Is This Bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

firefly

Member Since 2013
Gracie was showing good numbers all day, and two hours before her PMPS she was at 184. Two hours later she was 374. I did give her a little bit of her food as a treat after her +10, but I have done that all day after her testing, and her numbers stayed low. Is her high PMPS the result of bouncing?

Also, if I see her BG has raised to the 300s before the 12 hrs, say at 8 hrs. or 10 hrs., could I go ahead and give her the shot early? I did it the other day at 10 hrs. (12/28), and her PM BG readings looked good, but I do not want to push it if it's not wise to do so.

I do not mean to keep asking so many questions, but I am a little frustrated that her Preshot numbers remain high after a month. Not to mention I have had to increase her insulin dosage twice. Maybe I am expecting too much so soon. I am just worried when I see these high number for so long that she is going to get sick, and something will happen to her.

Linda
 
I am going to guess she bounced. She hasn't seen many blues since you started keeping track. It was not a high bounce. She is still settling into this new dose - notice that her midcycle numbers are lower today than yesterday. I would stay with this dose for at least one more day and if she doesn't drop into greens midcycle, then increase by .25

It is very difficult to tell whether the insulin is not lasting long enough or she is not getting quite enough or whether she is bouncing. Increasing the dose by a tiny amount (after a few more cycles) should give you that info. If she continues to jump up after about +10, then you can adjust for that. The simplest thing to do then is increase the dose rather than shoot more often - it is the safest thing to try first. The last thing I would try, after a few increases and lots more data, is to shoot more often. It creates problems with scheduling and possible overlap. You can adjust for them, but it takes a lot more monitoring.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I am going to guess she bounced. She hasn't seen many blues since you started keeping track. It was not a high bounce. She is still settling into this new dose - notice that her midcycle numbers are lower today than yesterday. I would stay with this dose for at least one more day and if she doesn't drop into greens midcycle, then increase by .25

It is very difficult to tell whether the insulin is not lasting long enough or she is not getting quite enough or whether she is bouncing. Increasing the dose by a tiny amount (after a few more cycles) should give you that info. If she continues to jump up after about +10, then you can adjust for that. The simplest thing to do then is increase the dose rather than shoot more often - it is the safest thing to try first. The last thing I would try, after a few increases and lots more data, is to shoot more often. It creates problems with scheduling and possible overlap. You can adjust for them, but it takes a lot more monitoring.

Thanks so much Sue! I will wait a few days, and then increase the dosage. Also, I will try to get readings tomorrow (and from now on) at +6, 8, and 10 to see if the insulin isn't lasting as long. I need to give her poor ears a rest right now. I know I should get her BG readings at night too (I had been trying without success), but I have a difficult time doing so because I have sleep problems. If I wake up at any time in the middle of the night, I am up for good. I had been up almost 24 hrs. the other night (12/28) so I could get her readings because of the dosage increase. I wanted to be sure she was ok. Trying to do the BG myself is a battle with Gracie. I stick myself more times than I can count just trying to get her to hold still, so that I can stick her. Thank you again for your kindness, and help.
 
Getting numbers during the day is fine - sleep at night. :-D One thing you can do is get a before bed test when possible. It at least gives you an idea of what is going to happen that cycle.
 
In some cats, ProZinc lasts less than 12 hours. It can help to pick up the food before +10 (ie 2 hours before next shot) to avoid feeding the glucose level as the insulin wears off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top