Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Could someone please check remi's spreadsheet and see if he is undergoing a small bounce.

I increase his caninsulin from .8 of a unit to 1 unit on Saturday morning and got great results the first day but not today, it doesn't seem to be doing much. Is this just a small rebound? How long does it take to clear?

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.

Yes, its a bounce. It can take up to 3 days or so to clear. Just hang in and keep testing for ketones.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.

Thanks. It's a little dis heartening to see after yesterday's blue figures but will hold steady. Should have stopped the steroids by mid week and then hoping to see another improvement.

I've just been checking for ketones once a day. I hope that's enough as I seem to be able to catch him more easily in the morning.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.-update

Hi again

Remi's pre shot reading was slightly lower this morning (20.8 mmol or 374) after yesterday's bounce. I gave the 1 unit of caninsulin this morning but haven't been able to monitor his BG today. my partner was at home to fed him and kept an eye on him. I thought it would be a good idea to test him when I got home just to see and his BG at +10 and it was 11.3 (203).

This was lower than I was expecting it to be and it worries me about tonight. I know it will rise a little before his next shot but maybe not that much. Do I still give 1unit tonight as the BG will be over the usual threshold shot? I am still a little confused but how his curve will work on caninsulin. If the initial BG reading is lower than it has been does it mean the curve will be less steep because he already has some glucose in his cells? I know I want to see the lower numbers but they scare me also.

Did he go too low today?

Points to note tonight will be his night for 0.5 mg prednicare. I am very slowly starting to introduce thrive chicken food as his current one is not a complete food.

Any advice gratefully received.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Ok I've just taken his preshot reading and it still lower than his normal dose it higher than 200. It is 14.3 mmol or 257. I have just fed him and will give him his insulin shot in a second. I have been trying to find the detailed post about the various dosing range. I can't see it though but I know that newbies shouldn't shot below 200 but he is above that. So it's whether I give a reduced dose. Unless I hear otherwise i am going to give just a smidgen short of 1 unit. I don't want to lose the lower numbers altogether but I am so frightened of the greens.

Sorry added the 911 icon just in case someone can answer before I give the dose.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Okay really confused now. Gave approx 0.9 of a unit and fed remi his usual food. Have just retested at +2 and the number has increased slightly. I am sure that I got the shot but then why has it gone higher. I did wait longer between his food and his shot. Could that be it? Have just fed him a little more food and given his 0.5 steroid.

So I guess I will have to wait till + 4 to see what happens next.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Food generally causes a spike roughly 2 hours after eating.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

I have gone ahead and taken off the 911 alert. His +4 has shown a drop so at least I it some insulin into him. I can't quite seem to get my head around all the figures. Sometimes they are higher than you think. Sometimes lower. I can only think that the food and then wait for 20 minutes resulted in the slight increase at +2 tonight.

So tomorrow morning I will give 1 unit again unless the BG is below the newbie cut off of 200. Is that correct? And is my assumption true that the lower the pre shot Bg level the less risk of a dramatic fall in BG because the body already has some sugar in its cells ?

Sorry if I am bombarding members with questions :oops:
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

The only silly question is the one you wonder about but don't ask.

My thinking is the lower the preshot, the less room you have for the level to fall. So I would watch a preshot of 200 closer than a preshot of 400. Does that make sense?

The encouraging thing here is that you are getting good numbers and he is definitely improving.

As far as logical, people call this a sugar dance. Unfortunately only the cat hears the music - you just have to try to follow his lead. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
The only silly question is the one you wonder about but don't ask.

My thinking is the lower the preshot, the less room you have for the level to fall. So I would watch a preshot of 200 closer than a preshot of 400. Does that make sense?

The encouraging thing here is that you are getting good numbers and he is definitely improving.

As far as logical, people call this a sugar dance. Unfortunately only the cat hears the music - you just have to try to follow his lead. :mrgreen:

Hi sue

My vet sort of explained it the other way but then again I might have mis-understood him as I was very stressed at the time :shock: The lower the bg in the blood, the more glucose in the cells and therefore less glucose that going to be ducked into them from the insulin. So maybe a shallower curve. Or maybe not :? I am caught between wanting to see lower levels but scared of them aswell.

I think I would rather miss this dance altogether if I could but as you say at least remi seems to be responding to the insulin.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Hi Sarah,

I have always monitored and recorded the dosage AND glucose difference for every cycle with Saoirse (glucose difference is PS number minus nadir number). I always assume that her BG will drop by the maximum value plus a little bit more added when making dosing decisions so I subtract the max value from the PS number to calculate a potential low nadir value as a guide (can't guarantee she won't go lower). The only exception to this is when I know that i can monitor her for at least 1½ to 2 complete cycles in case her BG goes unexpectedly low and I need to steer her numbers with food. Even so, she has still caught me on the hop several times. Whenever I'm in doubt, I always err on the side of caution, even if that means withholding insulin completely when the situation merits it.
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

Thanks Aine. I have never thought of doing that. So to confirm are you saying that you work out the lowest Saoirse will drop going on her past drops? And then work that into the her next dosage?
 
Re: Is remi bouncing ? Please look at spreadsheet.update 29/

If I'm holding a dose, I always work on the principal that she will drop at least the maximum she has dropped before, and possibly more as her pancreas starts functioning better over time. With a new dose, all bets are off and I monitor her intensively to see how she will respond.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top