Is Oliver too bouncy for Prozinc? Numbers are all over the place.

IdahoOliver

Member Since 2026
It’s me and Oliver again. I’m doing some reading and wondering if we should consider switching him to Lantus or something else. His numbers are so all over the place!
 
Link to Previous thread: Oliver’s BG is concerningly high…

How’s it going today with his numbers?

I think part of his wonkiness is related to the hypo. He is definitely very bouncy. He probably would be bouncy on Lantus also since that’s a bodily reaction and not related to the type of insulin. He may have a little flatter curve. It will be important not to skip shots as much as possible. We do generally recommend giving one insulin a good month or so to see how it goes and he’s been on ProZinc consistently for almost a month. You can talk to your vet about it to get/her perspective. I am sorry it’s been so frustrating!
 
Link to Previous thread: Oliver’s BG is concerningly high…

How’s it going today with his numbers?

I think part of his wonkiness is related to the hypo. He is definitely very bouncy. He probably would be bouncy on Lantus also since that’s a bodily reaction and not related to the type of insulin. He may have a little flatter curve. It will be important not to skip shots as much as possible. We do generally recommend giving one insulin a good month or so to see how it goes and he’s been on ProZinc consistently for almost a month. You can talk to your vet about it to get/her perspective. I am sorry it’s been so frustrating!
He is higher today. Amps was 452. He had .2 units. And just checked him and he is 418 at +3. Will do a +5 or 6 check as well to see where he’s at
 
Thank you for checking in on us. We did have some nice colors there for a minute. It was nice while it lasted. He’s back up in 300’s tonight. We weighed him tonight though and he is down to 11 lbs. He was 12.2 lbs last time we weighed him 17 days ago. So that is a bit of concerning. Is some weight loss expected? Going to have to be more intentional about making sure he is eating enough. Haven’t checked ketones since his last round of highs so need to try to check for that too. But he is acting okay. And eats fine when we feed him. He just doesn’t eat a whole lot at time and demands that we hover while he eats so that’s part of the problem. It’s a bit of a chore. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Back
Top