Is this healthy BG range?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seattlebrian

Active Member
Podo was diagnosed a year ago, and it seemed like every time I tried to drop her dosage, she would jump up really high for a couple days. So, I would chicken out and bring her dosage back up. Well, the last couple months I have been dropping her dosage .25U a week. And except the first couple weeks when she was up at 2.5U to 2.75U twice a day, she now seems to only jump up to the 300s for one or 2 tests then gets back down. I've gotten her dose down to 0.75U twice a day now and her preshot seems to always be in the 240-260 range (My meter reads high like Alphatrak). She seems quite healthy and even a little reverse muffin top she used to have just below her rib cage (I'm guessing swollen liver) has gone away. I'm thinking that her body's normal running BG might want to be 240-260, and me using the insulin to try to keep her down in the 150s might have been the cause for the enlarged liver. I would think that if her body wasn't trying to be in the mid 200 range on purpose, then she would have started climbing up higher if the dose is too low for her. And the one night I did happen to forget her shot several weeks ago, she did jump up to 372. But came down on the lower dosage.

Is it possible that 240-260 could be "normal" for her? My plan is as long as she doesn't start showing symptoms again or get consistent numbers above 300, then I'm going to keep dropping her dose every week. Even her urination amount has been dropping.

Here is a graph of her tests for the last 60 days. I'm pretty sure I got only preshot numbers in there. Money and time have been tight lately, so I've only been doing preshot tests. The top of the yellow area is 260, the bottom is 150.

5599352433_8bcc88fa16_z.jpg

Larger version
 
Hi Brian, and, of course, you too, sweet Podo,

She's a beauty!

Okay, sincere compliment aside, I'm a little confused... Is it your intention to wean Podo off insulin entirely? And, via 0.25-unit reductions weekly? Since she's currently getting 0.75 units, are you thinking of giving her no insulin in three weeks?

Seattlebrian said:
Is it possible that 240-260 could be "normal" for her? My plan is as long as she doesn't start showing symptoms again or get consistent numbers above 300, then I'm going to keep dropping her dose every week. Even her urination amount has been dropping.

I'm a big believer in ECID, Every Cat Is Different, Brian. But that said, even I don't think 240-260 could be "normal" for Podo -- without insulin. And, if by "normal" you mean non-diabetic range, no. The high end of non-diabetic BG range is 120 (give or take, depending on the cat). Podo's 240-260 is twice that... She is a sugar cat.

Now, if you mean "normal" for Podo while she's getting insulin, well, that's a very different question. Some diabetic cats like cruising in the mid-200s. Some like cruising in the 70s. Giz would get extra cranky, ornery, and agitated anywhere above 400; but, was mellow below 220; and, an absolute mush face when she hit double digits (70-80)... Nikki goes in 3-floor crazy moods when she's in the 150-180 range (okay, or after a really good poop)... She naps a lot above 220 or below 100... ECID.

The thing you have to remember, Brian, is that diabetes takes a toll on certain organs. It's why we give insulin.

I sincerely hope I understood what you were asking. There's always the possibility that I was a more than a little confused...

Hugs for you and your pretty Podo,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Welcome back Brian.

I agree with what Deb said. The range you are looking at is above renal threshold and in the long run, may cause health problems for Podo. If you are aiming for tight regulation, you will want to keep Podo in the 80 - 150 range if you continue to use AlphaTrack numbers (although I don't think your meter is calibrated exactly like the AT). I also think you are missing dose reductions by the way you are testing. As you know, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot BG values. You've already seen numbers in the 50s and you increased the dose. So, I'm really not sure how you are conceptualizing your dosing.
 
Gabby, you should ignore her spreadsheet. That is many months out of date. All I can say is that reducing her dosage has made her symptoms get better. The only odd thing is the BG range. Her eyes are more reactive, her organs seem less bloated. She's keeping a steady weight of 12lbs. Her urination is down to almost normal cat levels, maybe 1 extra trip to the litterbox a day. Her energy is good. And no keytones in her urine (which is harder to test now that she doesn't go every time I set her in the litterbox). Maybe I need to look online for a free meter offer to test a second meter on her.

But, I do plan on keeping the dosage drop going as long as she doesn't start climbing. Then once she is off the insulin for a couple weeks, I'll take her in to the vet to get a full blood workup done. I forget the name of the test now, fructosamine or something. That shows long term sugar levels, not just the current.
 
Hmm, New bottle of test strips tonight and first test was 208. I wonder if those 240-260 tests were high from bad test strips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top