Is One Shot a Day Enough?

Miriam Van Scott

Member Since 2020
Harriett is on Lantus, 2 units 2ce daily, but at that dosage her AMPS BG in the morning is 60-80 (so obviously I don't shoot) and slowly increases during the day, by the evening PMPS she's around 280. So she's really only getting ONE dose of 2 units once a day. She's had this pattern before, and whenever I try to shift her dosage (incrementally, .25 units at a time) so that she's getting 1 or 1.5 at both AM and PM, her numbers skyrocket and it takes me weeks to get them back down.

QUESTION: Is it possible her biology is such that ONE dose every 24 hours works? I'll keep testing, but am reluctant to adjust her dosage again. Thanks!

PS --- Yes, I have a spreadsheet, but it's in Excel so I can't 'share' it here, sorry!
 
It is very hard to give dosing advice without a spreadsheet. Would you consider uploading ours and putting some data into it.
In answer to your question.. no Lantus does not work giving it once a day. You would be better dividing the 2 units you are currently giving by 2 and giving 1 unit both night and morning.
Here is a link to our SS.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Yikes I couldn't figure that out in a thousand years! Sorry, I'm just not technical AT ALL. Hubby set up my Excel sheet and even that is challenging!
 
The answer to your question is likely no. The only time we’ve seen cats do well on one shot a day is when they are getting minuscule doses, and just need a tiny bit of insulin support. Given you are giving two units, you aren’t anywhere near the situation I have described, which is more like drops of insulin. It’s better to lower the dose, so you can safely shoot two doses a day.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie who might be able to get you set up with Google Sheets, which is pretty much like Excel.
 
You can upload an Excel spreadsheet using the button in the lower right of the text box. The issue with Excel is that not everyone has Excel on their computer. We use the Google spreadsheet since you don't need the software.

The spreadsheet is really not that complicated. This is what the columns mean - understanding the spreadsheet

Most of us will not give dosing suggestions without benefit of seeing your cat's numbers. We do not want to make suggestions that could harm Harriett and without seeing how she's doing on Lantus, I know I would be very reticent to offer any advice. FWIW, I agree with Wendy.
 
Yikes I couldn't figure that out in a thousand years! Sorry, I'm just not technical AT ALL. Hubby set up my Excel sheet and even that is challenging!
If you will send me a private message by clicking on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”, I can set up a google SS for you and attach it to your signature block.
 
Back
Top