Sarah & Wubby
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,
Wubby went into the vet today so we could talk about his hypo episode from Saturday and determine the best path forward. Let me first say that I really like my vet - she seems really knowledgeable and like she genuinely cares about my cats and me. Just want to present a summary of her recommendations to you guys and get opinions on if I should follow:
1. While she is not against home testing, she thinks testing before every shot provides "too much potentially inaccurate information." However, she did advise me to test "a few times weekly" if I was willing to, and not too shoot if he is under 150-200. For me, it seems like the only way to be safe is to test every time before, especially since Wubby's AMPS and PMPS levels have all been below 100 since I started testing Saturday.
2. She reduced the Vetsulin dose from 4U to 2U every 12 hours. Last time he was at the vet to confirm his 4U dose was working well for him was May 5th 2018, and his results at the vet were Glucose: 163 mg/dL and Fructosamine: 334 micro mol/L - from these results she kept us at 4U (these results were AMPS). Today in the office the results were Glucose: 107 mg/dL and Fructosamine: 290 micro mol/L (+4). With the reduction to 2 units today, she also told me to skip the shot if I notice something is off in his behavior. She also advised me it may be best to keep him off insulin for a few days.
3. When I asked hopefully if he is in remission, she said it was unlikely. When I asked if it was potentially due to his diet change (previously high carb dry diet, now low carb wet) she also said that it was unlikely. She concluded with she was unsure why his BG is so much lower and just said I should be watching him, and that these kind of dips occur sometimes - is that in line with everyone else's experiences?
4. I asked if cats can go hypo without receiving an insulin dose and she said yes, if there is some other underlying disease within the pancreas or the liver. Has anyone's cat ever gone hypo on a day with no insulin dose?
5. She recommended not to use neosporin on his ear pricks, just saline solution.
Outside of my vets advice, I also have a question about changes in BG throughout the day when there is no insulin given. Wubby's AMPS this morning at home was 55. I fed him after getting this value and did not give a shot. At the vet his +4 BG was 107. Is this BG rise normal?? Is it possible his BG will peak in the middle of the day in a way that warrants insulin? If so, I am assuming I would catch this at his PMPS -- is that correct?
Sorry for writing a novel -- your guys's advice is truly invaluable to me. I was gushing about you all at the vet
Thanks in advance!
Sarah and Wubby
Wubby went into the vet today so we could talk about his hypo episode from Saturday and determine the best path forward. Let me first say that I really like my vet - she seems really knowledgeable and like she genuinely cares about my cats and me. Just want to present a summary of her recommendations to you guys and get opinions on if I should follow:
1. While she is not against home testing, she thinks testing before every shot provides "too much potentially inaccurate information." However, she did advise me to test "a few times weekly" if I was willing to, and not too shoot if he is under 150-200. For me, it seems like the only way to be safe is to test every time before, especially since Wubby's AMPS and PMPS levels have all been below 100 since I started testing Saturday.
2. She reduced the Vetsulin dose from 4U to 2U every 12 hours. Last time he was at the vet to confirm his 4U dose was working well for him was May 5th 2018, and his results at the vet were Glucose: 163 mg/dL and Fructosamine: 334 micro mol/L - from these results she kept us at 4U (these results were AMPS). Today in the office the results were Glucose: 107 mg/dL and Fructosamine: 290 micro mol/L (+4). With the reduction to 2 units today, she also told me to skip the shot if I notice something is off in his behavior. She also advised me it may be best to keep him off insulin for a few days.
3. When I asked hopefully if he is in remission, she said it was unlikely. When I asked if it was potentially due to his diet change (previously high carb dry diet, now low carb wet) she also said that it was unlikely. She concluded with she was unsure why his BG is so much lower and just said I should be watching him, and that these kind of dips occur sometimes - is that in line with everyone else's experiences?
4. I asked if cats can go hypo without receiving an insulin dose and she said yes, if there is some other underlying disease within the pancreas or the liver. Has anyone's cat ever gone hypo on a day with no insulin dose?
5. She recommended not to use neosporin on his ear pricks, just saline solution.
Outside of my vets advice, I also have a question about changes in BG throughout the day when there is no insulin given. Wubby's AMPS this morning at home was 55. I fed him after getting this value and did not give a shot. At the vet his +4 BG was 107. Is this BG rise normal?? Is it possible his BG will peak in the middle of the day in a way that warrants insulin? If so, I am assuming I would catch this at his PMPS -- is that correct?
Sorry for writing a novel -- your guys's advice is truly invaluable to me. I was gushing about you all at the vet
Thanks in advance!
Sarah and Wubby