Hi Lauren/Ryan, here is your previous post. We always include the previous post in our current post so that members will be able to see what has been happening with the cat to date:
New member - help needed / questions
I think you probably already know this information since you've chosen SLGS as your dosing method, but here are basic instructions for increases/decreases:
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
When you get a chance, please update your spreadsheet with as much data available, to include last night's numbers.
Remember that the goal is to get Tommy down into lower numbers similar to those you saw last night. That said, you were absolutely correct to check into the forum when those numbers started dropping. It can be
scary when that happens, especially the first time (or tenth!--it's scary). The good news about last night is that you saw first hand that food is the tool that bumps up those numbers, along with frequent testing to ensure you know what his bg is.
Be sure to take your dose reduction, as Wendy advised, in the next cycle, and be sure to test before his shot and feed after (test, shoot, feed). If it were Jude, I would try to grab a +2/+3 shot to ensure he is not going too low. That +2/+3 test is right around the time the insulin is taking effect. If the bg is ~20% lower than the preshot test, you might expect an active cycle where you'll need to test more frequently. If it's ~20% higher, you might expect that it will be a quieter cycle. When Jude was first diagnosed, I would try to test at preshot and then at +2/+3 and then, if his numbers were fairly flat or moving upward, I would test about every 2-3 hours; I would test more frequently if his numbers were moving downward and stop testing when they began going back up again. As we say here on the forum, ECID (every cat is different), but as you gather more testing data, you'll soon understand Tommy's patterns.
When you post again tomorrow (or whenever you're on the forum again), please create a title that includes this information: date, cat's name, bg numbers. This helps the advisors to clearly see who needs help.
How is Tommy now?
How is the testing going?
If you have any questions, feel free to share them--we've all learned a lot from one another on the forum.