Is there a protocol on the site for Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
I have someone on FB that has started on prozinc. I have guided her here but of course, right now she is just starting out and the MB can be scary. I was going to link the TR protocol for Prozinc but cant find one. Do we have one? I know dosing is more based on the preshot and not nadir.

Thanks guys!!!

Donna
 
Unfortunately no. There have not been the vet studies for ProZinc like there have been for Lantus. We do have a large, unwieldy document full of info and links that might make for interesting reading.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

Somehow people have gotten the idea that ProZinc is dosed soely on preshot numbers. Not true. Both preshot numbers and nadir numbers are considered when dosing. Advisors tend to be less agressive with ProZinc than the L insulins as it lasts a shorter time and the cycle may be more of a smile - dipping for nadir- and is closer to 10-12 hours. There is no carryover like Lantus. You have to have a lot of data and monitor carefully to shoot at lower ranges with ProZinc as the cycle is seldom flat . I never advise shooting low to stay low, under 150, like can be done with the L insulins.

Could you get her to check out the PZI forum? She could look at other people's spreadsheets and get an idea of how others are dosing. Then she might feel comfortable enough to post there.
 
I told her to come to the forum but unfortunately she is only using a mobile phone and the site doesnt work very well with them. Robert is supposed to fix that at some point. I get that complaint alot from people on FB.

Thanks Sue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top