Is there a better approach, whtat to expect - hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marylou and Malika

Member Since 2018
Long story, but cat was at vet while I was on vacation, and instead of 0.5U of Lantus, they gave her 5U. They caught the low numbers and only gave 3 shots over a 5 day period, but here I am.
Doctor told me that 40 was my 'red line' number while she gets through this last shot. I've been testing every 2 to 3 hours. She hit 39, so FF Gravy Lovers, brought her up to 101. 2 hours later, she's back down to 51. A little more FF Gravy Lovers. She hasn't been eating well (per the vet), so I opted for food instead of just sugar carb. I have honey in the house.
Does anyone have experience here? I read that the direction of the BG is what counts. Can I expect this to go on for a while? Or should I take her back to the vet when they open in 3 hours?
Any suggestions, hand holding, encouragement is appreciated!
 
How much insulin did Malika have at the most recent shot and how many hours since the shot?
That is awful that the vet stuffed up the dose. it looks like she had no shot this cycle. Is that right?
You are using alpha trak right?
39 is very low with alpha trak

However if she is dropping low you need to keep testing the BSL and giving her some food to keep her from dropping too low. Seeing she has a recent history of being given too much insulin I would err on the side of caution and give her some MC or HC food if she drops below about 70 because her depot is probably full after three doses of 5 units. I hope you are not going to give any more insulin next due dose.
If you get a number like 70 give her a little food and retest in 30 minutes. Don't leave it 2 hours before retesting. You will need to keep testing until she has gone 2 hours without dropping WITHOUT food having been given.
You may well have to test for another cycle.
Is she eating well for you? You are not trying to get a lovely cycle out of this so I would just give her some HC food until the effects of the stuff up have worn off.
 
Last edited:
If you are using alphatrak I think it is 68 when you need to take action. 40 that the vet said is too low.
I am from Australia and it is night time here.......so I am going to tag a couple of people I can see who are from the US and where it is morning and they may be able to help you through this.
@carfurby @Bobbie And Bubba @LizzieInTexas are you able to assist Marylou please. The vet stuffed up the dose while Marylou was on holidays and now she is having to manage low numbers. I will be going to bed soon. Thanks.
 
Hi there and so awful that the vet mixed up the dose from .50 to 5 U. Yikes. Looks like no shot yet today, correct? With an Alpha Track, 68 is the number to take charge and boost back up.

The end of her cycle last night shows her on the rise which is good. This morning, depending on the number you get, you might want to skip the shot again . According to the SS she was given 5 units twice? Once on 6/9 and then again on 6/11, is that correct?

When trying to get up the low numbers, just giving the gravy off the higher carb food is helpful so that you don't get kitty too full and then they won't eat for you. You did a good job steering her up.

I am leaving for an appointment this morning, but I will try and check in on you before I leave.
 
How much insulin did Malika have at the most recent shot and how many hours since the shot?
That is awful that the vet stuffed up the dose. it looks like she had no shot this cycle. Is that right?
You are using alpha trak right?
39 is very low with alpha trak

However if she is dropping low you need to keep testing the BSL and giving her some food to keep her from dropping too low. Seeing she has a recent history of being given too much insulin I would err on the side of caution and give her some MC or HC food if she drops below about 70 because her depot is probably full after three doses of 5 units. I hope you are not going to give any more insulin next due dose.
If you get a number like 70 give her a little food and retest in 30 minutes. Don't leave it 2 hours before retesting. You will need to keep testing until she has gone 2 hours without dropping WITHOUT food having been given.
You may well have to test for another cycle.
Is she eating well for you? You are not trying to get a lovely cycle out of this so I would just give her some HC food until the effects of the stuff up have worn off.
Thanks! I just retested at 8:00 and she's at 111, but I had given her HC food at around 5:00. I'll keep testing, but I think she's finally going the right direction on her own.
 
Hi there and so awful that the vet mixed up the dose from .50 to 5 U. Yikes. Looks like no shot yet today, correct? With an Alpha Track, 68 is the number to take charge and boost back up.

The end of her cycle last night shows her on the rise which is good. This morning, depending on the number you get, you might want to skip the shot again . According to the SS she was given 5 units twice? Once on 6/9 and then again on 6/11, is that correct?

When trying to get up the low numbers, just giving the gravy off the higher carb food is helpful so that you don't get kitty too full and then they won't eat for you. You did a good job steering her up.

I am leaving for an appointment this morning, but I will try and check in on you before I leave.
She was given 5U 3 times, once before I took her home. My general rule is: I think long and hard before I shoot if her pre-shot is 180. I tested at 5:00 with a 51, gave HC food and she shot up to 86. I tested this morning at at 8:00 and she's at 111. We're heading in the right direction. I'll continue to test her throughout the day (luckily I can do that) and if she starts to drop again, I'll take her back for a slow drip to get her level. Thanks for the suggestions!
 
Thanks! I just retested at 8:00 and she's at 111, but I had given her HC food at around 5:00. I'll keep testing, but I think she's finally going the right direction on her own.
You have done well managing a difficult situation. I can't believe the vet would make that mistake 3 times!
Good idea to keep testing. I'd get advice from some of the experienced people who help with dosing before shooting again.
 
You have done well managing a difficult situation. I can't believe the vet would make that mistake 3 times!
Good idea to keep testing. I'd get advice from some of the experienced people who help with dosing before shooting again.
Any suggestions on who I could reach out to? I just tested her at 8am, she was at 111. A 11:30am she's was at 186. I'd like to get back on my 7:00 twice a day schedule tonight if possible.
 
Her last reading was 187 @ 11:00 am (+3 from her last test since I"m not shooting her) this morning. The x is there for my next anticipated test (+7).
I have trouble with my spreadsheet saving sometimes, so I place an x in a 'future cell' as my last entry. That way, if I see it next time I open the SS, I know it saved and all is accurate. Details are in the notes.
It works for me. :) I've lost entries in the past and it's frustrating.
 
I just tested her at 8am, she was at 111. A 11:30am she's was at 186. I'd like to get back on my 7:00 twice a day schedule tonight if possible.
It looks that is going up now and some later test will be helpful in determining the dose for tonight (if she is high enough that is).
Lantus is the depot type insulin and works by storing depot of insulin in the fat tissues and it releases itself into the blood stream over period of time. The 5U is quite large a dose, and it might be affecting her BG for a while, sometimes even for cycles. Testing frequently is the only way to know what to expect because Lantus's potency is vary per time of the cycle - growing and stronger from onset to the nadir and then slowly diminishes. Onset , nadir and duration of a dose vary per cat.
HERE is the good explanation of the depot type insulin.


I would encourage you to post on the Lantus and Levemir sub-forum - especially tonight when you have your PMPS test in.
If you are in doubt as to to shot or not to shot post over there for help sometime before your shot is due. It is very large and active group and chances are that more ppl will be online on LL Forum v. this one.
You'll catch more eyes if you include language like "Dose advise ASAP please" (or something similar) into yout post's Title line and make the question mark icon its prefix.


I have trouble with my spreadsheet saving sometimes, so I place an x in a 'future cell' as my last entry. That way, if I see it next time I open the SS, I know it saved and all is accurate. Details are in the notes.
It works for me. :) I've lost entries in the past and it's frustrating.
I am a non techy for sure. :oops:Dealing with all of it surely frustrating.

I also wanted to mention that some but not all cats develop insulin sensitivity after the Hypo event and react stronger to the same dose than they did before going Hypo. Again, testing will let you know what is going on. Taking pre-shot and then +2 test is a good way to assess the upcoming cycle and plan ahead.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top