Is Whitey going OTJ so soon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyceOlive

Member Since 2014
Well I was astounded today at whitey's numbers,and so glad I had gone back to testing!!(disregarding vets advice of continuing 1 unit 2 x day without testing until end of week,said I didn't need all the testing between curves)After curve on Sunday the 26 th,I dropped dose down slightly,and by this morning his BG was 169 AMPS, 52 at +4, and only 111 PMPS.So of course I skipped his evening shot.This morning I only gave him a half a unit( approximately).Now I guess I just wait and see what tomorrow brings,right? I sure didn't expect him to do this well so soon.Just wanted to say thanks to this forum for getting us this far.Will keep you posted.
 
It's very possible :-D that's how Hidey was. His numbers would start to drop and I kept having to reduce the dose and some days only one shot a day. My fingers are crossed for you and whitey. Just keep doing what your doing and keep testing.
 
Thanks, I just took a peek at Hidey's numbers and saw that he has been OTJ since May,that's great! Looks like you did your share of testing! So glad for all the encouragement here.
 
Hi Joyce

I have read on this forum that newly diagnosed cats have a greater chance of going into remission and maybe your kitty is heading that way :-D

As you begin to see the lower numbers it is a little frightening but I have been advised that when you shoot low the blood glucose curves is much flatter ( look at my spreadsheet). That has been the advice that I received from the members of the tight regulation forum and I would advise that you post your dosing question over there. In order to help your kitty get off the juice they advised me that you will need to begin shooting low numbers and every time your cat goes below 50 a dose reduction is given of usually 0.25 (as you did)

If you post just give a brief history and ask people to look at your spreadsheet and I am sure you will get lots of helpful replies.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Yup......I'm a test addict lol. I just recently started cutting his testing down to about every two weeks and that's only because I'm in the process of remodeling my ENTIRE house (ugh!) and had my dad here visiting the past 2 weeks.

Hidey's diagnosis was a big slap in the face of reality, and also made me rethink how many little things I might not pay attention to. For the past......4? Yrs he hasn't been that active but I attributed it to him getting older, then 3 yrs ago my beautiful China passed and he got worse, just thought it was his way of grieving. Come to find out he was overweight and sluggish, and became diabetic.

Now I keep testing so I don't miss anything, read food labels and email these companies like crazy, and do weigh in's on all my cats once a month. Luckily Hidey doesn't mind being tested, I actually think he looks forward to it because he loves his chicken lol
 
Google Docs isn't coming up on my PC to see your numbers.

Could you log in to it and click the Share link at the top right of the screen, then put that link in a post? It does have PUB in the link, so it should be working, but this is just a little tweak that may help.
 
As you begin to see the lower numbers it is a little frightening but I have been advised that when you shoot low the blood glucose curves is much flatter ( look at my spreadsheet). That has been the advice that I received from the members of the tight regulation forum and I would advise that you post your dosing question over there. In order to help your kitty get off the juice they advised me that you will need to begin shooting low numbers and every time your cat goes below 50 a dose reduction is given of usually 0.25 (as you did)

Joyce is using ProZinc and the tight regulations guidelines do not apply. It is not a depot insulin like Lantus, so shooting low numbers does not give you a shallower curve. With ProZinc, we usually suggest the cut off for shooting is 180 (under that only if you have a lot of data) and then a tiny dose.
 
Thanks for the feedback..Sue,and BJM, I went onto my SS and checked,it said it was in share mode.) anyway if you need readings,they are as follows" yesterday- 169 after food AMPS,gave him half a dose.By +4 he was down to 52,by PMPS time he was only 111 after he had his supper.That is when I decided not to give a shot at all. By this morning his AMPS was only 151- after his food,I waited for about an hour and a half retested and he was only 159. I have now skipped his AM shot. I called the vet for advice and he is in surgery.The nurse came on the phone and when I mentioned possible remission starting and afraid to give insulin,she said he will never be off insulin( I got annoyed with that and told her that is not true) ( I assume I will get same response from vet when he calls back)
 
.The nurse came on the phone and when I mentioned possible remission starting and afraid to give insulin,she said he will never be off insulin( I got annoyed with that and told her that is not true) ( I assume I will get same response from vet when he calls back)

Ha, Ha. Well, you will just have to take him in and have them test him when he is in remission (Anti Jinx) and then see what they say…..
 
I am still waiting to hear from the vet and hoping he does not share that same fatalistic attitude. Yeah sure,if I kept feeding him high carb foods,then that would stand to reason,but I certainly am keeping him on the " catkins" diet for life.So why can't his pancreas start functioning again and have no need for the insulin? I never buy into the whole " pronounce a disease and prescribe medicine for life" routine,that most conventional doctors do.If I don't accept that approach for my husband and myself,then why should I do so for my stray kitties that the good Lord has sent to my doorstep and entrusted to my care.?
 
JoyceOlive said:
I don't accept that approach for my husband and myself,then why should I do so for my stray kitties that the good Lord has sent to my doorstep and entrusted to my care.?

You shouldn't and I'm sure my Lord Maxwell and my Cassanova would agree since Maxwell will celebrate 4 years insulin free this Sunday and Cassanova went from 11u twice a day while under vet care and being shot blind and eating their precious dry prescription diabetic food, to insulin free in 8 months. After I adopted him, started testing him and adjusting his dose and switched him over to a low carb wet diet. Cassavona had also bloomed to 37lbs on the vet's diet, today not only is he insulin free but a sleek and muscular 17lbs...yes he is a big boned, tall and long cat

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
WOW,Mel..you just gave me additional hope for my Whitey.Thanks for that!I just retested and his number has dropped from 159 three hours ago down to 134 without a shot,I am just going to keep testing and just give him a half a unit only if he gets above 165-170 on my ReliOn micro.I tested him on my previous meter which reads closer to the alpha trak and it was 145.
 
Hey,I just came across the information on cats being OTJ..just I case any newbies see this.It says" 14 full days at 130 mg.or below on a human glucometer and kitty is officially OTJ" ! next time I won't jump the gun and jinx him by saying anything prematurely!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top