Is there such a thing as "LOW" on Relion Prime meter? (no cause for panic)

Status
Not open for further replies.

stacia

Member Since 2014
Been awhile since I posted with the holidays.

As the topic heading says, is there such a thing as a LOW reading on that meter?

We've been running a curve on my Tasha today and while her numbers have been low (not unusual for her), my husband said it read "LOW" when he tested her at PMPS. I've never seen or heard of that before, just HI.

Here's her sheet: Tasha's SS

He retested her and it said 114, which is likely correct. She acts fine and her curve was as follows:

AMPS: 244
+3: 132
+6: 86
+9: 107
PMPS: LOW/Retest = 114

I was ready to jump into hypo-mode (which we've never had to do with her) until the retest. And she's acting like her usual self. Annoyed that we've delayed dinner.

At this point, my plan is to delay dinner a bit and retest at +1, then probably feed with no shot tonight. We wanted to get in a curve today because I'm taking her to a new vet Friday (was planning to post about that tonight, actually, before the LOW).
 
Whenever you get an unusual test, re-test. Strip defects, meter variance, undetected incomplete blood drop are just some things which can cause odd results.
 
Sorry, I set this up I thought to notify me of any replies but didn't get an email. I kept a close watch on her and retested 30 minutes later instead of an hour. She was 136 at that time. So definitely a fluke with the LO. I found the manual for the meter in the meantime - a reading of LO means <20. She wouldn't have been that low without signs.

Next time I'll make sure we double retest immediately. I wasn't too concerned based on all other factors and I was staring her down for any weirdness. No shot for her tonight. We'll see what number she gives in the morning.

Thanks for responses!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top