Is my cat in remission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krissy Slawinski

Member Since 2019
My boy was diagnosed in june while at the vet w level in 400s after change in diet he went down to 300s at next visit 2 weeks later . I began testing on my own the next few months and his numbers never were over 255 . He has been acting normal the last week or 2 and I have tested him several times never has numbers above 225 does this mean he is going into remission? I have not gave him insulin but 2 or 3 times in the last 2 weeks he was on prozinq I unit once sometimes twice a day. Yesterday tested him about 1 or 2 hours after he ate quite a lot of both dr elsey dry and also nutro wet and his number was 223. No insulin. He hadabsecced teeth and had a dental cleaning and 2 teeth removed in september also. He is almost 11 years old.
 
That’s great that his numbers have come down! His blood sugars are still quite above normal so I would think he does still need some insulin but maybe at a reduced dose from what he was initially on. Make sure you test at least 2 hours or more after he has eaten to make sure you are getting a true picture of his levels without being influenced by food. Maybe if you post on the Prozinc forum, people with experience with that insulin can advise you on the dose.
 
Normal blood glucose (BG) levels are from 50 - 120 if you are using a human meter or 68 to about 150 if you are using a meter calibrated for animals.

The dental problems no doubt contributed to your kitty's high numbers. It doesn't sound like he's in remission yet, though. He's making progress from what you've said.

Here's what I would suggest, Please start a spreadsheet. It's pretty much impossible to answer your question without seeing your cat's BG numbers. Once you have a spreadsheet set up, members here or on the Prozinc board will be able to give you guidance. about dose. My hunch is that your cat needs a small amount of insulin to help support his pancreas and get him into remission. But, my crystal ball can be unreliable so spreadsheet data is really needed.

This is where the information on a spreadsheet is located.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top