? ISFM Consensus Guidelines - see post 12

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppp

Member Since 2017
(These post is only vaguely related to previous ones, so not including a link. The spreadsheet tells the story.)

Just trying to figure out if/when it is safe to go to sleep.

Are #s coming up, just because of the food I've given?

Is the depot lying in wait to pull numbers down further?

I keep waking him up to ask if he's lethargic. (He's a cat. He sleeps about 15 hours per day.)
 
I'm confused by your notes, can you put the +5 2 tsp or whatever instead of the time? Are the numbers (51) (51) (66) referring to BGs? If so, they aren't on your SS.
 
Thanks for your reply.

I was showing the "+" number (not the time); went back to put in the "+ to make that more clear (& lost some of the data in the process) (I've done this so many times...)

Yes, the numbers in parens are BG #s while I was testing on the half-hour. I don't know how to put more than one BG # within the spreadsheet. I see some spreadsheets have doubled the row space, but have not figured out how to do that.
 
Finally, he just went up to 92. I think I can lie down, even if I set the alarm for 2 hours.

If you have any advice for future reference, I'd appreciate it.

I'll look at the spreadsheet instructions again tomorrow; I didn't think about the remarks confusing others; was just t thinking of keeping them for my own record.
 
You would just type them out all in one line like: 51, +2.5 63, +2.75 82

And then you would hit enter, the SS should do the rest for you.
 
It's good that he's at 92 now, but you should keep monitoring in case the food wears off and he goes back down. hopefully someone with more experience will chime in, I've heard no shot, no hypo, but at the same time, you have a depot, so I don't know how true it is.
 
I wanted to go back to yesterday's main post, so here's the link.

Looks like Tut is having a hard time sticking on any one dose. :D If you haven't given a shot, and he's coming up on his own without food, you can give testing a rest. If you have given high carbs (gravy), then I'd test a couple hours later to make sure he's not artificially up from the carbs.
 
You would just type them out all in one line like: 51, +2.5 63, +2.75 82

And then you would hit enter, the SS should do the rest for you.

Thanks; got it (tho lost the color; I can't remember if that's the way others look, and not finding instructions on this) [I know from experience, it doesn't mean the're not here, someplace].)
 
Thanks; got it (tho lost the color; I can't remember if that's the way others look, and not finding instructions on this) [I know from experience, it doesn't mean the're not here, someplace].)
You can restore proper colour manually by going up to the tool bar at the top of the SS and finding the little paint can icon. If you need the text to be white you can click on that icon - a capital letter "A" with two lines beneath it.
 
I wanted to go back to yesterday's main post, so here's the link.

Looks like Tut is having a hard time sticking on any one dose. :D If you haven't given a shot, and he's coming up on his own without food, you can give testing a rest. If you have given high carbs (gravy), then I'd test a couple hours later to make sure he's not artificially up from the carbs.

(Yes, of course you're right that Thursday's post is relevant. If I'd known he was Again going down to so near 50, I would have put off the interim request for vacation strategy.)

I have to go out right after his test/shot this a.m. (per SLGS I believe that should be reduced again, to .5). We were planning on a nice lunch out to celebrate our anniversary ... but we've put it off twice; guess it can be put off again. (Xmas party tonight???)

You mentioned last time that maybe pancreas is healing .. wouldn't that make this (relative to most of the group's) Short-term effort worthwhile! I'm almost superstitious about mentioning it. Except, does this make this period more dangerous? Can a cat hypo on .5, after skipping the last shot. Could he still have a depot, after the skips and reductions of the last few days? Is this a.m.'s 192 a 'bounce'?

Should I question that it is safe for me to be gone 3 hours after a .5 shot this AM...???
 
Browsing the site for help. I ended up on this journal:

http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/1098612X15571880

which, on the bottom of p. 244, has a table on suggested insulin adjustment, which in part says:

"Nadir BG <4.5 mmol/l (80 mg/dl) < Reduce insulin by 0.5–1.0 U/cat q12h if receiving 0.5–3.0 U/cat q12h < Reduce by 25–50% if on a higher insulin dose"

Tut was due to get .5 U this a.m.; but hid when I was heading out, and since I've been back, he's been falling (from 97 - 75, at +6.5).

Does anybody want to weigh in on this ... am I reading this correctly, that I should discontinue insulin?

... I'm a newbie, but have looked at a lot of spreadsheets, and have not seen any like his, of late.

We are supposed to be going out; but I think I'll delay departure for another hour.
 
Browsing the site for help. I ended up on this journal:

http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/1098612X15571880

which, on the bottom of p. 244, has a table on suggested insulin adjustment, which in part says:

"Nadir BG <4.5 mmol/l (80 mg/dl) < Reduce insulin by 0.5–1.0 U/cat q12h if receiving 0.5–3.0 U/cat q12h < Reduce by 25–50% if on a higher insulin dose"

Tut was due to get .5 U this a.m.; but hid when I was heading out, and since I've been back, he's been falling (from 97 - 75, at +6.5).

Does anybody want to weigh in on this ... am I reading this correctly, that I should discontinue insulin?

... I'm a newbie, but have looked at a lot of spreadsheets, and have not seen any like his, of late.

We are supposed to be going out; but I think I'll delay departure for another hour.
In this forum, we follow either the TR Protocol or Start Low Go Slow. There are others but those are the two we follow.

I’ll tell you that his SS does not look like one that is ready to go off the juice and into remission. We usually take the dose all the way to at least 0.1u but sometimes a drop if the kitty still doesn’t look ready at 0.1u.

His SS doesn’t look any different than the hundreds I’ve looked at :) I just don’t think he quite looks like a remission-ready cat. We like to see those cats in almost all green at a tiny dose (1 drop).

When you reduce a dose, the higher dose you reduced from can affect up to six subsequent cycles. When you reduced from 0.75u, you should have gone to 0.5u. If you shot 0.25u tonight as a BCS dose so you could go out, that’s fine but I’d go back to 0.5u in the morning. Keep in mind that shooting a reduced dose may not affect his cycle until later on or even tomorrow. The earlier part of his cycle might play out as it would have with the full dose.

The other thing is that if you test at +11, you need to also test right before you shoot. Numbers can change drastically in one hour.

Happy Anniversary!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top