also keep a close nose on her breath for a acetone smell and all seems good there too. She really is amused by that. She's seldom left alone.
So, yeppers it was overwhelming, but we're doing better. I'll try to post her pic and get some numbers going and posted. Again thanks so very, very much to all of you. Getting a little teary so I'd better stop
Jerry and Punkin