Is this Normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hold short

Member Since 2019
Been doing the BG tests before and after eating. But, the last couple of nights have seen a few swings.

His morning is high and his PM is "normal". That doesn't seem right but, is it? Please check his spreadsheet. Thanks.
 
I suspect that 1 unit is too high a dose right now. You need to see what happens to BG in the +4 to +6 range after a dose on more days if possible. If your syringes have half unit marks try 0.5 u to see what happens. If that seems too low a dose after a couple of days, eyeball 0.75 u.
 
Been doing the BG tests before and after eating. But, the last couple of nights have seen a few swings.

His morning is high and his PM is "normal". That doesn't seem right but, is it? Please check his spreadsheet. Thanks.
HI there. Welcome! First I'd like to say I'm so happy yo see that you are testing before every shot AND that you not give insulin when you saw the 84 & 88 readings.
 
I suspect that 1 unit is too high a dose right now. You need to see what happens to BG in the +4 to +6 range after a dose on more days if possible. If your syringes have half unit marks try 0.5 u to see what happens. If that seems too low a dose after a couple of days, eyeball 0.75 u.
Thanks. I wish we could do more readings but, we are low on strips right now. So we are only able to test pre shot. But, we are hopefully, getting more strips tomorrow.
 
Thanks. I wish we could do more readings but, we are low on strips right now. So we are only able to test pre shot. But, we are hopefully, getting more strips tomorrow.
Are you dosing with syringes or with a vet pen? Does the vet pen allow for 0.5 unit doses? You're using the version of the spreadsheet for a human meter. Can you get strips readily at a pharmacy near you?
 
Are you dosing with syringes or with a vet pen? Does the vet pen allow for 0.5 unit doses? You're using the version of the spreadsheet for a human meter. Can you get strips readily at a pharmacy near you?
We have the Henry Schein Vet GlucoMeter. It is pet specific, I guess. The down side to it is that we have to order everything through our vet (which they did not tell us at the time).

We have syringes, the U-40 ones which we can order online. Seems we can do .5 doses if needed. Tonight we didn't do insulin because his number was too low and now it's too late. But, we will keep testing and keep checking to make sure that we can give him insulin. Otherwise, we will hold off until we have more information or can run another BG (once we get more strips) after he's eaten to see where he is at.

Appreciate the help.
 
On a pet meter the so called "take action" number is 68. That means BG is getting too low and intervening with snacks of higher carb food is recommended. There's a version of the spreadsheet for use with a pet meter. The automatic colour coding will produce a lime green warning colour whenever you enter a BG value below 68. Please add the fact that you use a pet meter to your grey signature test. The advice that we give will depend on it. Pet meters read higher than the human meters most of us use here (because of test strip cost) so we factor that in when advising.

I suggest you try 0.5 u this AM.

This guide to using Vetsulin is helpful: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/
 
On a pet meter the so called "take action" number is 68. That means BG is getting too low and intervening with snacks of higher carb food is recommended. There's a version of the spreadsheet for use with a pet meter. The automatic colour coding will produce a lime green warning colour whenever you enter a BG value below 68. Please add the fact that you use a pet meter to your grey signature test. The advice that we give will depend on it. Pet meters read higher than the human meters most of us use here (because of test strip cost) so we factor that in when advising.

I suggest you try 0.5 u this AM.

This guide to using Vetsulin is helpful: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/
Thanks. I didn't realize there was a pet meter spreadsheet (I missed it completely when I read that thread initially). I changed everything over to that now.

He was 115 BG this morning. I wanted to give him a lower dose but, my partner didn't want give any insulin at all. I guess it is safer to not give insulin so, we are holding off again. Probably need to have a chat to our vet about lowering his dosage as well.
 
Thanks. I didn't realize there was a pet meter spreadsheet (I missed it completely when I read that thread initially). I changed everything over to that now.

He was 115 BG this morning. I wanted to give him a lower dose but, my partner didn't want give any insulin at all. I guess it is safer to not give insulin so, we are holding off again. Probably need to have a chat to our vet about lowering his dosage as well.
That 115 after no insulin last night is a great number. I agree with your decision to not give insulin. At the beginning we generally recommend no insulin if BG is under about 225 - 250 on a pet meter.
 
That 115 after no insulin last night is a great number. I agree with your decision to not give insulin. At the beginning we generally recommend no insulin if BG is under about 225 - 250 on a pet meter.
Thanks. Our vet has recommended that we hold of on insulin. He seemed concerned. Hopefully we will have more BG strips tonight and can start the tests again. Not ideal but, we are exercising patience and can get him on a proper plan once we have figured out a much better system for him.

Our focus right now is switching the food. We settled on the Tiki Cat Succulent Chicken brand. He likes it which is great. However, we came up with a plan for him to only be on that brand at the two week mark. We dont want to stress his digestive tract too much right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top