Is Prozink not working for 12 hours? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Is Prozink not working for 12 hours?

Elena_b

Member since 2025
Hello everyone!
At the end of August, our cat, Hastings, 11 y.o. was diagnosed with diabetes. On the doctor's recommendation, we started giving him Canisulin, but the Abbot Libre curves showed glucose levels dropping quite quickly, then rising just as quickly; the insulin worked for a maximum of 8 hours.
We switched to Prozink every 12 hours, we don't miss or stagger injections. We started with 1 unit, and now he's been on 2 units for 20 days. Now we measure glucose with a veterinary glucometer. Over these 20 days, with 2 units, the nadir after 5 hours was 80-150, but the problem is that before the injection, glucose levels is high again, 400-500. Increasing the dose further doesn't seem necessary, as the glucose drops are already sufficient. Overall, the curve for Prozink is similar to the curve for Canisulin, although glucose levels don't drop as sharply and don't rise as sharply. This repeats every cycle.
My cat is feeling well; for the past month, he's been playing and running around just like he did before diabetes. He drinks a little and averages 110 ml of urine per day. We test his ketones weekly with test strips, and three weeks ago, we had a urine sample taken to the lab. The results were negative. His urine and blood tests were generally normal, but his cholesterol was elevated. He eats diabetic wet food plus some natural food. He eats food before the injection and then in small portions over a period of 7 hours. We stop feeding him 5 hours before the injection.
We suspect that prozinc doesn't work for him for 12 hours. Has anyone else encountered this? We would like to switch to glargine or detemir, but our vet suggested we try Senvelgo. However, he doesn't have enough data on its effectiveness and remission, so we decided against it.
Has anyone else tried the three prozinc injections per day? We also thinking may be it is an option.
Thanks in advance for your reply.
 
First, even the manufacturer of Senvelgo says not to use it in cats who are or have been treated with insulin.
1760978547913.png
 
Thank you, Suzanne!
Yes, we read about this, so we asked the doctor right away. Their answer was: ideally yes, but if there are no ketones and the cat is stable, we can switch to Senvelgo, and then back to insulin if needed.
In any case, we decided against it and don't plan to switch.
Firstly I really want to understand why insulin has a normal nadir, and why glucose levels are consistently high before the injection. So, it was 450-500 at dose 1, then at 1.5, and now at 2 units it's still 400-500. Only the nadir is decreasing, not the pre-injection values.
First, even the manufacturer of Senvelgo says not to use it in cats who are or have been treated with insulin.
View attachment 74522
 
I would highly recommend that you try Lantus/glargine insulin. I think you would get very good duration from it. Lantus is dosed quite differently from ProZinc so I would suggest, if you do begin giving Lantus/glargine, you could get a lot of assistance by posting on the Lantus forum.

I loved Levemir for my cat, but Novo Nordisk announced plans to withdraw Levemir (insulin detemir). Availability and timelines vary by country, but many health authorities and diabetes organizations report the product will be discontinued globally with supplies expected to be withdrawn through 2024–2026 (e.g., US vials/pens discontinued end of 2024; UK supplies expected available until ~December 2026). Your diabetes team or prescriber should contact you about switching to an alternative basal insulin; if not, contact them proactively to plan the change.
 
Firstly I really want to understand why insulin has a normal nadir, and why glucose levels are consistently high before the injection. So, it was 450-500 at dose 1, then at 1.5, and now at 2 units it's still 400-500. Only the nadir is decreasing, not the pre-injection values.
That is very frustrating! I would have hoped by now that the preshot numbers in morning and evening would have started to lower. Your nadirs are not bad although could go a small amount lower, but I do not know if increasing insulin would lower the preshot numbers. You don’t have a spreadsheet so I cannot say for certain, although you have explained things well. Some cats do take some time to have the preshot numbers come down— a month or more. It sounds like you are not getting good duration with ProZinc, although it should be lasting longer that the Caninsulin.

Things to do to try and make ProZinc last longer would be to stop feeding earlier in the cycle, and not feeding after whatever hour your cat typically has his nadir.

The other thing is to make sure that all food you are feeding is low carbohydrate food (at least below 10 percent whether it is called diatetic food or not.)
 
With Lantus you should have a flatter curve because of the depot nature of the insulin helping to keep kitty from rising up too much at the end of the 12 hour cycles.
 
That is very frustrating! I would have hoped by now that the preshot numbers in morning and evening would have started to lower. Your nadirs are not bad although could go a small amount lower, but I do not know if increasing insulin would lower the preshot numbers. You don’t have a spreadsheet so I cannot say for certain, although you have explained things well. Some cats do take some time to have the preshot numbers come down— a month or more. It sounds like you are not getting good duration with ProZinc, although it should be lasting longer that the Caninsulin.

Things to do to try and make ProZinc last longer would be to stop feeding earlier in the cycle, and not feeding after whatever hour your cat typically has his nadir.

The other thing is to make sure that all food you are feeding is low carbohydrate food (at least below 10 percent whether it is called diatetic food or not.)
Suzanne, thank you for your reply.
Unfortunately, none of the manufacturers usually list the carbohydrate content (maximum starch, if any).
Perhaps you could recommend a low-carb wet food? Although, I'm not sure if we have one available (we live in Spain). We currently feed Animonda pâté for diabetics, Natures Variety turkey pâté, and Kattovit for diabetics. Our cat is a very picky eater and doesn't eat the same food consistently, so we have to rotate 😅
 
And these foods are also available in Europe, I believe. If nothing else, you may be able to check the carbohydrate content of the foods you are already feeding. I believe many of the Animonda foods are low in carbohydrates.
Food Info for UK
 
Back
Top